We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential but improvements required”

Valentin Design Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Valentin Design Apartments
Ranked #8 of 157 Solden B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good potential but improvements required”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed over New Year in December 2013 for a ski holiday.

Firstly, the positives. The location is good if you want to escape the noisy part of town and is very good for the nearby gondola. There are plenty of ski hire/storage facilities nearby too. The manager at check in was very friendly and helpful and check in itself was seamless. The rooms were spacious, clean and warm and the hotel was generally very comfortable. We received some miniature bottles of sparkling wine complimentary for New Years Eve which was a pleasant surprise.

Unfortunately, there are some negatives. The walk to the bars and restaurants is reasonably lengthy (10-15 mins), but if you are prepared for it there is no real problem. We had to pay for wifi (per device!) and we could rarely get a connection. When we did, the speed was abysmal. Effectively, we had no wifi during our stay. Breakfast in the morning is OK if you are first to arrive, however if you arrive at a more leisurely time of say 8.30-9am, there is little left and the tables are not cleared. This was rather frustrating after a few days.

On the final day our coach was due to arrive at 12.40pm. We aimed to check out of our room at 10.30-11am as we had not been told a time otherwise. During the course of the morning we received a couple of knocks from the maid who then immediately opened and closed the door. Shortly before 11am there was another knock and when we answered the door, there were 2 maids stood in the corridor. One of them then proceeded to shout at us in German using very aggressive body language and a raised voice. Whilst I have no idea what she was saying, I was quite put back by her attitude and this left a very sour taste on departure. I would not speak to a criminal in that manner, let alone a guest.

All in all, the Waldheim is OK if you are on a budget but spend a little bit more and there will be much more additional value to be gained in other residences towards the centre of the village.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A quiet hotel with bus stops outside and just an easy 4-5 minute walk to the gaislachkogl tal gondala station where a great range of slopes await and the top. Hotel could offer free wifi but all in all you are well looked after. There is a great heated ski/ board room with heated boot pegs on the lockers so your kits dry in the morning. Good basic breakfast too. Nice comfy room on departure day while you wait with a tv. Resort wise this is located at the top end and bars and restaurants are a good walk away. The slopes are very good higher up but beware the run down to the gondala station as it's very Icy and narrow at best. I would recommend going to the bottom station at the lower end of the resort and getting the free bus back to the hotel door. All in all would recommend and return here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
612 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We wanted to go here with a UK Tour Operator, but their allocation was sold out by the time we were ready to book. Undaunted we managed to book direct, secured a bigger room and were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. We booked our own flights and transfers, and learned that the owner will take bookings for split weeks which can be a problem to find elsewhere in the ski season.The room was very clean and comfortable, and well serviced, although the towels are old and need upgrading - they are thin and tired!
Breakfast is simple but perfectly acceptable, although the early bird catches the eggs and latecomers missed out. Breads were excellent and cold meat selection was good, although the smoked salmon was only avaiable on one day - or had been snaffled by early risers! It is the location which is the clinching factor for the Waldheim - close to one of the two main lifts, and a good restaurant next door. It is a bit of a walk to the centre of town, but the bus stop is right outside. A final plus point is the fre entry to the Frizheit Arena leisure centre - perfect for the non- skier. We would certainly return!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have traffic noise during the day, but are perfectly quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Waldheim is excellently located for the Glaiskogel (?) lift, a mere 2 mins walk. It is not well located for the other aspects of town, apres, shopping, food and bars etc. This said it is a great well priced and clean hotel with good breakfast. The rooms are immaculate and clean with fresh towels daily. The owner is freindly and works hard to look after her guests. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel providing you accept it for what it is. No frills i.e. no sauna, pool etc, but some where for a good nights sleep in clean and comforable rooms and an excellent breakfast to go with it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very good value b&b. Breakfast was simple but ok. The rooms are good with good powerful hot showers. First time in Solden and would return. The snow was good with plenty of km's to cover on the piste. Not a massive amount of nightlife but you can find it if required.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for one week over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, well heated with a good shower. The entire hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained.

There is a room containing lockers to store boots and skis. Each locker has heating to dry out/warm your boots which worked very well. Our locker would not accommodate two snowboards so we had to take one to our room – ski’s should be fine.

The breakfast buffet was very good.

During our stay we came home on Christmas Eve to find two small bottles of wine, Christmas biscuits and a Christmas tree in our room which were complimentary gifts from the hotel (we left the tree!). Our departure was at an ungodly 3am and the hotel provided us with a packed lunch in lieu of breakfast. We were very well looked after during our stay.

The hotel is located towards the edge of town. It is a 2 minute walk to one of the cable cars to the Ski resort and 10 minutes to the centre of town. The 4 star hotel next door has a bar and restaurant if you don’t want to go into town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in this b&b twice, both time on a late season half price package with Neilson's and loved it. Solden is fabulous location for late season skiing as it generates it's own microclimate due to 2 large glaciers, so the snow stays in top condition even when it's all slush in Obergurgl 20 min away. I now go there for 2 weeks every April for final blast on the snow before it melts. Pension Walheim is a family run business and I always find the whole family very charming and most helpful. It has been refurbished last year, so the rooms and bathrooms are fresh and very comfortable. It is on a busy main road thru Solden, so try to request a room at the back, they tend to be large and quiet. Try to avoid rooms close to stairs and office - can be noisy. The breakfast is plentiful and varied, with scrambled and fried eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses, juices, cereal, fruit, various rolls and breads, jams, etc etc served in lovely cosy sunny room. Every room is allocated a spacious locker with boot heaters in the ski room downstairs, so you know your gear is safe. There is a free ski bus stop outside, taking you along the main road to gondolas and to Obergurgl/Hochgurgl 20 min away, which is very much worth exploring - 1 day there is normally included in your lift pass if you are on a packaged tour. If you buy your own pass, make sure you mention 1 day in Obergurgl (it's extra 10 Euro). You can walk to one of the goldolas Gaislachkoglbahn, it's about 200 yeards from the pension. The ski hire shop right by that gondola is reasonably priced with very friendly staff - they will set you up nicely and it's free to change your gear if you don't get on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Copenduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Liebe Sonne
Hotel Liebe Sonne
#8 of 32 in Solden
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#6 of 32 in Solden
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tyrol
Hotel Tyrol
#25 of 32 in Solden
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentin
Hotel Valentin
#7 of 32 in Solden
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Design Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Design Apartments

Property: Valentin Design Apartments
Address: Dorfstrasse 174, Solden 6450, Austria (Formerly Pension Waldheim Solden)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Solden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Valentin Design Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Valentin Design Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing