We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant ski hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panoramahotel - Garni
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent a week at the Panoramahotel - Garni in February and it was an excellent base for a week of skiing for beginners. The room was comfortable and warm, clean and a good size. The location was great - right between the ski slopes and the centre of town. It was a short walk to the beginners ski school (15 mins), but we left our kit at the ski-hire there so no heavy carrying. It was 5-10 minutes walk to a range of restaurants for the evening walk. The sauna in the hotel was a real advantage for post-ski re-warming. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good and ample (though we would have like dippy eggs).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Panoramahotel - Garni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at this lovely little hotel - being a frequent traveler with work (spend nearly 150 nights away per year, mainly in large chain hotels), I found this family run hotel a great change to my usual travels. Everything was efficient, clean and friendly. Having looked around the area for accommodation under 100 Euro a night in ski season for quite a long time, I am glad we stumbled across this little gem. Don't bother with the over priced Kitzbuehel, St Johann and this hotel is much better!
It is in close walking distance from the train station (we lugged to suitcases and a snowboard bag which was hard work but manageable), the centre of town (1 min walk)and the ski gondola (4 min walk). If you are a little lazy in your ski boots, the ski bus stops right outside, runs frequently, is free and only 1 more stop until the gondola.
Each room as a balcony with nice views of the mountain. Smoking is not permitted inside the hotel which is a pleasant break from some of the smokey places you find in Austria (indoor smoking is still permitted in Austria!).
Internet is provided for free in the terminal at reception, or a 2 Euro charge for 3 days if Wifi in your room. You can't be more reasonable than that!
The mini bar provided in the room is also very reasonably priced and we enjoyed a beer and wine with a take away pizza for a quiet evening in after a hard days skiing.
On our departure, we were able to store our bags for the day and head off for another day skiing - there is also a shower available to freshen up afterwards before heading off.
The only point for improvement I would make is that the curtains are very thin - for a light sleeper like me that meant waking up at the crack of dawn every morning as it was very bright!
All in all, I am looking forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surf-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Perhaps less of a hotel, maybe more a very large, efficient, clean, tidy and comfortable B+B. If you want a reasonably priced, centrally located, well run establishment with family feel, this would be a good choice.

Location: 200 meters to main gondola for the skiers, 200 meters other way to town square. 300 meters from top class public pool with sauna ect ( which is free for residents of this hotel ). Several good restaurants within 100 m radius.

Minor niggles: there is no place in the hotel for relaxed lounging and socialising, even the bar is really the reception area. Food is only served at breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a clean, quiet, warm and friendly hotel. I found it a perfect place on a recent ski trip. I couldn't fault it.

We has room 102 on the first floor, right at the front of the hotel. However, despite facing the main street, we were never awoken with noise. There is a lift system but, for some reason it stops at half floors. As we were on the first floor we didn't use it at all.

The bedroom was large enough to be comfortable. It had a couch and table in addition to the extremely comfortable bed. It was spotlessly clean, and cleaned every day. The bathroom was good and the shower always hot. Storage was by way of a wardrobe in the entrance hall and bedside lockers, which together proved more than adequate. Hidden in the wardrobe are a safe (free) and a small fridge.

Breakfast was the usual continental fare. I found it to be good, and it filled me until lunchtime. The hot option was scrambled egg. Tea and coffee, juice, rolls, cold meats, cereal, and fruit were all in ample supply.

There was a sauna which we didn't use. Others we spoke to were happy with it.

The public areas were always clean. There is internet in the hotel. I didn't use it so I am not sure if there is a charge. There is ample off street, barrier controlled, parking at the side of the hotel.

The hotel is in an ideal location. It is right on the main street in the middle of shops and restaurants and 6 minutes walk to the ski slopes.

There is ski storage in the hotel. However, we opted for the storage at Noichl Ski Depot, right at the foot of the slopes. €15 for the week for boots (heated) and skis.

All in all, a lovely hotel in a lovely ski resort which maintains high standards and does so with a friendly smile. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank osulljp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Second year we have stayed at Panoroma, exceptional value for money, very conscientious management, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast, and nice rooms and facilities - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streetlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

One of the bigger rooms I've stayed in in a Pension in Austria. Everything spotlessly clean, nice big balcony too. Nice breakfast and free soup in the early afternoon.

Location wise it's 10 mins to the lift if you are walking in ski boots but you can leave your boots and skis overnight at the hire shop on the way and it's about a 5 min walk from the hire shop to the lift entrance. The only downside to this place is the way they don't open up the breakfast room in the evening if you want to have a drink because the lobby was crowded with too many tables and was uncomfortable to have a drink there. Otherwise it was a fine place and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yaw_Roish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights over Christmas 2010 & enjoyed every minute. The room & bathroom is a fair size, clean, warm & comfortable. It was nice to have a safe in the room too. We also enjoyed having a balcony where one can smoke if you prefer, or just to get some fresh air & enjoy the beautiful view!

The hosts, especially Sonja, were very friendly & helpful. She makes a soup most afternoons which is available for all the guests in the reception area - really welcome in winter!

The location is perfect - in close proximity to the train station, shops, restaurants & ski slopes.

We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michele6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
Hotel Wirtshaus Post
#3 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
Explorer Hotel Kitzbuhel
#5 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fischer
Hotel Fischer
#1 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
lti alpenhotel Kaiserfels
#4 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bruckenwirt
Bruckenwirt
#15 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
Hotel zur Schonen Aussicht
#11 of 21 in St Johann in Tirol
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panoramahotel - Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramahotel - Garni

Address: Speckbacherstrasse 14, St Johann in Tirol 6380, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range: $79 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panoramahotel - Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panoramahotel is a family run hotel for families. We have modern equiped rooms, all with bath/WC, balcony, minibar, safetey box, flat- screen TV, phone and hairdryer. Single rooms, doubles rooms, triple and family rooms are available as well as bigger family suites. WIFI is available in the whole hotel. In winter and summer we offer free access to the local swimming pool and in summer you can use our bikes for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panoramahotel - Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing