We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but beware of some location inconvenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal
Ranked #13 of 157 Solden B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed in the appartment part of the hotel, cooking our own food.
The road to Silbertal is narrow and icy, put on your snow chains, we helped push four cars up the road or out on snow chains o. our way down...
The location inconvenicne we should have bought more food going up,
the place is nice, staff is friendly and the on the mountain location is relaxing...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emelieochjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

My review is probably more relevant for potential guests coming from English-speaking countries

Rooms - Simple but clean and comfortable, does not come with frills like bathrobes, slippers, fancy toiletries. You'll need to ask reception if you need a robe for the sauna. There is NO WiFi in the room. If you need WiFi access, you must go to the 3rd floor near the gym for free access, or there is a pay-per-use computer on the ground floor.

Food - Mixed. Half the time we had excellent meals which were a modern interpretation of traditional Austrian/Bavarian food with interesting use of flavors such as lemongrass, chillies, etc. But the other half of the time we had uninspiring dishes, over-cooked meat, lukewarm soup. Breakfast was always excellent (though always the same). We were on half-board - you could order wines at reasonable prices.

Apres ski - there was a Apres Ski hut next to the hotel which was always packed at night with an amazing 2-person band. They had such wide repertoire of English songs and my friends and I really enjoyed listening to them. There was always a great atmosphere there although it was very smokey.

Service - generally very attentive and helpful service from the receptionists, waitresses, etc.

Sauna - nice area for steam and sauna and relaxation. but in true Austrian style everyone goes in naked so not recommended for the more "prudish" travelers...

Location - A great advantage is that you don't have to take a bus to the station, but can immediately take a baby lift to the main lifts and ski away. You can also easily ski directly back to the hotel via a special piste not found on the map. I found this most convenient! However do note that a complete beginner would find it a challenge to ski back to the hotel.

The downside is that because it is so far away, you're basically stuck there. To hire a taxi to the village costs EUR 25 each way which is exorbitant. If you need a taxi ride from the hotel to the gondola for the purposes of ski lessons, they charge EUR 5 per person each way. It is a long way up a windy road to get to the hotel so if you are driving, you must have a 4WD with snow tires or you'd never make it up.

The ski rental shop Intersport only operates once a week I believe, so you may need to rent the skis in the village before making your way up. Do check with Reception if you can rent the skis and boots when you arrive at the hotel, otherwise it's a EUR 25 trip down the hill just for the skis. We were lucky that the shop was opened when we arrived but they only had a very limited selection of items, e.g. 1 pair in each size.

Other - During our stay, we met some lovely people. Most hotel guests were friendly and we would chat each time we met during breakfast and dinner. Somehow the hotel seemed to have attracted like-minded people! However during some seasons, large contingents of foreign guests might descend, so do check beforehand if you wish to avoid this.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room where you will have more windows. If you need WiFi access, try asking for a ro...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pralines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel is the best hotel I've stayed in Austria for so many reasons. I booked myself and 28 friends in here for a weeks skiing in January 2011. I was hugely impressed with the attentive staff, the amazing food, the access to the slopes, the services [ski hire/school], the price, the relaxed atmosphere, the facilities, the cleanliness, the apres ski, the food again, and the activities on offer, this hotel brilliantly run.

I could have happily paid double for this place and still be satisfied. We rented the alpine hunts which were brand new, but the hotel rooms are equally good. We were greeted with pure Austrian hospitality, no hint of the snobby attitude or stupid prices you would find in French resorts. These guys really know how to run a hotel and don't want to rip people off.

This hotel is perfectly situated on side of one of the best skiing area's in the World. It's under priced and also so under rated. Why go anywhere else?

Forget travel agents - just book here yourself, pay less for much much more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wannabe_in_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Manuelkety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Bruno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
Thank paulaJ7179NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank trekki-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#2 of 32 in Solden
349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#10 of 32 in Solden
113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gastehaus Franz Riml
Gastehaus Franz Riml
#16 of 32 in Solden
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alphof Soelden
Hotel Alphof Soelden
#4 of 32 in Solden
150 reviews
2.4 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
1.9 mi away
Pension Sportalm
Pension Sportalm
#1 of 157 in Solden
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal

Address: Gaislach 7, Solden 6450, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Solden
Price Range: $164 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Alm-Ferienclub Silbertal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing