We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Birthday party family skiing trip”
Review of Sporthotel Austria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sporthotel Austria
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“40th Birthday party family skiing trip”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having been recommended this hotel we were very pleased once we had arrived to find a comfortable and excellent facility Hotel it was also in a great location.
The food was very good and we could not fault the buffet breakfast and friendly waiter/waitress service. (Christine on reception and the wine waiter were excellent). The pool was an added excellent bonus which the children thoughly enjoyed.
There were, however, two major disappointments one being the lack of a decent shower and no shower facility in one of the family rooms! The other disappoinment being an outburst by the owner of the Hotel shouting at the top of his voice to the children for being too nosy! As you can imagine we were quite astounded at the nature of this outburst considering this is a family friendly hotel with a playroom! The children were also extremely well behaved in the dining room.
As parents we apologised for the children's behaviour (who were quite upset) and we received a very rude comment in return in which we were told it was not a kindergarten! This did leave us with a bad taste in our mouths after all we were paying guests and means we will not be going back!

Room Tip: There is a family with a separate room which may be worth having depending on a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    21
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed on numerous occasions at the Sporthotel Austria for our skiing holiday & this year we decided to go for Christmas. We were a bit apprehensive as we had previously never been abroad for the festive season. Christmas at the Sporthotel with Gunther & his wonderful staff turned out to be a great success & one which I would repeat & recommend. The hotel is very comfortable & stylish. The dining room & food is a wonderful experience every evening. The service is outstanding. All the staff were, as usual, helpful, friendly & courteous. It is like coming home! The weather & ski conditions were another plus. I highly recommend this hotel for a positive skiing experience in every respect. Gunther & all his staff continue to give an exceptional standard of service. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheerana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second time to stay at the SportHotel Austria, and our fourth time in St Johann for a skiing holiday.
St Johann is a great area for skiing, good for beginners and intermediate skiers like us. You can store you skiis and boots in the cellar at the Sport Hotel, and if there is enough snow it is possible to ski from the main slopes down to the hotel.
The accomodation is fine, and the food is fantastic. The SportHotel has a gala evening every week, and offers a very fine 7-course meal on those nights (Christmas Eve and New Years Eve for us).
A big plus after a tiring days skiing is the swimming pool, sauna and steam room where you can rest and get cleaned up before the great evening meal.
Gunther Gatt is the owner and makes a point of talking with all his guests. Murat the wine waiter is also very nice. And Walter, a general factotoum, is extremely helpful. Christine too is a delightful lady and most friendly and polite. All other staff were all very friendly.
One fact stood out for us - there are a lot of repeat visitors here and we can see why.
All I can say is we will be back - and that
Gutes neues Jahr zu alles am Sport Hotel Austria.
Donna & James McCumiskey and family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaMcCumiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our third visit to this hotel booked through Ingham's. It is in a good quiet location approx 10 mins walk to the village centre. The staff are always very friendly especially the hotel owner (who is quite a character!) and Murat the wine waiter who has a mischievous sense of humour.

The larger rooms are generous in size and whilst wifi is advised as being in the reception areas it was available in our room - an added bonus! The food, perhaps not quite up to previous years standards, but more than adequate.

Good value overall and certainly it is the only hotel I would choose to stay in when visiting St Johann.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Korky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 3rd holiday at Sporthotel Austria. Once again, we had a wonderful time. Excellent food and excellent hosts. The owner, Gunther Gatt and all the staff are great and really interested in making your stay so enjoyable. Gunther would always ask what our plans were for the day and suggested varuous walks He advised us of excellent walks and Walter even took us on a great walk to Stripsenjoch haus/hof (on his one day off!). The hotel is spotless and the food is 5*. Each day when out walking, we looked forward to coming back to our excellent evening meal. It is hard to think of any negative aspects of the hotel. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrottersGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door of this lovely hotel we were made to feel really welcome.

The food in the hotel was very good with a choice of main course each evening of either a meat dish (Usually Pork) and a fish dish.

The room was very comfortable (albeit a bit warm - no are conditioning) with a nice sized bathroom and stunning views from the balcony (Room 305) with Kitzbuheler Horn to one side and the Wilder Kaiser to the other. The beds were very comfortable but the pillows a bit lumpy

The hotel is a gentle 10 minute stroll from the town square which is very pretty with a number of bar/cafes and nice shops.

I was very suprised at the number of eating places and shops in St Johann, I must recommend the Egger'sBar/Cafe in the square the pasta dishes are quite delicious.

The swimming pool is very nice and leads out onto a small garden with sun loungers.

Thank you to Gunther and all the staff at the Austria for making our holiday such an enjoyable one, and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a fantastic and cosy family run hotel. A group of 20+ stayed here in early February 2012. The hotel could not have more accommodating to our group. The rooms clean and warm. We were on a half board deal, the food was excellent and a great choice of food each evening. There was a gala dinner one evening which was great fun and the food was georgeous!

This hotel is in a great location for skiiers as it is a 5-7min walk to the beginner slopes and to the main lift station for the intermediate / advanced levels to get up the mountain. Thats a genuine 5-7mins walking in ski boots with all the gear!!

The pub is also within walking distance of the good pubs and the town centre.

Room Tip: From memory the rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor were revamped, whereas on the 3rd floor the rooms had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Park
Hotel Gasthof Park
#2 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Sonnleiten
Apartotel Sonnleiten
#4 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#11 of 20 in St Johann in Tirol
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Austria

Property: Sporthotel Austria
Address: Winterstellerweg 3 | St. Johann, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
#6 Family Hotel in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Austria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sporthotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Austria Hotel St Johann In Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing