We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than reviews”
Review of Pension Aloisia

Pension Aloisia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aloisia
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than reviews”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Made very welcome, very helpful very very clean, reasonable priced drinks, could do with more understanding children's menu for Brits , met several couple returning for their 4th visit I can understand why

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fruitnnut1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

14 - 21 January @ Pension Aloisia. The location is excellent - a few minutes walk from the main gondola (the pension has a ski room but kit can also be left in the lockers by the gondola).
We had a room on the front (with an adjoining balcony with friends we went with) and
our view was of one of the pistes which was great.
Comfortable beds, lovely hot power showers for hydro therapy after a days skiing and a bar open from 5pm.
Breakfast from 8am was a buffet with a choice of cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, fresh breads, eggs and various spreads. Plenty of everything.
Evening dinner was very good with a choice from two main courses, the starter and dessert being the same. On some evenings there was also a salad bar to help yourself from. The tyrolean specialities were good wholesome ski fuel.
We had a great week, the owner was helpful when we asked about the village and she got to know our drinks order quite quickly! We're going to ski again this season and will definitely consider returning.
One tip perhaps would be to take a travel kettle as there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms - aside from that - a fantastic find.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view of the pistes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank monkeyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our party of six have just returned from one weeks skiing in Scheffau. We had 3 double rooms with balconies. Each of these rooms was clean and very comfortable. We were well looked after by Aloisia and her staff. I am a Vegan and although she was a bit phased by this when we arrived I was very well looked after all week. The breakfasts were buffet style so everyone found enough choice to suit them. We were able to buy drinks to accompany our evening meal at a very reasonable price. The position of the Hotel means that you have to cross a busy road to get to the lift system but there is an underpass quite close if you are worried about this. We left our skis in the Ski shop at the Gondola station and this meant we had no difficulty walking the short distance to and from the accommodation each day.
Our advice would be to ask for rooms which are at the back of the hotel as there is some road noise from early in the morning . All in all this accommodation is everything you would expect, and more, from a Pension.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fii59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just returned from a lovely week in Scheffau. Chose Pension Alloisia because of good reviews, Ignored the bad ones, some people love a moan. Everything as expected, clean comfortable bedrooms, small friendly restaurant and excellent food. Loved the breakfasts with the juice, cereals, boiled eggs, different choice of crusty rolls, cheeses and ham etc each morning. 6.30pm dinner each night meant you had time to walk it off before bed. No lounge bar but everyone stayed in restaurant chatting or sat outside.
Free bus service between Ellmau, Scheffau and Soll very useful. Nice walks beside river to both places and free taxi service to Lake up the mountain was a good day out with nice walk around lake. Bought a 2 day Cable car tkt for 26 euros each which covered 6 different lifts and were all linked by good paths at the top. Gave up trying to do everything, we will just have to return again. So wished we could have stayed another week.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear were quieter but guests on the front had the sun on their balcony all day and no-o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Our family group of 5 adults and 2 children were accomodated in three rooms with adjoining balconies. The rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean and althoughteh bathrooms are a little bit dated the showers were brilliant with loads of hot water.
Food throughout the week was excellent and drinks reasonably priced; breakfast was plentiful and evening meal had two choices; the dining room was pleasant and we ended up chatiing with most other residents.
The gondola is just across the busy road (there is an underpass but tricky with skis and boots) and along about 300metres. The walk is a bit of a pain but our kids made it without complaint. Gondola station is great - no queues, even at peak times. Ski school was good.
In the evenings we walked up into the village a couple of nights (the quiz is expensive!) take the short cut out the back and it's about 800m uphill.
Frau Aloisia is "sehr correkt" - she does have a sense of humour and was very helpful throughout... we liked Pension Aloisia a lot...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Banksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

If you’re a no frills kind of person and simply want reasonable food and clean rooms then this accommodation may suit you fine. However, if you expect a little more from a holiday and a relaxing, friendly place to stay with a good atmosphere then I would suggest that you avoid this place. The owner although hard working has a very frosty manner making it feel like a school boarding house. The food is ok but it’s not particularly inspiring but the worst thing is having nowhere to sit and relax or socialise other than the eating area which totally lacks ambiance making it feel uncomfortable to do anything but eat in it. This means you only have your room to go to after eating. For me it lacked any niceties and was merely functional and I expect more after a hard day on the slopes!
The resort is ok and has a fairly good selection of runs but it’s low so go peak season so there’s snow. Don’t expect any nightlife as it’s really lacking on this front. It’s really a quiet place for families and or people after a quiet, no frills holiday. I wouldn’t go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkTams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We arrived late and were served dinner without any quibble. The owner of the hotel was very friendly, and was more than happy to show us the best of Austria. We were even invited to watch a World Cup skiing race with her on HD on a big TV (instead of normal TV in our room). The food was delicious. Wine and beers were excellent. The owner also gave us occasional shots of her homemade schnapps!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supershape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#3 of 15 in Ellmau
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gasthof Blaiken
Gasthof Blaiken
#2 of 2 in Scheffau
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Aloisia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aloisia

Property: Pension Aloisia
Address: Am Trattenbach 3, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Aloisia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Aloisia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aloisia Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Pension Aloisia Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing