We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated & not up to brochure description”
Review of Hotel Hermann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Hermann
Ranked #2 of 157 Solden B&B and Inns
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Over-rated & not up to brochure description”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can't believe we stayed at same hotel as the reviewers who gave 5*ratings, we have stayed at many chalets on skiing holidays and this was the worst by far. The chalet is situated way out of the village, ski slopes are accessible only by ski bus, which run at 45 min intervals. The rooms were ok & the shower was modern, but we never had any hot water for showers, despite trying temperature several times each evening between 5-7pm, towels were small, thin & never changed, plus we had to ask for toilet rolls. The worst aspect by far was the food, we had to send it back several times because it was lukewarm, then just gave up and ate it, the vegetables were terrible, frozen, then overcooked until tasteless, as were the majority of the dishes we had. The wine did flow copiously, I guess this was to compensate for the lack of culinary skill shown by the chef. Also despite making our choices for dinner at breakfast time, every day at least one persons order was wrong. The aperitifs were a joke, not worth eating. However breakfast was like something out of fawlty towers, they ran out of cups, glasses, coffee, crusty bread every day, the scrambled eggs & omelette options were really vile and the porridge was inedible. The staff were friendly, mostly young and inexperienced, but poorly managed, one morning after a night out, they didn't turn up for breakfast service so it was even more of a shambles than usual. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mactravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Hotel Hermann, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It is disappointing that the content of this review is at odds with others placed on the site relative to this season, and indeed with the extremely positive feedback that we have received from guests of the Chalet Hotel Hermann to date. We would encourage readers to read all reviews to obtain a more balanced view of guest opinion on the property, and would offer our assurance that any issues that do arise for our guests during their holiday are generally handled extremely well by the hotel management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Chalet Herman travelling with Ski Total. Claire, Karolina, Lucy and the team of staff were friendly, professional, flexible, accommodating and went the extra mile to make sure we had a great holiday. The food was excellent and plentiful, wine flowed at dinner and the aperitifs and canapes before dinner just added the extra special touch. Skiing in Solden was great for intermediate skiers - lots of lovely wide blue and red runs. The ski bus went from outside the chalet at the key times of the day and getting to and from the slopes was straightforward. We had a great holiday, thank-you to everyone who made it special.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 which was perfect for 2 adults and a teenager as it had 2 rooms with an adjoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We've just returned from a great week's stay at Hotel Hermann with Ski Total. This is a really well run establishment with Claire and Karolina leading a friendly, attentive and very helpful team. It was clearly evident that they would ensure that overly boisterous individuals or groups would not be allowed to dominate the chalet, this would be handled in a diplomatic, non-confrontational manner. The quality of food was high with a 4/5 course dinner each evening, with a choice of menus. This was served up with decent free wine. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Information on the resort and ski area was readily available with a TV in the bar area showing webcams of the area at breakfast time. It is possible to very nearly ski in/out of the chalet if your not a total beginner, with very short walks to ski routes. Complimentary taxis are provided to take you to the main lifts and to/from the town centre. Overall an excellent base for an extensive ski area, Obergurgl is only 25 minutes away by bus and can be included on the Solden lift pass.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for one week, our party was a group of 10 adults and 4 teenagers. Good standard of accomodation,rooms clean and heating adjustable.
Food was of a high standard with a varied menu, The Lamb Henry was the best Ive ever tasted. The wine flowed throughout dinner, finishing with a large glass if so desired with the cheese board. It is stated in other reviews that the bar staff, waiters and waitresses are all young, I thought that was a bit of a bonus myself they were eager to please, polite, competant and very helpful.
The Herman is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. An intermediate skier would have no problem ski ing almost to the hotel,just a 2 minute walk back to the door, however we only became aware of this towards the end of the holiday.
We understood that we could take a "Quacksy Taxi" and book it to the Herman account if we needed transport back from the centre, but came to realise this was not so,the complementary taxis are evenings only when you put your name on the list at reception.You can walk to and from the centre but need to be reaonably fit as it takes about 10 minutes down a very steep hill and slightly longer to get back up.Taxis are available at about 10 euros per journey.
Drinks at the bar are run on a bar tab,if you pay this by card you need to settle up on the Friday evening, if you are paying in cash this can be done before you leave, it would have been helpful if this had been brought to our notice upon arrival. Claire asked me to pay my bill twice not realising I had settled in cash on the Friday evening,I had no receipt so had to wait until she reconciled the takings. Having sorted out their mistake for them, I was then then visited in my room by Claire she asked if I could return my copy of the bill so that she could use it to help her explain the problem to her barman whom I had already paid.Just before leaving we were advised that a remote was missing from our boys bedroom, it was later found outside on the balcony, Im not sure how it got there,but Claire then questioned our teenage boys advising them that she had found cigarette ends next to the remote.I was extremely upset regarding this matter, and after a chat amongst the guests it was confirmed that the cigarette ends had been flicked by an adult guest from a different balcony and were absolutely nothing to do with my boys.Despite this upset which I feel was very poorly handled,I did enjoy the rest of my stay at Chalet Herman.The ski ing in Solden is vast, and I would recommend upgrading your lift pass at the time of purchase so that you can get one days ski ing in Obergurgle/Hochgurgle were you can visit The Niederhut for a great afternoons apres ski with live music,returning on the free bus! Oh and complementary peanuts on the bar are needed!

Room Tip: All rooms are ok but some have new power showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperAdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Three of us stayed here last week. From the minute we arrived we were impressed. The staff were excellent; very helpful and accommodating. Clare runs a tight ship and ensures that everything runs smoothly. I stayed in the main hotel and my friends stayed in the Panorama. We were all very pleased with the rooms we had. Mine, Room 305, was large, warm and comfortable. The heating can be adjusted to suite by just opening or closing the radiator valve. Be aware if on top floor there is 6 flights of stairs (get harder to climb by the end of the week lol). The shower was lovely and hot, however, be aware that if you shower late you might have a warm shower. The bathroom had a really good hairdryer and there is plenty of wardrobe space. Afternoon tea included cakes, scones, bread, soup and hot and cold drinks. Urn is on all day to make yourself tea; coffee; hot chocolate etc. Pre dinner canapes are served at 7:15 and everyone gathers in the bar / lounge area prior to going into dinner at 7:45. Dinner was excellent with a very good choice each day. We were sat on a table with a group of 24 / 25 year olds, this made our evenings nice and lively (we are in our 50's), a lovely group of young people. I might add that the free wine with dinner was of a good quality. Lucy, the ski host, was very good; she took us with a mixed group to many locations including Obergurgl. The lift / Gondola system was very good. The hotel is not ski in / ski out and the bus is just across the road and very prompt, so don't miss it. If you do you can walk a short distance and ski down to the Gondola. Again you can ski off piste across a couple of fields to get back with just a short walk back up the road to the hotel. The staff will tell you where to go. I would definitely recommend this hotel, however, if you don't ski there is not alot to do. Thank you Clare and all of your staff for a lovely weeks stay.

Room Tip: 1st floor main building - not too many stairs (there is no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel offers a 2 / 3 star service. The staff are 100% English and all bar the chalet host are very young and inexperienced which I would not expect to find in a hotel that is graded as a 4 star.

The rooms are adequate and warm with comfortable beds however throughout our week long stay the room’s sheets and towels were not changed despite stains on both. Towels placed in the shower or under the basin each morning on the floor were picked up and re hung on the rail. The bathroom was not cleaned and tepid showers were a regular both morning and evening.

Meals are sold on a 5 course basis, it is not, it is 3 courses with an optional selection of cheeses, the same every night cut into individual slices, and a coffee making up the 5th course.

A number of reviews on trip advisor recommend the food in the hotel, I would say the cooking is more typical to that of a home kitchen and lacks any culinary flare that you would most certainly find in a 4 star hotel, often too cold and served with a selection of frozen vegetables on a nightly basis. I have to say it was very disappointing. Bread rolls are one per person along with boiled eggs in the morning. There are never any extras on offer. That said there is free wine each evening with the meal and it was acceptable.

The bar had around 10 bottles of spirits to choose from and no local digestives or aperitifs what-so-ever were on offer.

The hotel offered ski in / ski out with the tag line ‘location , location, location! Not many hotels in Solden can offer better access to the skiing’ The hotel is located a good 5 mins walk in any direction from the slopes, which in ski boots up a hill is a fair old trek and that is if there has been snow down in the town, otherwise it is a nightmare to reach located up above the town with a ski bus every 45 mins, meaning a 10 euro taxi was an unexpected daily add on.

The hotels minibus had broken down so they offered taxis in the evening only after dinner, not between the end of skiing and dinner which is the time they were most needed due to the hotels location and the need to be picked up from town since it was not possible to ski back to the hotel.

Breakfast started at 08:00 and not before. The first bus was at 08:15 so it was not possible to take breakfast in the hotel before catching the first bus, meaning you had to wait to 09:00 for the next bus. The bus was essential as the ski in / ski out slopes were so icy it was not possible to ski them.

I hope that this is useful when planning you next ski trip. Solden itself has a fantastic ski area with over 250kms of pistes and good glacier skiing. The lift system is new and efficient and selection of runs and restaurants in the mountain abundant. I would highly recommend the resort but not the Hotel unfortunately.

Room Tip: Theres no lift so the 3rd floor is a fair old way up after a long days skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panov23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, Manager at Hotel Hermann, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
To clarify with regard to the rating of the Chalet Hotel Hermann, in the absence of an official rating system (such as star ratings) for catered chalet and Chalet Hotel accommodation, we have devised our own diamond rating system which is explained in our brochure and on our website. This system has been devised using management and guest reviews of our properties in comparison with one another and cannot be directly compared to a star or any other system of accommodation rating.
Staff in our properties are British and recruited by our own experienced in-house Recruitment team, many of whom are themselves returning staff from our overseas teams. They are, perhaps naturally, often young but they do by no means lack the experience required for the roles that they fulfil and do, in addition, receive comprehensive pre-season training.
It is disappointing that the reviewer seemingly did not raise their concerns with the management team in the hotel since it is clear that the points could either have been addressed, or our product explained. Indeed it does seem that there is some disparity with regard to our brochure offering and the expectations of this reviewer.
Catering in our Chalet Hotels comprises breakfast between the hours and 8am and 9am, afternoon tea, then an evening meal of canapés and aperitif, starter, main course, dessert, cheese and tea/coffee with chocolates on 6 out of 7 nights (one night being the staff night off). Our Chalet Hotel kitchens are run by experienced Head Chefs, supported by trained catering personnel.
The ski bus runs at the start and end of the ski day so we have seen no need to offer our own service in addition to this. Our staff are monitoring guest requirements and, should a further need be expressed, this will of course be reviewed. As it stands, guests are offered transportation by taxi after dinner if they so require it on all nights except the staff night off.
It is disappointing that the Chalet Hotel Hermann did not meet with the guest expectations on this occasion, though we would urge readers of this review to consider our brochure and website descriptions of the property (and other reviews) in conjunction with this reviewer’s comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the Hermann earlier in January with a ski party of 11 of us. We were all staying the Panorama wing which we LOVED. These rooms are actually apartments with mini kitchens and living rooms, it was great for us as there was a very large living room in one of our rooms which we could all gather in before meals.

Other guests have mentioned the problem drying towels as there are no radiators, some of our parties did have this problem although we were fine (in room 3). The rooms were kept very clean throughout the week. The showers were great, very hot and powerful.

The food was good overall but we felt that the chef was trying to be too fancy, it was nice to have a choice of food (which we selected each morning). The puddings weren't great and the 2 vegetarians in our party got a couple of ropey main courses.

Breakfast was served at 8am which we all felt was a bit late (as we were keen to get out on the slopes), the selection of food was good though with a variety of hot options.

Thumbs up for afternoon tea which as well as the usual cake included soup, biscuits and sausage rolls as well as hot drinks.

As for the skiing, it was probably my second favourite week in the 12 years I have been going, The area isn't massive, if you were a good skier you could do the lot in a few days but the slopes are so good you can do them a few times! We also had a great day out in Obergurgl with the Ski Total guide.

We found all the staff to be brilliant, very friendly.

Ski Total don't promise ski in/ski out so don't expect it and don't even attempt to ski down to the Giggijoch via the short cut round the corner of the hotel. We did find another shortcut walking though a log field and hopping onto the red 21 piste (and hopping off it at night). The buses are limited but we found them pretty reliable just make sure you check out the times.

Room Tip: If it's a big group of you the Panorama wing is good as you get the place to yourself but you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.3 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#7 of 32 in Solden
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Valentin
Hotel Valentin
#5 of 32 in Solden
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#9 of 32 in Solden
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#11 of 32 in Solden
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermann

Property: Hotel Hermann
Address: Seestrasse 26, Solden 6450, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Solden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets and Chalet Hotels in the snow-sure resort of Sölden are hard to find and we are delighted that our first Chalet Hotel in this resort has proved a great success. The Hermann is a charming and traditional hotel in which our guests enjoy the full Ski Total catering services.Not many chalets or hotels in Sölden can offer better access to the skiing. The Chalet Hotel Hermann has one of the most scenic locations in the resort with several access routes to the skiing. The lively atmosphere of Solden's centre can be reached by a 5 minute walk to a small funicular down to the town plus we offer free evening shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hermann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing