We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, family owned restaurant in the mountains”
Review of Gampe Thaya

Gampe Thaya
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Solden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $46
Cuisines: Austrian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome at Gampe Thaya. Indulge, enjoy, switch off. This is the motto when you visit us at Gampe Thaya in Sölden. Daily fresh we prepare regional dishes with product from our local farmers and from our own farm. Our cows also like to stay at Gampe Thaya - they serve the milk for the delicious cheese we prepare directly on the hut. Come and found out - we are looking forward to welcome you. Family Prantl
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cosy, family owned restaurant in the mountains”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is amazing!
Fresh dairy produce from a herd of cattle owned by the family
Simple Austrian food at reasonable prices
The place is cosy and the service is friendly
We went back almost daily during our ski trip for the delicious apple strudel

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    55
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only place to have lunch while skiing in Solden!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Read reviews on here before going skiing today, and because of bad weather and parts of the resort being closed, we stopped by at 11am for a coffee to scout it before lunch. A beautiful old building with a native and old fashion local style, it creates exactly the kind of relaxed authentic vibe you want having lunch on your skiing holiday. Coming back for lunch was an easy decision, and we didn't regret it. Local ingredients cooked to perfection served by a happy and cheerful staff. We had the house salad and home made sausage, both very tasty and served in a cool way. In terms of price it is roughly the same as the super stressed industrial canteens around the resort, but the quality of the food and the awesome venue makes it a must visit place while skiing in Solden. Going back everyday for the rest of our stay!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MortenZUMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent lunch spot on the slopes”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We ended up here more by accident than design. And we were lucky to do so. Good service, great atmosphere and lovely food. We even managed to get a cheese fondue, which one normally needs to preorder. A lovely meal on the sunny terrace!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic ski stop”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great terrace, nice service and excellent meals.
A must-stop on ski run Nr. 11 when it is sunny ! Try to get the sofa (!) at the end

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OVGDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local ingredients and a sunny deck”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

All meals are cooked with locally supplied ingredients(no French fries). Recommend the baked potatoes, rostl with beef strips, bacon and egg and the Kaas Spatzl. Great outdoor seating which gets loads of sun on a good day.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BryanJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gampe Thaya also viewed

 

Been to Gampe Thaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing