We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel ,restaurant and services!!!”
Review of Grauer Baer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grauer Baer Hotel
Ranked #20 of 157 Solden B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is the perfect place for a perfect winter holiday.It s only a few steps from the sky lift ,the food is so good ,everything was cooked to perfection, the rooms big,clean and warm ,ii can find enough words to describe this place,i can wait next year to go back,i will recomande it to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 615elisaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Grauer Baer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned with my husband from a week over x-mas and cant fualt this hotel and staff. The pictures on this site dont do it justice, as it has been decorated with tasteful and high quality fittings. Rooms comfortable, v clean, spacious with great bathroom etc. The menu for the evening gives choices and all food was fantastic! Huge varied choice for breakfast too and it was nice to be allowed to have a relaxed lingering breakfast, rather than feeling that we were in the way with staff clearing up around you (our expereince in past hotels). All staff extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The ski lockers are large, secure and heated and opereted with the same key as the room (genius!). The gondola is less than 3 mins walk from hotel, which is far closer than we had thought (Bus also stops right outside). We would love to return to this hotel, as they have everything right!

Room Tip: I would always choose a high room, as you avoid noise from above. If you want a balcony you need to...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We actually stayed in a b&b next door to Grauer Baer, but used the hotel's restaurant 3 times and cannot recommend it highly enough. Beautiful surroundings, so cosy and rustic and comfortable. And it's very large and seems to go on forever withmore rooms openning up to the sides. There's a fabulous playroom for children - they seem to be very happy there. The service is first rate, with a snile and Austrian warm hospitality. And the food...so good, and being forever on a budget we found it to be the cheapest in Solden, but the quality, taste and presentation is out of this world. I don't know if the menu changes much from year to year, but in April 2012 I kept going for the same dish - a roasted shoulder of pork with roast potatoes served with garlic butter and pickled chilli on an oval wooden board and presented to beautifully and all for a princely sum of 9.50 Euros. Can't waint to go back.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Copenduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Having just returned from a week at the Grauer Baer in Solden with my family, I have already booked for next year! 2 years ago we stayed elsewhere in Solden and ate at this hotel several times, enjoying the food, so this time decided to stay here. We certainly made a good choice! it was everything we had hoped for and more. The impression we got is that it is an extremely well run hotel. The food is amazing,( in a previous review someone mentions that the meat was dry, this was not so at all), everything was cooked to perfection, served with some very nice sauces, the choices were good and the presentation was second to none! The staff were friendly and very helpful but not intrusive. The bar/lounge area was a lovely place to relax. The rooms were clean and warm. Having booked through Neilson we could only get rooms at the rear of the hotel, these do not have balconies but are very quiet, and look out onto the wooded hillside directly behind the hotel. This hotel is also very close to a ski lift, there is a wellness area on the fourth floor, parking if you are driving, and a ski storage room. What more could you want?

Room Tip: If you want balcony room with a view book direct with the hotel, however the rooms at the rear are q...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We weren't actually staying at the Grauer Baer, but couldn't stay away once we'd sampled their restaurant and bar. The food was the best we had in Solden, with a huge and varied menu of inspired dishes as well as traditional Austrian food - all for reasonable prices. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the lovely bar too, with one of the most friendly and helpful barmen I've come across. Bliss.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkapeBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Excellent hotel very close to main ski lift. We were a large group staying in 2-, 3- and 4-person bedrooms - all with half-board. Food was good and plentiful and rooms were nice and spacious. Nice wellness area too. Can only recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Let me start by saying what a pleasure it was to stay at the Grauer Baer Hotel in Solden. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by all the staff and owners. Although the rooms aren't generally available until 1400 they provide safe storage for your luggage till you gain access to your room. The rooms are of typical Austrian twin style, ie double bed with two single duvets. Our room on the third floor was to the rear of the hotel so didn't come with a balcony however this meant that we were away from any noise generated by traffic. The room had everything required for our stay however the addition of tea, coffee making facility would have rounded off the quality of the room nicely. Rooms were prepped daily with fresh towels and beds made up. Hotel facilities included steam room, sauna and wellness area but users beware no swimsuits allowed, towels only to be worn in these areas. The restaurant couldn't have been better, breakfast was a huge selection of local meats and cheeses, cereals, and pasteries. Dinner was chosen from three pre selected main courses with a predetermined starter and sweet either side. Prior to this meal guests could help themselves to the unbelieveable choice of buffet food with different themes daily. Staff in the restaurant were very attentive but not intrusive into your eating time. The dinning area benefits from a no smoking policy which is quite unusual for the country with smokers asked to go to the seperate bar room. Ski and board storage was in the form of individual secure lockable lockers that had boot warming/drying fittings inside. My only complaint about this area was that the boot driers didn't really dry the inside of boots very well however taking boots into the warm bedrooms helped overcome this failing. Hotel location couldn't have been better, approximately 100m from the main gondola and had a ski-bus stop right outside for those wanting to start or finish at the towns other gondola which was a 8 minute bus ride away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alexcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#10 of 32 in Solden
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#7 of 32 in Solden
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alphof Soelden
Hotel Alphof Soelden
#4 of 32 in Solden
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentin
Hotel Valentin
#8 of 32 in Solden
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grauer Baer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grauer Baer Hotel

Address: Dorfstrasse 172, Solden 6450, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Solden
Price Range: $128 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grauer Baer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grauer Baer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing