We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Waldrand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waldrand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

First time stayer at the Waldrand. The hotel was well located within the town of scheffau.
Less than 5 mins walk from the ski bus, geared up, and less than 6 mins walk from the scheffau ski run that takes you to the gondola.
Excellent friendly service and attention to detail from George and Ingrid and the hired help.
Breakfast and dinner ideal for skiers and boarders, fuel is important!
Beds were comfy and hotel was very quiet. Room was very clean and kept very clean by the maid all week. Shower warm and powerful.
Sauna, shower, boot room and wifi all spot on.
Not one criticism of this perfect stay.
Thanks George and Ingrid :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glos.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for last week and it was excellent. The owners (George and Ingrid) are very relaxed and make you feel welcome. We stayed in a family room that was comfortable and clean. Alas, the dog mentioned in other reviews has passed away, which is sad because he looked brilliant in the photos on the wall. The hotel has a heated boot room, which makes for a cosy start to the day's skiing.

Good filling food: buffet breakfast with the usual suspects; dinner comprised buffet salad, soup, main course (choice of two) and desert.

Bus pick up point is a four minute walk away from the hotel in ski boots. At peak times, we never had to wait any longer than five minutes for a bus, which only took a few minutes to get to the gondolas. We didn't experience any queues for the gondolas while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartInGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Waldrand is a great place to stay for your skiing holiday. The bus stop is 2 or 3 minutes easy walk away. George and Ingrid make you very welcome they are so friendly and always on hand if you need any help. I have to say that George is a great chef! Every night we had a delicious meal. A fresh salad bar, followed by home-made soup, then a meat or vegetarian dish. By the way he does a fantastic mixed grill! The puddings are yummy if you can fit it all in by this time.
The rooms are immaculately clean, very comfortable beds and lots of hot water. What more could you want after a day on the slopes. I would recommend hiring your skiis from the ski shop near the Hotel Alpin, it is underneath the hotel. Excellent customer service from Ashley and the team at a very good price. Plenty of skiing for all abilities and not too crowded. The pizza place next to the Alpin is a good place to go if you want a drink or a delicious pizza. Reasonable price too. The Village pub is also just round the corner, drinks also reasonable, free wifi and crisps. The chap behind the bar is very friendly. I would go back to Scheffau and stay at the waldrand because I know that I would be getting very good value for money on and off the slopes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from a weeks ski trip staying at the Waldrand. I have to say how great it was, the hotel is perfect and the location in terms of the ski bus etc could not be better. Ingrid and George are really welcoming and extremely helpful. I rate this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBaker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a weeks ski trip staying at the Waldrand. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Ingrid and George are friendly,hospitable and speak excellent English. We shared some local schnapps with them, they opened the bar for us whenever we retuned from the slopes, and they served us top quality food. A two minute walk takes you to a blue run, then a two minute ski and you are down by the gondola ski lifts. lovely village, lots of slopes for all abilities, absolute beginner to expert. In my opinion one of the best ski areas in this part of Europe,and ive been to a few.

Room Tip: Rooms are not basic but not huge luxury suites either. this is fairly reflected in price- they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our first time in Scheffau. . the hotel is basic and the price reflects this, compact shower room etc but the hospitality and food provided by Ingrid and George make it all very enjoyable. . the location is good...a short stroll to the bus stop that takes you to the ski area. There is a couple of bars in walking distance, the hotel is not one for hanging around the lounge/ bar after dinner to chat to other residents. All in all I would recommend staying here, I would probably return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingpenguin8156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at this friendly hotel. Situated in a beautiful, tranquil location by the forest & overlooking the mountains. Our room was comfy and clean, with a large inviting bed & lovely warm bathroom. Tasty, homely food. Selection of rolls, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal & yoghurt at breakfast and a fresh salad bar, soup, a filling main & pudding each evening.

Hotel was handy for catching the ski bus & as you can hire boots / skis etc from the store situated right next to the gondola (& store them there overnight) there was no lugging equipment backward & forward in cumbersome boots, which was very much appreciated by our tired legs.

The owners, George & Ingrid, together with Carlo the St Bernard, made us all feel very welcome and we would love to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBRs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaiserhof
Kaiserhof
#2 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Aloisia
Pension Aloisia
#4 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldrand

Property: Waldrand
Address: Scheffau 114, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Waldrand Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing