We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met but did not exceed our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gasthof Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gasthof Park
Certificate of Excellence
StAlbans.UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Met but did not exceed our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Park for 5 nights as members of a group tour. We were pleased that the hotel had arranged to transfer our luggage from the station. The hotel is a 10minute walk from the village centre and also to the railway station from where local excursions can be taken. Our room was large and beds were comfortable. The bathroom looked recently fitted. A safe is provided in the room with refundable deposit for the key.
Our tour operator had indicated tea/coffee making facilities would be available in the room, but this was a mistake. However, the hotel provided evening tea and cakes in the bar each day.
We were on half-board and found the breakfast buffet had a fair choice of cold items and also eggs and bacon/sausage. Some of the local bread is fantastic. Dinner was taken outside when weather permitted and usually a combination of buffet salad and served courses. The food was generally good and a choice of 3 main courses. The Hotel also provided us basic made-up packed lunches during our stay.
In general we had a acceptable stay at Hotel Park, spoilt only by some unnecessary sharp remarks made by one or two of the restaurant staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    58
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
75
116
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Although we've stayed in St Johann several times over the years it was great to stay at the Gasthof Park again after having stayed there many years ago when our children were small, we were delighted with the special offer we got - the high standards were great - just as we remembered, and, as others have rightly said, the location of the hotel is fantastic, particularly if walking or cycling to Kitzbuhl (we did both) - the hiking and walking is superb and accessible to the well or less seasoned walkers, as well as those with certain physical disabilities as there are lots of flat valley walks and strolls to do, as well as much more challenging ones. At the moment the hotel represents really unbeatable value, they are even including free dinner drinks, afternoon tea and packed lunches. The staff here are second to none and are a hugely valuable asset of the hotel, and undoubtedly contribute towards the hotel's high client rankings, they really are always helpful and approachable - as well as good humoured, they work very hard and I hope the little piggy banks discreetly placed in the reception area, for guests to use to show their appreciation - soon provide each of them with a little treat that they obviously deserve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went to St Johann for a week's stay having booked the holiday with Thomson. We had been to Austria several times before but only went through St Johann dropping people off on our way to Mayrhofen and so decided to go there when the opportunity came. We had no idea what Hotel Park would be like either. We were there between the 6th and 13th July this year.

When we arrived at Hotel Park, the checking in was very smooth and we were given the key to our room straight away. The first impression was excellent as the staff were very warm and friendly. We were very surprised at how large our room was (we were given a corner room) and we had excellent view of the mountain from our balcony. The room itself was very clean and well presented. It had a separate toilet and there was space for a coffee table and two easy chairs at the corner of the room. Throughout our stay, our room was cleaned and bed and bath linen changed every day! There was no noise from the traffic on the main road as it was not a busy road. It also looked onto the garden where we had our evening meals & BBQ.

The hotel itself was typically Austrian. The staff were excellent as I mentioned before and the waiters and waitress were extremely pleasant and nothing was too much for them. After the first day, they knew what we wanted for our drink (water) with our meals. Drinks such as wine and juices were free with the meals. There were free coffee and tea each afternoon between 2 and 5 pm. Free packed lunches were available on requests. The standard of the food was very good and throughout our week, every meal was excellent. There were bacon and scrambled egg and continental breakfast. The range was very good. We were given the menu for the evening meal each day during breakfast time and we made our requests then. There were three choices for the main course and two choices of starters excluding the soup. We had BBQ one evening and meat was plentiful with a wide range of salads etc. The hotel took the trouble of organising 'Breakfast on the Mountain' one morning. Bacon and scrambled eggs were cooked in front of us and the view was excellent. It made a lovely change eating out in the open with the most gorgeous view!! One afternoon the hotel arranged free taxi transfer to a lodge outside the town. We were entertained to music by an old gentleman on his stringed instrument. A lovely way to spend a quiet relaxing afternoon with a glass of drink in our hands.
The location of the hotel was ideal as it is just a short distance from the cable car station, bus station and railway station. The town square and the main Catholic Church is just about 10 mins walk away. It is an ideal distance for a gentle stroll after a hearty meal each evening.

The friendliness of the staff and the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel make it an ideal place to stay for a chill out holiday. We will certainly recommend it to others and will most certainly come back to this hotel should we come back to St Johann again.

Room Tip: As we did not look at the other rooms we cannot comment on that. We did not hear any bad comment fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoolSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent a week at the hotel in July .What a lovely and friendly hotel.We had two adjoining rooms as we are a family of four.Rooms were spacious and very clean with modern shower rooms which were perfect for us.Rooms were cleaned daily.Loved the quaint old fashioned feel of the hotel,while place was spotless throughout.Very friendly and helpful staff,very eager to help.Great location too as just minutes away from gondola station and the bottom of the kitzsbuhl horn and just a short walk to the towns square and the fabulous town swimming pool.Probably the best thing about the hotel was the food,it was great.We very much enjoyed every meal and didn't feel the need to eat out at all. Kids loved the food too and staff were very accommodating to their needs. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road as gather traffic could be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this wonderful hotel. Throughout our stay we were treated so well. A definite if you wish to stay in the Austrian Tirol.

Our room (215) was very large, excellent bathroom with shower (no bath, which was fine for us). It was immaculately clean.

Food - excellent and plenty of it! We were able to eat most of our evening meals in the large garden. With the evening meal we had free wine, beer or soft drinks.

No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but every afternoon free tea/coffee was available in the lounge.

We had a free packed lunch every day!

Every day the hotel gave us a programme of the day, we all had a programme of the week for St Johann. During the summer months every Wednesday there is a music evening in the square and what a lovely surprise it was. The main square was packed with holiday makers and locals who enjoyed a 2 hour fun concert and in the small roads around street entertainers performed. The authorities had closed off the main town.

Even though the hotel did not have a swimming pool we were able to swim free in an indoor and outdoor pool in the village.

Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Hotel Gasthof Park and St Johann in Tirol.

Room Tip: Room 215 looked on to the garden and was ideal for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were 20 people from the Jerseys Walking group, we all enjoy the friendliness of all the staff, the food was very good, we had free Wine, Beer or soft drinks with our meal, the Hotel was kept very clean, everybody was very helpful especially Seppi (the Owner) with arranging different outings, Guide, etc, he just could not arrange the weather!! there was free afternoon Coffee or tea, a lovely garden to sit out and relax. In all we had a wonderful time. Thank you very much again Seppi and all the staff.

Room Tip: all Rooms were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine310846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed June 2013
The staff are fab nothing to much trouble and serve you with a smile along with a bit of banter which makes me fell at home.Free drinks with evening meals is a nice touch and of good quality.The food is very good both breakfast and evening meal with plenty of choice plus packed lunch ask if you want one at breakfast.Tea and coffee served from 2pm to 5pm nice and refreshing after a long walk.The rooms are of a good size and spotlessly clean not the most up to date but nothing wrong with them at all.As for steam room Etc can not say as that's not my thing.The location of hotel is good close to Centre and ski lift only one open in summer but plenty more in area just a short bus or train ride away.We bought the Kitz Aplen summer card for the lifts around Kitzbuhel and buses be aware this card is not valid in St Johann for some reason.You can buy a summer pass for St Johann lift but we found the kitz Aplen better value valid on some 29 lifts but please check before buying as I may be wrong.In all me and my wife had great time met some lovely people.Take trip to the To brewery which has a bar on the top floor highest building in resort the views are great and so is the beer have a go at all the different ones on offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johndoidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Austria
Sporthotel Austria
#5 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Noichl's Hotel Garni
Noichl's Hotel Garni
#6 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Sonnleiten
Apartotel Sonnleiten
#4 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#8 of 19 in St Johann in Tirol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Park

Property: Hotel Gasthof Park
Address: Speckbacherstrasse 45, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#2 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gasthof Park 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing