We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful restaurant service”
Review of Hotel Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Post
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awful restaurant service”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Totally ignored during lunchtime service by stroppy waitress- so much for traditional Austrian hospitality.. Go to an American resort and this would never happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marzy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
postalber, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We are always glad to receive comments from our guests as our main priority is to offer the best possible service. We are upset to hear that you did not receive this kind of service and would therefore kindly ask you to get in touch with us via e-mail (info@hotel-post.co.at) so we could find out further details to be able to avoid such problems in the futher. Thank you very much and we hope you have enjoyed your stay in St. Anton am Arlberg and will be coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    60
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
93
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Österreich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have not stayed at the Hotel myself, but friends did and they said that it is great to stay there, nice pool and Whirlpool and nice rooms.

But I go every winter a few times to St.Anton. As I live not to far away I drive home and do not stay in St.Anton. It is a great place to go out with friends. The Night Club (Postkeller) & Live Music Bar (Piccadilly) are the best in town. I love Picca with his live sound, Especially when Andy Joseph is playing there, his music is great! Drinks are great and the stuff is always happy to see us again because we know how to make a real partynight! :-)

So if you want great party, go there. Maybe we will meet!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babysly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Just back from my tenth skintrip in st Anton, staying in the Post Hotel. The staff as usual make us always feel welcome and this trip was no different. I also had the pleasure of meeting a gent who was celebrating his 50th anniversary. Heimo and Nicole look after the dining room to the highest standard as they have done since the first time I visited this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel for any traveller.

Room Tip: Pick a rear facing room to avoid the late night noise from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you want to spend your Christmas holidays in a hotel without anything to concern about, this is the place. First of all the location. Right on the center of the village. Second and most important for us. Everything was very clean, the rooms, the public areas, the restaurant, the wellness area. The reception girls were very friendly and smiley and helped you for anything you ask.
The room was nice for four persons ( two childs 12,10 ) comfy, with two large bunk beds, a huge bathroom, a dvd player ( very helpful if you have kids with you ) and free wifi ( very slow and only for one pc). The food was excellent. I've been to many hotels worldwide and i assure you that it was the best food i ever ate in a hotel. Nicole, the main waitress, was marvelous. Everytime with a big smile, running and helping all her guests with everything they need. Piano player for two nights, magician and santa with small gifts for the kids and a nice Austrian Christmas eve around the Christmas tree. The wellness area was perfect with a small pool, rest room, saunas and steam bath, massage, lots of towels and very quiet from 7pm to 8pm. Galzigbahn, Nasserein and Rendl within 2 min walk from the hotel. ( Galzig and Nasserein very crowded after 11am with many bumps on the slopes. Rendl excellent for intermediate
skiers )
Overall a perfect family hotel ( the owners doing a great job and they enjoy it ) with polite and helpful staff, excellent food, nice accomodation and facilities, reasonably priced.
What else do you need?

Room Tip: Galzig room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dimitris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I have just returned from spending Christmas at the Post Hotel in St. Anton and we had the most wonderful time there. All the staff are friendly, polite, welcoming and incredibly helpful. The hotel is run to exacting standards by the Alber family and their detailed attention to their guests needs is outstanding. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was well stocked with endless fresh towels. There is a great atmospheric bar and a good pool and spa. Our children were made feel welcome at all times and were very well catered to in the dining room. Infact the dining room staff made our holiday extra special, while the food was always delcious, the restaurant manager, Heimo, was fantastic. He has a great personality and recommended us some interesting and excellent Austrain wines, often anticipating our needs, by having several bottles pre decanted for us. Great service too from our waitress Nicole, who was always in good humour. Overall the hotel is of a very high standard, but it is the warm atmosphere and sense of true hospitality that is it's greatest draw. We will definitly be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThereseQW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just spent Christmas at the Hotel Post in St. Anton am Arlberg. Value for money is excellent. The family and staff of the hotel make you feel right at home. The meals are outstanding and the service flexible. The wine list is huge and has some great deals for really good wines. The rooms are spotless, up to date and beautifully kept. There is a nice sauna area that is clean and is well equipped with various types of saunas and steam rooms, a small indoor pool and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd trip to Hotel Post. Last year we were there over the New Year and this year we gave Christmas a try. It was just as expected, there were many families who had been back yearly since the early '90's and it is easy to see the relationships that have built over the years. Heimo, the Sommelier and dining room manager continued to recommend wonderful wines, we continue to be absolutely impressed with many of the Austrian reds!! Last year we had more of a suite with 2 bedrooms - very, very nice and quiet (room 107). This year we had 2 separate rooms, ours was 106 - a regular type of hotel room, and also 105 - one bedroom with a sitting room, for our 3 boys. The rooms were fine, not as good as last year due to the family being split up and also they were not appointed quite as well as the suite. We heard the bass from the club in the basement of the hotel a little bit this year, too - our suggestion would be simply to ask for a 2nd floor or higher room or to be on the first floor nearer the stairway/elevator area. It was not a major inconvenience, but simply an observation we would pass on to friends if booking in this hotel, which we would HIGHLY recommend. The food is always amazing, multi-course dinners for adults, with a childrens menu available. The breakfast is also a very large buffet with alot of options, I can't imagine anyone being anything but completely satisfied with the food overall. Breakfast attire is generally very casual and ski attire is also common. Dinner is more of a 'dressed up' affair - there were 2 "Gala" dinners during the week we were there, Christmas Eve and then again on teh 29th of December - the dress code is no jeans and most everyone had on cocktail/holiday dresses and suits on the men. All evenings our family and our brother-in-law and his family (wife and 2 daughters) wore nice slacks/shirts/sweaters and skirts for the adults and the boys always wore collared shirts with nice jeans and girls in dresses and nice pants. I only point this out because if you did not know that there was a Gala, you would feel under-dressed for sure.

We found their pick up and delivery service to and from the train station very convenient. We used it only for our luggage, the walk to the hotel, which is directly straight ahead from the train station exit, is about a 5 minute walk in the snow. You must cross a street and go up some stairs, and with our 9 pieces of luggage, it was best to send it in the car to the hotel. There is no laundromat available in St. Anton, so be sure to bring enough clothes to get you through the ski week. There is dry cleaning available at the hotel, but it is expensive.

Train access to St. Anton is easy, about 1 hour from Innsbruck and 2 or so hours from Zurich (the Main Train Station - which is about 15 minutes from the airport train station). One tip if you come from Zurich - take the train from the airport, it will be about 21 SF for a family of 5 versus the 60 SF for a taxi to the city.

The walk to the ski lifts is about 3-5 minutes down a dry, well lit tunnel for part of it. VERY convenient to the lifts. Apres ski was alot of fun at Base Camp, right at the base of the main lift. We had lunch at our favorite 'on mountain' restaurant called Heustadl, on the way down the main gondola. Love the food and beverages there!

The big hit for our 2 families is the Rodelbahn, sledding, available at Nasserein. This is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, just go directly to the gondola, Nassereinbahn, and the rental of the sleds is available right below the lift. It is super accessible and was ALOT of fun for all!!! Although they have evening sledding (7-9pm on Tues., Wed., Thurs. nights) we would recommend the daytime (12-4 daily) sledding if you have children under 13 or so. Really fun, high marks from all of us!!

We will continue to return to this really great experience that is consistently delivered at this hotel. We may try a spring or summer trip, too. Until we return again......

Room Tip: Given the option we would select room 107 or 102, or at least nearer the stair/elevator if we have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Property: Hotel Post
Address: Walter-Schuler-Weg 2, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Post 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream vacation: highest 4 star comfort, directly in the village center of St. Anton and next to all lifts and slopes. Enjoy exciting holidays: from active sports to total relaxation in our Relax Center to excellent culinary delights from the local and international cuisine. Half board includes an extensive warm and cold breakfast buffet, daily afternoon snack as well as a 4 course dinner with 3 choices of main course (special diets catered for) and daily salad,- starter or dessert buffet. Our professional Sommelier offers competent, friendly advice when it comes to picking the right wine from more than 15.000 bottles. Relax in our indoor pool, bio or Finnish Sauna, salt water or aroma steam bath, in the infrared cabin, hot tub, in our meditation room with water beds or in our sund bed or at a massage. To finnish a wonderful day in St. Anton enjoy a drink in our cosy hotel bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Post Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing