We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located for access to ski slopes, shops, restaurants and cafés.”
Review of Gasthof Mauth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Mauth
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here as we stayed here last year and were impressed with the hotel. We were staying on a half board basis so our stay included bed, breakfast and evening meal. The hotel is ideally located for access to the slopes, shops and cafés. Our room was nice and clean albeit a little outdated and not as nice as our room from last year. Martina and Freddie along with their staff made our stay enjoyable. The food we were served was excellent and it makes a nice change to go somewhere and not be served English food. The breakfast selection was all cold with a good selection for all and tea and coffee made fresh. Evening meal was three course with delicious homemade soup to start and a choice of one of three main meals and then homemade dessert. I would still continue to recommend this hotel to anyone and would return here if I go back to the Tirol region of Austria.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Staying in the Mauth is all about the location. Sleepy Kirchdorf is a fantastic location if you like to ski in different places each day. Waidring, St Johann, Fiebebrunne, Kitzbuhl and the Skivelt are all a very short drive away and even Kirchdorf has a great starter slope.
The Mauth is right in the centre of the village and next to the pub (which is fantstic value).
The rooms are very small and basic but great for the price. Since the closure of the local pizzeria, the choice of eateries in Kirchdorf is very limited and the Mauth are trying to cope with the demands from the whole village. By accomdating, it's stretching their capabilities and service tends to suffer. They do their best. The food is typical Austrian food and enjoyable.
The Mauth benefits from some covered parking meaning no need to scape off all the ice and snow each morning. Plus a warm boot/ski room for your gear. If all you need a is a warm and clean place to stay, Consider the Mauth and Kirchdorf.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel did nothing for me, myself and partner have skied Austria 6 times and the hotel was the worst of all. The food is awful i really don't know how people can say it is ok, the room was terrible and yes we did see other guests rooms which were spacious and newer to what we got, it was like a cell and we paid the same as others paid to what we got, it did ruin our experience and we felt cheated as the pictures and photos never show the horrible rooms which your bed is nearly in the bathroom. I would not recommend it for that reason. I am not picky with food but they really could of did a lot better with the dinner, we know breakfast is the same in all the hotels which are breads, eggs cheeses meats, cereal, juice coffee, so we don't mind that but dinner no, the last three nights we went to eat out. The location is ok and it is quite at night so thats good. The wife owner needs to smile and be a bit more pleasant.

Room Tip: make sure you don't get an old room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachboydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I've just come back from a week skiing in St Johann where I stayed a this hotel. It is superbly located in the main square. Extremely clean-fab spacious rooms. Friendly, helpful & charming staff who made our stay as enjoyable as possible. I can't say enough about this hotel. 5 mins walk across the train track to the ski slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked this last minute and was told the hotel was 2* or 3* depending which brochure I looked at but was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was.
The staff and the Brunner family were very welcoming, Alfred in particular was so entertaining.

I had a single room which was reasonably sized with a big bathroom. It was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. I saw some of the other rooms and they were quite large.

The beauty of the single room is there was no single supplement. Another money saving feature was a card issued to guests to use the local swimming pool for free. Worth a visit for the hot outdoor jacuzzi alone.

Food was excellent, three courses with a choice of one of three dishes daily. Breakfast was buffet style and eat as much as you wish.

They had a lovely docile St. Bernard dog but he did tend to lie in inappropriate places and he wasn't going to move. Just step over him.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and we found the hotel was beyond our expectations given the price we said. Martina and her staff made us feel welcome. Our room was light, clean and warm with maid service everyday. We got a choice of evening meals everyday all of which were cooked fresh. We will definitely return here when we go to Austria.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinva4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just back from a lovely sunny week in St Johann. It was our first visit to gasthof mauth having always stayed at the Park on our other visits. We weren't expecting much as the late deal price was so cheap! However the Mauth is absolutely fine, the food ample, freshly cooked and as a vegetarian I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was large, basic and clean, we only had a shower and would have preferred a bath.
We visited kitzbuhl, waidring and ellmau using the summer card which saved us a considerable amount on the full price cable car and bus fares. The parks at the top at waidring & ellmau are great for kids of all ages!
The hotel also has passes for the local swimming pool, fabulous facilities both inside and outside pools.
We would also recommend the bar at the top of the brewery in St Johann, lovely views and the cheapest beer in town. Only down side is that it closes at 10.00pm! We love St Johann!!!

Room Tip: The quietest rooms would be at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windy.z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Theresia Garni
Hotel Theresia Garni
#1 of 29 in St Johann in Tirol
41 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#15 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Mauth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Mauth

Address: Hauptplatz 7, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: $95 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Mauth 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Mauth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Mauth Hotel St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing