We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit to this family friendly hotel.”
Review of Hotel Alpin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alpin
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our second visit to this family friendly hotel.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second visit to The Alpin. We went last year, and enjoyed it so much, we booked for this year too. We have 3 young children, and this hotel is very family friendly. The rooms may be a bit dated, but as we didn't spend much time in them, this is not a problem. The food is varied and good quality, so no complaints there. The staff in the hotel and ski hire shop are excellent; we remembered them all from our previous visit. A special mention for Eleanor in the restaurant, and Sevi on reception who are delightful. The hotel has a swimming pool, which our children loved.
The hotel is a short bus ride from the cable car which takes you to the slopes. The skiing in this area of Austria is fantastic; plenty of variety whether you are a novice or experienced skier.
All in all a wonderful holiday, and I would definitely recommend The Alpin as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
103
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 and really enjoyed it. It is all inclusive (to a fashion) and as such you get breakfast, Afternoon Tea and Cakes, Dinner and free Wine or beer between the hours of 6.00pm and 9.00pm.

There is two buildings the main building which houses the superior rooms, Ski Lockers, Pizza Restaurant, the other building are the normal rooms, swimming pool, restaurant and little games area for the children. We stayed in the main building and ate in the Pizza Restaurant most nights. It is Buffet style eating in both restaurants but you have to book in the Pizza Restaurant. The Pizza Restaurant offers slightly more choice as you can have Pizza, Thai or just the buffet so we prefered it in there. People was mistaken though as they thought you got charged for the pizza but you do not it is included in your hotel stay.

The room was ok, bit outdated furnishing wise but clean and tidy. The bed was one of the hardest i have slept in and the pillow is non-existant. It looks all fluffy but then flattens to nothing!!!

Scheffau is small and quiet (only one pub and no one was ever in there!). There is a spar shop and bank machine about 30 seconds walk away and the ski hire at the hotel is great. The ski school was excellent for my 5 year old though. Other people in our group had older children and they enjoyed the school also. There is nothing really challenging on the mountain to ski. Only 3 black runs. Mainly red and blue runs. We mananged for the week as the area is massive but would not return as the town is too quiet and the slopes slightly not challenging enough for us. As other people have mentioned - the ski bus stops outside or you can do what we did and ski the blue ski run from across the road which leads you directly to the lesser used, more quieter lift!

Overall though the trip was very good and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed on January for a week at superior rooms. Good location for skiing the ski-bus stop was just opposite the hotel and it takes 5-7 min.to get to the main gondol station. There was a ski rental shop at the bottom of the hotel and the service was really fast and %20 off if rented in advance via www.skiset.com.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was avarage and not so rich but the dinner was excellent and on friday nights with traditional live music.Free beer and wine from 6.00 pm to 8.45 pm in bar and restaurant were served . At 5.00 pm there was also tea -coffee and cake bar.
The sauna spa center was open after 3.00 pm and very relaxing after a ski day.
Although we stayed in a superior room I found the room small and old. The bed was noisy. I think the room and the bathroom need renovation.
I think the price/quality ratio for this hotel is high.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building on 2nd floor and the view was very good but had to walk about 15 metr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maygar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

An excellent option for a family with small children in tow. We had a spacious family room with a balcony and although the room would probably only grade a 3-star back home, it was very clean and comfortable. The food at the evening buffet could not be faulted with a roast of meat, potatoes and veg always on offer along with cold foods and pasta options. The breakfast and afternoon tea was also first rate and it was difficult not to over-indulge.
Other benefits as follows - swimming pool, spa, sauna and an excellent creche all on site; ski-hire shop on site with very friendly and helpful staff; bank across the street, Spar grocery shop 50m away; centre of the village 50m away; Crystal staff based at the hotel; waiting staff very obliging at bringing the free beer and wine in the evening; ski-bus to the gondola leaves from the front of the hotel; our four year old son attended the Kinder Kaiserland ski school which can be found 10m from the top of the Scheffau gondola.
Could not have asked for more and we will be back in 3 years DV.

Room Tip: We were in family room 333 on the top floor of the annexe. Did not get disturbed once by other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in in 20 years of skiing 2/3 times a year. It is friendly and geat value for money with the inclusive drinks package in the evenings. There are two restaurants-a buffet and a pizza restaurant. There was a great buffet breakfast and free afternoon savoury and sweets snacks as well as hot and cold drinks. Christmas Eve's gala meal was excellent as was the atmosphere created by the hotel. Staff were fabulous,.
The ski area is linked to the Soll-Ellmau resorts amonst others- a great area!. Ski bus stop outside. Absolutely lovely -we will be going back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in January. The hotel, rooms and facility are all great. The resort is small and quiet but it is in a great location for 100's miles of great skiing.

The hotel staff ( and the ski shop under the hotel) were all very helpful. Plus, the food was exellcent all week with planty of choice each night.

I highly recommend this hotel and may return again next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stenners14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Palace,London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just stayed for a week at the Alpin in Scheffau. Well located in the centre of town, opposite the TI office and bus stop and close to the village supermarket, it was great. All inclusive with a range of fresh food, salads but with the generous meat content perhaps more veggies might have been welcome too. Huge breakfast 7-10, lunch 12:30-1:30, tea 3:30-5, dinner 6-8, bring your fat pants with you ;-) The staff are very helpful, pleasant and efficient, rooms whilst comfortable and not luxurious, were cleaned daily and featured lovely towel art! Good value for money with great views from the balcony.
With your guest card you get lots of feebies and discounts. Free travel to the beautiful Hintersteinersee lake, it was lovely. The new Kaiser jet bus to all the local villages and now with stops at the gondolas formerly chairlifts as well as the more limited local Post bus. We went with Crystal and did two excursions to the salt mines [fantastic] and beginners canoeing [turned out to be kayaking and not for beginners]. Turned into a bit of a rough trip in a raft, but all in all an adventure. Lots of great walking even though I'm not a keen walker [and I don't mean to include the incredibly long treks at Gatwick Airport, in this comment!]
We have been to this resort before when our son (now 17) was much younger (7-8) and there is so much more for children to enjoy on the mountains in summer. Hexen wasser [water and witch themes] half way up Hoche Solve in Soll, and the adventure playground at the top of the Scheffau Brandstadtl gondola. [Tip: by planning which days sequentially you can save money on the lift passes. We did Soll and Scheffau in all in one day, by starting early, Kaiser Jet to Soll up & over to Hopfgarten and back up and down again. KJet to Brandstadtl then up and down on same day pass, saving around €40 per head]
The Alpin hotel also has a little zoo for kiddies [with a rooster who can't tell the time, despite the church bells!] But it adds to the fresh clean atmosphere of being away in the countryside. It also has a nice pool and sauna area downstairs but we didn't have time to sample more than the pool as the week flew by.
Free wi-fi, a pizzeria and lots of lovely photo opportunities to try out new camera meant teenage son was happy too. He had a nice single room next door to us.
In the words of the famous Austrian Arnie, “We'll be back” I hope, and would definitely pick the Alpin again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
494 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
226 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpin

Property: Hotel Alpin
Address: Dorf 31, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpin 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpin Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing