We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Hermann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hermann
Ranked #2 of 157 Solden B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here 26th Jan with a large group, in the main hotel through Ski Total who we have travelled with several times. The rooms were huge and had plenty of storage space and hooks for ski wear. The whole hotel was kept very clean and tidy. The plentiful 5 course evening meals were extremely good and presented very nicely.
The manager, Clare, and her staff were very helpful and polite and went out of their way to accommodate us. We utilised the shuttle bus with Michael a couple of times, even ringing to ask if he could collect us after some Apres down in town.
The hotel's location was quite a way up away from town, but there is a Funicular at the end of the Hotel's road, so no need to walk far. We were able to ski in and out once we discovered the route across a couple of fields. When there was a warm snap and the snow melted on the field, we used the shuttle with no hassle. In relation to the piste map, the hotel is about where it says "See" and you can ski to Red 21 in morning and back from Red 9 or Black 7 in the afternoons.
Our rep, Jordan, was very always very helpful and hosted the skiing on 3 of the days.
The skiing is great - lots of wide, well groomed pistes. We visited Stabel cafe/bar on the Red/Black No. 11 and 7 piste each day for Apres Gluweins and if Alex (owner of the bar who also owns the Panorama Wing) was in, he would give us complimentary Schnapps shots, which made the return journey quite a giggle! Their burger meals were fantastic and huge!
The restaurants and facilities were very clean and modern, along with some lovely authentic style. I would recommend the Gaislachalm restaurant/hotel on the Gaislachkogl side, which is reached on an unpisted trail route through the woods off the number 2 blue run. Tasty authentic, reasonably priced meals with good old Austrian hospitality.
We took the upgraded transfer day to Obergurgl, but alot of the higher lifts were shut as it was extremely windy and it was pretty busy on the runs that were available. Their pistes weren't as wide as Solden's. We still had an enjoyable day and had Gluweins and hot chocolates up at the top of Hohe Mut Alm in the very cosy, stylish restaurant.
The only niggles we had on our holiday were that our shower room was rather small and there never seemed to be enough afternoon cakes for everyone, but hey, that is such a minor compared to the great week we had, even considering we didn't have the greatest weather, we still had fantastic skiing and plenty of powder. It would also make it extra special to have a hot tub in the spa area where there is plenty of space.
Thank you so much Ski Total for a great week at the Chalet Hotel Hermann. You have picked a great team there!

Room Tip: Room 205 was really large and had a table, chairs and a sofabed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheresaHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Hermann, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Theresa,
Thanks for such a thorough and complimentary review; much appreciated by Clare and the rest of the team. Sorry that, on occasions, you felt there was not enough cake to go round at afternoon tea-it's a tricky one to control if some guests treat themselves to generous portions before everyone has returned from the slopes! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next holiday with Ski Total.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hermann
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

A lovely chalet hotel that I would highly recommend.
Clare was welcoming and friendly, as was Gemma her assistant and the rest of the team, exceptional, one and all.
Not the best of guests and old enough to know better, my friend and I were late for dinner on a couple of occasions, once by well over an hour, we still got excellent service from kitchen and dinning room staff. Thank you all.
A casual 4 minute walk to the pieste and a short ski down means you can be on the Giggijoch lift in 7 minutes (if no queues).
The only down side, no single rooms, I've run out of ski mates for this season and would have returned. Sure it will be just as good next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skegmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were a large party of 25 arriving at the chalet Herman for new year skiing. We also had high expectations, after the majority of our group have spent many years skiing.
To our delight the hotel came up trumps!
The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, with the majority having newly refurbished bathrooms. We all enjoyed many an hour relaxing in the lounge area and bar. Food was of a high standard and the staff were very hospitable and attentive (especially Sam and Joey) as was Claire the manager, who ran the hotel like clockwork, always ready to help and advise. Just one negative comment, please relax a little when clearing the breakfast away, it was a little uncomfortable to witness the restaurant manager checking her watch and racing to clear every morsel of food away on the dote of 9am each morning!!
On a positive note, I must mention the mini bus service headed by the very helpful and charming Michael, what a great asset he and the bus service are to Chalet Herman.
We really did feel the hotel benefitted from both a peaceful location and on call access to the village/slopes provided by the private Ski Total transport.
The sauna and steam room were wonderful at the end of the day, with a plentiful supply of fresh clean towels (extra to your room).
We were lucky to have good snow conditions, therefore it was easy to ski to and from the hotel (even for a few nervous and inexperienced skiers amongst the group)
Ski total rep Jordan is a reliable, helpful and considerate employee- even when we tested him to the limit on a trip to Obergurgl, when a couple of our party, 'mysteriously' disappeared!!
Solden is a great resort offering a good variety of ski runs with easy access to the village and fun après ski.
A great holiday, hotel and Ski Total experience!

Room Tip: Panorama wing is quiet and of a very high standard!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1966Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked our holiday with Total Ski (who we have booked with before) and were a little concerned reading reports to think that we would be 'a prisoner of Azkaban' up the mountain with amazing views - this was not the case!

The welcome on our arrival and the quality of the food and service was exceptional throughout the week, The staff really couldn't have been more helpful - they were all. without exception, efficient, well trained and attentive. Our room in the main wing was large, clean and with lots of space to store away all of our things.

I agree that initially the chalet might seem a little out of the way - the ski bus stops regularly almost directly opposite the chalet, and Michael is also available for runs into town in the mini bus. The funicular (which runs into town and back) is not that far away to walk, you can easily take the path down into Solden in the day (you might need a torch at night) and a taxi for 3 cost us 10 Euros.

Whilst the chalet enjoys an elevated position, it's not exactly by the piste and to be able to ski in and out would be something might only be achievable on few occasions and certainly only if there were good enough snow conditions.

We had a wonderful Christmas holiday here, and would not hesitate to recommend the chalet and would be happy to return - thanks to Clare and all her extremely professional, well trained team who are a credit to the company

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff at the chalet Hermann were all lovely but one exceeded the expectations. Sam was a delightful, friendly and well manered chap and is a credit to the chalet. He made the place and led the staff by example. Sam was just brilliant and was a delight to be around, I just can't emphasize how great he was. The other staff were nice as well including Kathy, Lucy and Grace. The manger of the Chalet, Claire, was absolutely great and any problem you had she would do her best to fix. The rooms always very clean and tidy when the cleaners were done with it. The relaxation area was great after a hard days skiing. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty although the portions were a bit small when you order the hot option. The afternoon tea, cakes and soup was also delicious though the cakes run out quick so make sure you get there fast. The dinner was also tasty but sometimes a little bit dry. The chalet also got very hotta meal times and it made it hard to sleep in your bedroom with that heat. Overall though the chalet is a great place and all of the bad comments are just picky and a load of rubbish.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balconie and on the first floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

First time in Solden and not sure what to expect. We booked with Ski Total. No worries with the Hermann - we had a great week.

We stayed in the Panorama wing, which was ideal for our family of 4 adults because it was like staying in your own 2-bed apartment with separate lounge including flat screen TV with UK channels, fridge and kitchen.

These rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard and come with balconies offering stunning views of the valley. There is a dedicated ski room, too, with boot warmers.

The chalet also has a spa area with sauna and steam room which we used daily. Pity there's no Jacuzzi!

Clare, Gemma and the rest of the staff ensured we had a lovely, hassle-free week. We were their first group of guests and they pulled out all the stops. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was consistently delicious and imaginative. One of our party is 'gluten-free' and they were very well catered for.

We appreciated the location of the chalet because it's in a quiet location with stunning views. You can ski in to within 5 minutes' walk and out after 7-10 minutes' walk to the red that runs down to the Gigioch gondola.. Also, the official ski bus, which stops virtually outside, is supplemented by the chalet's own minibus, so getting to the snow is really very easy. Michael, the driver, will also, very helpfully, get you to and from town on request on the dining out evening.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here, however, I did not see the rooms in the main part of the chalet.

The skiing in Solden is good, particularly for intermediates and above, with plenty to keep you going for a whole week. There are two glaciers and lots of snow making, so pretty snow-sure. For 10€ you can also upgrade your lift pas which allows a day's skiing in Obergurgl, 20 minutes up the valley on the free ski bus. This is worth doing.

There's plenty of 'apres' in Solden with lots of bars and restaurants. However, the village is fairly spread out along one main road and we didn't find it as picturesque as some other resorts, but that's a very minor point.

If you're hiring skis/boards etc we used Clever & Sporty, booked through the AlpinSports website, which was much cheaper than the other shops. The equipment was mostly brand new, too.

Room Tip: The Panorama wing is ideal for family/friends groups with shared lounge areas and amazing views from...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrnewstead_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked out holiday last minute through Igluski and confess that I was a little concerned when i read some of the previous reviews. We were very pleasantly suprised!

We were in the Panorama wing. The rooms were immaculately clean, spacious and had a powerful shower, with ample hot water, no matter what time we showered.

The food was exceptional throughout the week, and the wine flowed freely! The staff really couldn't have been more helpful - they were all. without exception, efficient and attentive.

I would suggest, that a chest of drawers wouldnt have gone amiss in our room, as there was space for it, but that would be a minor niggle.

Yes, it is a little out of the way, but the ski bus stops regularly almost directly opposite the chalet, and Michael is also available for runs into town. The funicular (which runs into town and back until 10pm) is not that far away to walk (maybe 10 mins if taking it steady?) but a taxi for 4 cost us 13 Euros.

Also, i agree that ski in and out is not really an apt description, particularly if the snow is poor, but again, this is a niggle.

We met some lovely people there, had a great holiday and based on our experience, I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it. I would happily go again - it made for a great Christmas holiday.

Thanks to Clare, Gemma and the team!

Room Tip: Panorama rooms are newer and have access to own shared lounge
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skierjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valentin
Hotel Valentin
#9 of 32 in Solden
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#10 of 32 in Solden
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#6 of 32 in Solden
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#8 of 32 in Solden
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermann

Address: Seestrasse 26, Solden 6450, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Solden
Price Range: $124 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets and Chalet Hotels in the snow-sure resort of Sölden are hard to find and we are delighted that our first Chalet Hotel in this resort has proved a great success. The Hermann is a charming and traditional hotel in which our guests enjoy the full Ski Total catering services.Not many chalets or hotels in Sölden can offer better access to the skiing. The Chalet Hotel Hermann has one of the most scenic locations in the resort with several access routes to the skiing. The lively atmosphere of Solden's centre can be reached by a 5 minute walk to a small funicular down to the town plus we offer free evening shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hermann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing