We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospiz Alm

Hospiz Alm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had dinner at this fabulously sophisticated yet relaxed restaurant last Friday. Senior Director Adi Werner made us very welcome. Fantastic service from all staff particularly Anna who was so enthusiastic about the wine list you couldn't help but double your budget. We ate scallops and cote du boeuf, drank delicious sauvignon blanc and pinot noir. Then took the "slide" down to the cellars to finish off the night with a private tour of the worlds largest collection of wine. It was truly an "awesome" experience all round. A "must go back" place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    106
    40
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ski Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ate lunch here on the balcony on Jan. 23. We made reservations, always a good idea if you know where you want to eat. Sat on the balcony with a great view. (always ski with sun screen and a hat with a visor in your pocket.) We were a group of nine and they treated us royally. The service was great the food even better. Not cheap but worth it. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianWerner, Inhaber at Hospiz Alm, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your time.
Best and hope to see you soon.

Florian Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Now we are talking.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the place to stop for lunch.
Stay in Lech or Zurs and ski St Anton for the day! Lunch here is the highlight......not sure if they reserve a table so you might want to get in early; oh, and only when it is not really possible to eat outside. If it is sunny outside becomes a bun fight but inside on a cold snowy day this is what skiing was invented for

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianWerner, Inhaber at Hospiz Alm, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your time and beeing guest of our Hospiz Alm Restaurant.

Best

Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The best place in St. Christoph. Food excellent, good wine list and a welcome relief from the consistent disappoint of the Inghams offering at the Sporthotel/ Chalethotel St Christoph

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianWerner, Inhaber at Hospiz Alm, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your time and see you hopefully soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Completely overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner there during a recent skiing holiday in St Anton. The decor and atmosphere is fantastic, the open fireplace, the memorabilia etc all adds to a very nice ambiance. The menu is not very extensive and the choices are a bit limited. Sounds to too bad, but unfortunately the average portions are minuscule. I had the venison and that amounted to exactly 2 bites. My wife's "Tafelspitz" was the same. If you don't load up with several starters you will go home hungry. The wine list is impressive and one can find a wine of choice at a reasonable price, or splurge in the thousands of Euro range. What made me rank this place "average" was however the service, which was unworthy of such a surrounding and prime location. Cold, unfriendly and incorrect, sorry to say, I am not one of the celebrities who's pictures cover all the walls, but I expect some attention and friendliness despite being a normal mortal human.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianWerner, Inhaber at Hospiz Alm, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Google Translation
Hallo,

vielen Dank fuer Ihre Bewertung und Ihre Zeit. Es tut mir sehr leid zu lesen, daß Ihnen Ihr Besuch in der Hospiz Alm so gar nicht gefallen hat. Ich werde die diversen Anmerkungen mit meinem Team besprechen und wir werden an unserer Qualität arbeiten. Es tut mir auch sehr leid, daß Sie mit dem Service gar nicht zu frieden waren. So etwas ist für mich auch nicht akzeptabel.

Best
Florian Werner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hospiz Alm also viewed

St. Anton am Arlberg, Tirol
St. Anton am Arlberg, Tirol
 
St. Anton am Arlberg, Tirol
St. Anton am Arlberg, Tirol
 

Been to Hospiz Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing