We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpin
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Could not find any negative points. Free drinks from 6.00 pm to 8.45 pm in bar and restaurant. Take decent shoes as the dining room may not be in the same building as your room. Excellent ski hire shop underneath hotel, couldn't do enough for us.(tip book ski hire separately, cheaper that way). If you are not a complete beginner take run 1a, just across the road from the hotel ( easy blue) to the gondala rather than the ski bus. Ski school especially for the children is one if the best we have come across. Food in the hotel was varied and of a very good standard, salad bar, roast, 4 different mains, desserts, and cheese board every night. For the older children, a hang out room in the basement, underneath the restuarant, brilliant concept. Massive ski area, excellent slopes. Overall brilliant holiday would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    56
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
101
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed in January 2012 on a Crystal skiing holiday. The hotel reception gave us a really warm welcome, and the staff were all cheerful. The food in the restaurants is very good - but if you're in the main hotel you have to walk to the annex in the evening - not a problem; although that's also the case for the pool.
Free beer and wine with the evening meal!
It's a great location for accessing the ski-welt, with the ski bus just across the road.
In a quiet location - unless you have a room fronting to the main road and the snow movers are about - they tend to start to move snow at 4am!
The rooms are very hot (we turned off the heating as soon as we arrived) and sparsely furnished, and the beds are very very hard.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms in the annex may be more comfortable. And then you don't have to walk outside fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMW51K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in the annexe and had a large, comfortable room with lovely views. Scheffau has no night life which is perhaps just as well as the church bells are loud at 7am!!
Food in the hotel is excellent with extensive buffets for both breakfast and dinner and an impressive range of items. Always a choice of meat dishes plus fish, pasta, salads etc. Puddings were also good and everyone loved the ice cream cabinet. A welcome addition is the free afternoon tea and cakes which also included soup and pasta. We stuck to the free beer with the evening meal as the wine was not very good. Nor, unfortunately, is the coffee but I think this is more an Austrian thing than particular to this hotel. The staff are delightful: hard working, cheerful and friendly. I also had a good massage.

There is musical entertainment in the hotel a couple of times a week and the bar is quite lively most nights. However, this is not a resort for large groups looking for a party holiday.

The ski hire shop in the same building gives excellent, friendly service with good quality equipment. The ski bus stops just across the road and runs every 15 minutes so is no hassle at all. When the snow is good, which it is this season, you can ski down the hill on a nice easy run. However, there's a bit of a trek across a car park and under the road so the bus is actually much better.

This is a delightful hotel which I think would be a good base all year round whether skiing or walking. It is child friendly and whilst we were there the children were very well behaved since they were mostly German or Austrian.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarnesOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storubridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Food is excellent with plenty of choice both at breakfast and dinner. Dinner is taken in the Annexe unless you go to the pizza restaurant where you can also eat from the a la carte menu anything you want. Pizzas are very good, we ate there twice. There's also a very good apres ski snack at 3.30 with soup, cakes, fruit etc. Only complaint for the restaurants is that they were too warm at times! Ski hire and storage is in the main building basement and you can get your skis serviced there for 15 euros. there's also a shop selling varieties of clothing and souvenirs in main building. 20 metres up road there's a SPA supermarket, and the ski bus stop. Across the road is tourist information and just past the bank is the blue run down to the 4 man lift. This sometimes isn't running if its quiet and you then have to trek to the 8 man lift so maybe easier to take the bus - runs every 15 mins apart from lunch time. The hotel is quiet although rooms on the first floor just above the bar may be noisy until midnight. Rooms at the front of the main building will have some traffic noise but not much. I believe all the standard rooms are in the annexe - 50 yards away - with the variety of superior rooms in the main hotel. The unlimited drink is excellent and the service is so good that your glass seems to refill itself! We would happily stay here again, I skied with my 2 sons, this is my twelfth ski trip and the best hotel so far. The lifts are switched off between 22.00 and 06.00 to minimise noise.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth it but go for 2nd or 3rd floor. Rooms 203 - 207 have very good views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonteBaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

travelled as a party of four, middleaged skiiers, rooms good standard and comfortable. staff helpful and very friendly, food buffet style very good and could eat as much as you wanted. could also book the pizzeria restaurant at no cost which was very good.
we were in the annex just 50 yds from main hotel but this is an hotel in itself no problem with ski storage, buses to and from the gondola very frequent. free bar from 6pm until 9pm staff couldn't wait to refill your glasses, local weissbeer and wine very good, all in all an excellent hotel would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas_HWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed at the Alpin over new year for a ski holiday with two young children. Staff were friendly and helpful. Easy to get to the bottom of the ski lift either by the free ski bus or you can ski down to it on a very easy flat run that is fine for kids. Scheffau is small and is a good quiet resort for families. Not the place to stay if you are looking for a lot of adult après ski activity. The food at the hotel was good and plentiful. The pizzeria is good and the evening buffet restaurant is also good with a reasonable number of choices and a different selection each night. The ski hire shop is good, the staff are very helpful and it is practically in the basement which makes it very convenient. There is a large ski and boot cellar with heated boot racks which again makes it very easy to get going in the morning. Free afternoon tea and snacks is a nice touch and all in all you will not go hungry! Unfortunately even on the second floor a fair amount of noise comes up from the bar which can disturb the children's sleep and the superior rooms are large enough but not huge. Fine for a week ski-ing. Would be happy to go back again.

Room Tip: The sound insulation in the main hotel does not seem to be very good and even two floors up there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTravelledAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

All staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and had a balcony as do most. We were in the annex just 100yds from the main hotel. Breakfast and dinner was served here so no need to trudge through the snow for meals. Both are buffet style and the food is varied and delicious. It's a good job we had some daily excercise or we would really have piled on the pounds.
Boots and skis were hired from the ski shop directly below the hotel. Then just along a corridor into the cellar where we stored them each night. The entrance door from the outside has a pass code so equipment is secure, though I don't hink that theft is a problem because Scheffau is a small quiet village.
From 4pm when people start coming in from the mountain, food is available free in the main building tea, coffee, snack food like soup, pasta etc and delicious fresh cakes, before this you could use the pizzeria, attached to the main bar at extra cost. This point we then tried the swimming pool and sauna, but be aware that the locals do it naked, something we found a bit disturbing, especially with kids around.
We checked the skiing conditions each day with the in room TV which showed the webcam on the mountain. There are 2 ways to get there from the Alpin - 1. Catch the regular ski bus at the stop across the road from the alpin. This 5 minute ride takes you to the 8 man gondola. 2. Walk 200yds down from the hotel and a gentle ski run takes you very closeby at the older, 4 man gondola with less queuing but sometimes closed in bad weather. Both take you up to Brandstadt about 20 minutes ride. From here there is a great choice in every direction all well marked with plenty of huts for refreshments.
Coming down the mountain at the end of the day was a bit of a crush for us but on 3 occasions we skied all the way down on blue and red runs. This takes about 35 minutes, then after some apres-ski at the bottom we squeezed back onto the ski bus.
From 6pm-9pm red or white wine, beer and soft drinks before or during dinner are free. In the annex there is only a small area to sit before or after dinner, waiter service. The bar is in the main building and out of these times drinks are a bit pricey.
There are just a couple of items we missed, 1 - no in room safe, 2 - no in room tea/coffee making facilities.
However, the food and friendly staff etc more than made up for this, along with the proximity to the excellent skiing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamMike14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
7.0 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 14 in Ellmau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Leitenhof
Chalet Hotel Leitenhof
#1 of 2 in Scheffau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.7 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpin

Property: Hotel Alpin
Address: Dorf 31, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpin 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alpin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpin Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing