We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service, great staff and superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lux Alpinae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Certificate of Excellence
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful service, great staff and superb food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

It is very rare that you come across service staff and food which is this good. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The breakfasts were perfect and we then spent the days on the excellent slopes looking forward to yet another sumptuous dinner,all perfectly cooked seasoned and presented.
The rooms were just as we expected, and the whole hotel had a warm feel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    29
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a week on a ski holiday.
On first day the, the room was cold but we were given electrical heater.
The rest of our stay the heating system was on with no problem.
The food was generous and great.
The staff were friendly and always prepared to do whatever needed to help.

Although you can walk to the ski lift, we found it easier to use the hotel van especially at the end of the skiing day.

Wi-fi did not work on the top floor but was working everywhere else on the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The winning combination of a boutique hotel with family hospitality!
The rooms were great, clean and spacious, offering view to the mountains.
Breakfast was generous and fresh, and dinner was a delicious five course meal. All ingredients were top quality and service was super friendly and helpful (thanks Tania & Jon!)
The small spa offered very good massage services and a variety of wet/dry sauna.
We easily booked our vacation using the hotel website and upon arrival we realized that the hotel looks even better than its pictures on the web site. The staff even saved dinner for us as we had a very late check-in.

I would definitely come back to the hotel and recommend it to my family and friends!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rotemyonatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Not an old fashioned Austrian hotel, mostly set up modern. Room was nice but not spectacular. Bathroom offered little privacy with window shades covering the glass wall to the room but it was OK. Service was THE BEST. Shuttle to the ski lifts was better than walking and I bet we never waited more than 3 minutes, it went back and forth all day. Food was great, especially if you like fancy 5-Course Dinners. A little pricey but not for the area. Nice spa and massage. Some road noise can be an issue for light sleepers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved staying at the hotel Lux. The family run hotel is beautifully designed, warm and very comfortable. We looked forward to a 5 course dinner with a new menu every evening. Compliments to the chef on a creative and extremely tasty dishes. The owners Sabine & Alex really looked after us helping us with daytime & evening babysitters.
Even though the hotel is situated up a hill from the slopes, a shuttle service with a friendly driver was quick and efficient! What a great group of people.....Look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanycream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spent some exciting snowboard holidays at the Lux Alpinae from 5th till 9th of January.

As a studied product designer, I examined the interior design as well as the architecture carefully - you can call it an occupational illness. I was really amazed by the outstanding facade of the building, which is built into a cliff. The generous vitrification mounted on a steel and wood construction gives you an insight of what to expect from the inside: a minimalistic but decorated interior with love for details. Not too empty, not too overpacked, just right.
Standing in the hotel, you are able to touch the natural cliff wall - it seems as the cliff and the hotel are one. Nobody was trying to hide it behind tons of plaster, but spent time in planning how the cliff and the building can form a symbiosis. Well done!

I was also really stoked by the room design: the furniture is made out of natural materials, fortunately without ecological touch. The best thing of the room is for sure the big glass front between the bed and the integrated bathroom, so while lying in bed you can watch your beloved one taking a shower.

All in all, the hotel is amazing. The breakfast was like an orgasm in my mouth. The 4-course menu in the evening left nothing more to be desired. Everybody, who likes to test something apart from the traditional, kitschy places, should check in here straightaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrycja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wow! This family hotel is really run well. From the moment we got off the train we were extremely well looked after by the staff and owners. We stayed for 9 nights in February and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone that enjoys great hospitality and excellent food. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had and the five course dinners were supreme!
The only slight downside is that the hotel is about 800 metres up a fairly steep road, however there is a shuttle service that goes up and down and we never had to wait for it for more than 5 minutes.
Our rooms were big, clean and the views were great.
Thanks to Alex, Sabine and your team for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lux Alpinae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux Alpinae

Property: Hotel Lux Alpinae
Address: Arlbergstrasse 41, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#11 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#15 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lux Alpinae 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A holiday in St. Anton without the deer antlers. With a gigantic Alpine backdrop and one of the most famous skiing areas in the world outside. With urban flair and unintrusive hospitality indoors. With extraordinary architecture and the kind of food you’d get at a cool, hip restaurant. Glass, steel, fairfaced concrete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lux Alpinae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Alpinae Hotel
Hotel Lux Alpinae Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing