We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Waldrand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waldrand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I and our two 14 year old children stayed here during February 2013 for a weeks skiing. The hotel is basic but just exactly what is required.
The food is very good, with a great continental selection at breakfast. For your evening meal you get to select from a buffet salad first, then you get brought a bowl of the 'soup of the day', followed by the main course of your choice and then desert of your choice. You get a choice of two main courses, usually one meat based and one vegetarian based, often with an Austrian/German theme. My wife and I had no problems with the mains and thought they were all excellent, but our two children did struggle a little on a few days with the lack of selection, which meant a trip to the local spa shop later for munchies. One tip for the evening meal is be certain exactly what drinks are included with the meal as part of your half-board. On the first nights evening meal we were asked what we wanted to drink and when we asked what was available was given a run through, and we usually had just one drink each which was a soft drink or beer. It turned out that the only drinks included with the evening meal was tea/coffee, which I found out when having to pay 90 euros on checking out. I have no problem with the hotel over this, its simply our own fault as I should have checked (although it might be an idea for this information to be included in some form of arrival/check-in information).
A few other points:
- The rooms are very basic but more than sufficient. The only problem really was the lack of hanging space, so doors, chairs, handles, you name it ended up having things hanging off them. Some reviews have said the beds were hard, but we had no problem with them (probably becasue we were knackered!)
- The shower is very good, with a great supply of high pressure hot water
- The hotel has wi-fi but to be honest it isn't brilliant and only really has a good signal downstairs in the dining room/bar.
- The local shops/restaurants open strange hours and often not at all at the times you might usually expect.
- The top end of the village where this hotel is located is pretty well dead at night, with no real night life or atmosphere, which wasn't a problem for us as all we wanted was an early night, but it might be for others.
- The local ski shop was excellent and had no problem making exchanges when kit was found not to be quite right.
- The skiwelt area served by this location (and by the other local villages - Soll etc) is just simply excellent, breathtaking views, fantastic runs, miles upon miles of interlinked hills, etc.
Overall we had a fantastic skiing holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Any questions just ask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rich0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not much to add to the other comments which are very accurate about the hotel. The owners were very hospitable,food was excellent, and the hotel was very clean Would return to the hotel, but the resort was too quiet at that time of the year. The pubs in the resort were mostly empty, and if you didn't ski there would not be a lot to keep you occupied in resort. Perfect resort for families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulouski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

For the money we paid this hotel was simply the best skiin hotel I've stayed in. The food was fantastic, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. We all had a balchony overlooking the mountains, a great place for an apres ski beer. We were a group of 8 and the owners put us all on one floor that had a sofa area in the hallway, which made this feel more like a chalet stay for us than a hotel.
Dont be put off by the fact you have to get a bus to the gondola, its a very short walk to the bus stop, the bus ride is no more than a couple of minutes down the hill and they are very frequent.
The town itself is a quiet one, with just a few bars, but that suited us and I would think would suit families too.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, ask if you can have rooms together. This makes it seem more like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

After a late flight we arrived at The Waldrand to find a lovely meal waiting for us. The rooms are spacious. Clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean and the shower was hot every night. It's in a quiet location but that suited us. No late night or early morning noise. Situated a short walk from the ski bus stop. The buses run regularly. We used the lockers at the gondola so that we didn't have to bring equipment back each night.
The food was home cooked and fresh. Each evening there was a choice of two main courses, one being a vegetarian option. Salad bar was very good. Huge varies choice. The soup was also excellent and dessert never disappointed. The bar in the hotel is cosy and very reasonably priced.
Breakfast consisted of cereals, bread rolls, toast with conserves and the usual cheese and ham. All fresh and delicious. Fruit was also available. Tea, coffee and fruit juice, as much as you could drink. The hosts George and Ingrid , are friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. We were even able to access George's wifi which was an unexpected bonus.
Very pretty village but not much to do in the evening so wouldn't suit party animals.
Great access to the Skiwelt from the top of the gondola. We didn't experience any queues and the ski circuit was well maintained. Lift system very efficient. Plenty runs for the beginner or intermediate though little for the skier who likes a challenge.
Would definitely return to The Waldrand. It has everything we needed and great value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie8159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have just had a glorious week in scheffau .We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and were soon feeling very much at home.The rooms are comfortable, very clean ,and all have private shower/wc. There are rooms available for singles and families as well as the traditional doubles/twins. The single room I stayed in was a nice size , not the normal broomcupboard that singles are normally shoe horned into, the family rooms are also a very good size with a sitting area. The food was delicious and wholesome.There was a salad and vegetarian choice in the evening for those who like their greens.
The skiing was fab too!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Sheffau staying at the Waldrand. It was one of the best places we have stayed at on a skiing holiday. George and Ingrid are wonderful welcoming hosts and the food was great. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was spacious, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned after a great week at the Waldrandwith my 16 year old son who was on his first ski holiday.

There is not a lot to add to the effusive comments by other travellers, but it's true. This is a basic, but splendid place. Quiet, warm, hot water, food; simple but really tasty and if you look balefully at Jorg, he'll probably give you another plateful. Breakfast is a help yourself to the usual continental fare, but the rolls and bread are fresh and you can drink as much fruit juice coffee or tea that you can handle.

There is a handy ski hut about 20 yards from the door in which you can store your gear, and from there a 3 minute walk to the free skibus, or to the blue run that will transport you to the gondola in about 5 mins.

This is a resort for families. Do not stay here if you want night life. But if you are with the wife and kids (or as in my case, a single with teenager) then you will get to know like minded guests and no doubt enjoy a social ski together along with the Crystal reps, who were very good indeed during my stay and know there way around the Ski Welt.

It's relatively cheap to eat and drink in the resort and in the mountain restaurants, of which there are many. Beer is about 3-4 Euro's for 500ml. You can eat lunch for around 7-10 euros and the portions are large. A bowl of chips is about 3.5 euro. Spag bol about 7 euro. Its best to get sat down by 11:45, or after 14:00.

The hire gear is sourced from the Alpin. From personal experience, the standard of boots and skis is good and the service efficient and courteous. The Ski area is fantastic for the recreational skier, and my son who had never skied before was off down the red runs by the end of the week, courtesy of some excellent tuition by the skischule.

Absolutely great place to go unless you are an extreme skier or a party animal.
I hope to go again next year, and the Waldrand is probably the best value to be had in the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#4 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Aloisia
Pension Aloisia
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart-Pension Barnstatt
Apart-Pension Barnstatt
#4 of 7 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldrand

Property: Waldrand
Address: Scheffau 114, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Waldrand Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing