We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”
Review of Waldrand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waldrand
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have just returned from Scheffau (March 3rd 2012) where we stayed at the Waldrand. This hotel is run by a delightful couple. Our room was clean, comfotable and warm. The meals were excellent value for money and the food always fresh. The hotel is situated at the top of the village so whilst you are first on the ski bus it can be a hassle to carry you ski equipment to and from the slopes. We hired our equipment from a shop next to the gondala station where ski/boot storage was free. If the snow is good here next year we will be returning. We certainly won't go back to France.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just got back from a great week in Scheffau. The owners of the Waldrand are very friendly, and run a tight ship - we were well looked after with great food and a very sociable atmosphere. Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcdeBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

just come back from a week in scheffau and stayed at the waldrand,this hotel is very clean the showers are great and ho,t the rooms are very warm, the food was excellent the manager and his wife are very polite and a great help ,i would defenatly go back to this hotel ..the greaves family

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was our first stay at the Waldrand and it was excellent. The owners, George & Ingrid, are very relaxed and helpful. Carlo, the now aging St Bernard, who spends most of his time lounging on the large rug in the hallway, adds a homely and relaxing feel to the hotel.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bath room/shower facilities were equally good.

We were half-board and the food was very good indeed. Being vegetarian wasn't an issue at all.

Although the Waldrand is a little way from the ski slopes the ski bus runs every 10-15 minutes so, we never had to wait more than a few minutes. If there's plenty of snow, you can actually ski from the main street to the slopes.

Would we come back to the Waldrand? Without hesitation - thank you for a lovely week.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlandLinda001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

First visit Jan 2010 & again Jan 2012. We were not disappointed on either occassion. Good hosts, excellent food, very warm comfortable room with spectacular views. Nothing is to much trouble for George & Ingrid. The sauna was appreciated after a day on the slopes. Each time have garaged equipment at gondola - worth every penny. Ski area fantastic. Look forward to returning next year. jane & Barry

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janebarrywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely week at The Waldrand hotel, although it is as advertised locally a 3 star Pension.
Warm good sized rooms, all with balcony. lack of hanging space ie hooks!but nice separate loo and shower. It is basic, so you may need to take a a travel kettle/cups -they only supply each room with two plastic cups.
We were in Austria for the skiing which didnt disappoint and the Waldrand is close to a nice little blue run down to one of Scheffau's 2 gondolas. There is a ski hire shop in the village and a SPA supermarket, not open on Sundays, otherwise the village is very quiet. There is a pub in the village but we found it a bit smoky.
Meals at the Waldrand are very nice, good buffet breakfast. Evening meal choice includes a veggie dish and this is ordered at the breakfast table. All meals are freshly cooked each day by very pleasant owners George & Ingrid. Bar is reasonably priced too.
A nice no frills clean small hotel with mostly English guests.
Word of caution, use the ski garage at the gondola station and get ski hire insurance at 7 euros. One guest had their skis taken from the shed in the garden.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 106 austrian twin with bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TookyLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Waldrand was an authentic Austrian hotel run by George and Ingrid, with a bit of help from Carlo the St Bernard. George and Ingrid were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. They made it feel a home from home. The rooms were cleaned daily and were perfectly big enough for two. The food was good, there was a choice of meat or veggie every night and given past experience of veggie food abroad, I was very impressed with the standard. George bought in all food fresh each day and prepared it himself. Breakfast was continental as you would expect, and there was plenty to choose from. The hotel itself was some distance from the gondola but there was a ski bus or you could walk to a very shallow blue run that went to the gondola (dependant on snow conditions). Expect to walk approx 200 metres to the bus stop or the blue run. On the other side of the hotel was a lovely woodland walk down to a river which you could do by 'torch' light organised by the Tourist Information (or by rep). Scheffau is a small pretty village. Its very quiet and there is only a few shops and bars and a bank. The ski area was vast and suitable for all levels, although the piste maps and sign posts sometimes seemed to contradict each other! Overall a very good value holiday. Many thanks to George, Ingrid and Carlo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snowpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
Hotel Kaiser in Tirol
#1 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Weberbauer
Gasthof Weberbauer
#5 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Haus Romeo
Haus Romeo
#2 of 7 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Aloisia
Pension Aloisia
#4 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof zum Wilden Kaiser
Gasthof zum Wilden Kaiser
#1 of 7 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldrand

Address: Scheffau 114, Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser 6351, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Waldrand Hotel Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser
Waldrand Austria/Scheffau Am Wilden Kaiser, Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing