We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
146
69
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
69
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the main hotel swimming pool ski shop soup across the road cakes ski holiday car park the bus free drinks ski school lift passes superior room every night kaiser jet wine and soft drinks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 236 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

Enjoyed a week long family ski holiday the last week of February 2019.
We opted to book the hotel and each element of our ski holiday ourselves as we have travelled to Austria in both summer and winter many times before. It was easy to book via email and the reception staff were very helpful, we even prebooked our lift passes via the hotel.
From the moment we arrived we were looked after. Our room was in Alpin (2) and was lovely, newly refurbished and perfect for a family of 4.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and evening meals and felt truly spoilt by the treats on offer when we arrived back off the slopes between 3-5. We were treated to all our favourite Austria dishes during the week including Wiener schnitzel, goulash soup, kaiser schmarn etc. Lovely salad bar and a chef on hand to make the most amazing stone baked pizzas. We didn’t have a chance to feel hungry all week.
The staff were lovely and we all got to practice and learn a few new German words.
There is a boot cellar in the hotel that has a door through to the ski hire shop.
There is a Spar shop next door to grab fresh filled rolls (Semmel) for lunch on the mountain.
The ski bus picks up every 10 minutes from across the road and drops at the Gondalbahn. We never had to wait long and as it was the first pick up we always got a seat for the kids.
Thanks to this lovely hotel we enjoyed a fantastic week skiing.
I have to also highly recomend this ‘wilder kaiser’ mountain region in the summer for families. We have visited this area in summer for the past 3 years as the walks, activities, trails etc for children are amazing. We love Alpino Lino in Westendorf, Hexen Wasser in Soll, Flizalm See in Brixen and of course Kaiser Welt in Scheffau. We are yet to make it to Ellmau and Going in summer. All the gondelbahns are available on the same weeks lift pass in summer. Hoping to visit these beautiful mountains again in summer 2019.
Would recommend this hotel in a heart beat.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 36skb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

Having stayed in many Tirolean Hotels over the years I had an idea of what to expect. Plenty of wood and red furnishings to me sum up the Alpine buildings, friendly staff and cozy snugs tucked away. The ski hire shop is directly below with reasonable equipment even for the end of season. The ski bus stop (every 10 mins 8-12, 1-5) is 30m up the hill. All good. Scheffau its self seems to be devoid of night life or bars (try Soll). Our room was a family room, smallish but clean with views of the Wilder Kaiser and the other part of the hotel. What really was missing from the old part of the hotel was an area to relax out of the restaurant, your room and away from the reception. on the last day it was pointed out that there was a tea making room on the 1st floor, bit late then but thanks anyway Alex. Food was really nice and the girls very efficient. Friday nights band in the restaurant was great. Apart from the feeling that we were trapped in our room outside of restaurant hours it was an excellent hotel.
One funny thing and a shame for the owners is the failure when whoever made up their curtains made them all upside down. When all the butterflies are the correct way up and all the curtains are not, total fail.

Room tip: Go for the new part with a balcony.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

This was our first time at this hotel, and in Austria for that matter. From the moment that we turned up we couldn't have asked for more. The staff were great (especially the restaurant staff) and made us feel most welcome.
The hotel was clean, well maintained and conveniently situated for skiing with the (free) bus stop right outside the door the main gondola lift is only 2 minutes away. The tourist information office is straight across the road from the hotel.

The ski depot is in the hotel basement for both storage and hire and the hire equipment (& staff/service) was first class.
.
The food and restaurant was very good with plenty of choice, and with our package (Crystal Holidays) drinks were included during dinner (6-9pm) for beer, wine and soft drinks. Despite the fact that the hotel was full (I think) there was plenty of room in the restaurant so you could stay at your table with free drinks served until 9pm so we really had no need to venture out.

Tea/coffee was available all day and afternoon tea/snacks (which was very welcome after a hard day's skiing) was 3-5pm.

Scheffau itself is a small quiet village/town so if you are looking for lively evening/night life this is probably not for you (try looking for somewhere in the neighbouring resort of Ellmau which is a bit bigger).

As for the skiing, Scheffau and the SkiWelt resorts are great with a fabulous and extensive range of slopes and lifts. I am not sure that it would be good for beginners as I didn't see much in the was of nursery slopes (or at least not ones that didn't then turn into something more difficult) - but that is something to check out. All of the restaurants/cafes that we stopped at on the mountain were really good quality and very reasonable prices.

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel & resort and we will certainly be back next year.

Thank you to the management and staff and see you next year.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank spudyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

This hotel tried very hard but I found it difficult not to compare it to other similar hotels we have stayed in over the past few years and found it lacking in just a few areas, although overall it is a lovely hotel in which to stay.
All the staff are very friendly, chatty and helpful, especially Alex in the bar..
The bedrooms are clean and as spacious as most other Austrian hotels in which we have stayed, but the bathroom was quite small and if one of us was standing at the sink, the other one couldn't open the door to get into the bathroom; the extractor fan didn't make any impression on the steam generated from having a shower, which was nice and hot and was an overhead fixed head shower with a soft flexible extension. However one afternoon we couldn't have a shower until we had been to reception to collect fresh towels as the cleaner had taken away the old ones and hadn't left us any clean ones. We also had to go and ask for towelling gowns as there were none in the room. All the towels were rather thin and not fluffy at all.
In the evening the food was all buffet service, apart from a chef's station which had the day's choice of meats and/or fish - when the chef was there, as they did tend to go walkabout. The quality of the food in the evening (salads, soup, a choice of meat or fish dishes, desserts and an huge cheese board) was very good - and it was nice to see crackers available for the cheese and not just bread. The choice of vegetables on a couple of nights was 'interesting' - apart from two types of potato the only other vegetable was creamed spinach; on another night, again with two different types of potatoes the only other choice of veg was Brussel Sprouts. The inclusion of free drinks during dinner was a bonus, but was limited to house red or white wines, or beer/weissbier and soft drinks. The hotel website and information provided is a little confusing as it gives the impression that the free drinks option is available from 6pm until 9pm, but it doesn't apply if you have left the restaurant before that time; however there was no problem if you wanted to take your drink from the restaurant over into the bar.
Prices in the bar were less for Hotel guests than for people visiting.
The breakfast however was disappointing - the cold platter was limited and you could be waiting for a while for the bacon and/or fried eggs to be served up; it was pot luck whether or not fresh croissants were available, even if you went to breakfast at different times. We only managed to get croissants on 3 days during the week. There was a reasonable selection of mueslis, dried fruits and breads.
The spa area was clean and peaceful, 2 saunas and a steam room with plenty of (thin) towels available. There is also a swimming pool which seemed to be used a lot by families.
There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, although it was rather slow at times.
Although all of the above are very minor issues there were two things that were much more of an annoyance (although they didn't detract from an enjoyable stay) : the room key was attached to a very heavy brass fob which, had you taken it out with you would have put a hole in your pocket within a day, so it meant a trip to Reception at the start and the end of the day to drop off or collect the key. The other issue was that the lift stopped working between 10pm and 6am 'to help the sleep of guests'. Turn the lifts off by all means but 10pm does seem very early. Also the lift wasn't working at times during the day on 3 days.
There is no need for an alarm clock unless you rise before 7am because at that time, the church bells start and will wake you!
The major thing this hotel lacks is a lounge area in which to relax with a drink. There is a small bar area which doubles as part of the pizza restaurant, but on occasions when the bar clientele got a little too raucous the only option was to go and sit in the Reception Lobby.
This is a nice hotel but with a few little tweaks it could be a very good one.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank specsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for a wks skiing and with it “only” been a 3* we didn’t expect too much,but boy were we pleasantly surprised staff were great,food was great probably the best pizza I’ve ever had and we’ve skied in Italy the last few yrs,special mention for Alex sorted us a table every night.Thought the bus to and from the skiing might be an issue but it was’nt all in all great wk thanks all at the Alpin.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lgf5k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews