We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Evil Couple - Do Not Go There!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Kurt Ebner

Haus Kurt Ebner
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Anton am Arlberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Kurt Ebner
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evil Couple - Do Not Go There!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

Horrendous!!! I decided to have a search on trip advisor 3 nights before we were due to stay see what, if any, reviews said about the place. Read the 5 below and panicked. We changed our booking from 4 nights to 2. Arrived at 10pm to be greeted by this mad, evil couple shouting at us that we couldn't stay. The husband proceeded to get physical and push 2 of my friends down the stairs of his house. When we asked what were we to do, as its 10.30pm at night and we (5 girls) have no where to stay, they replied 'Not our problem'. Evil, nasty, rude old couple with serious issues. They prob did us a favour cause I would never have wanted to stay with them now knowing what they are like.
DO NOT BOOK ANY RESERVATIONS WITH THEM< AVOID AT ALL COSTS. Plenty of other fantastic people in St Anton, just not these 2. They have a bad reputation locally too!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    0
    1
    21
See reviews for
6
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

This couple Ebner makes this visit like coming into a mad house. Checking your doings and belongings all the time. Falsifying check in documents, insulting guests.... Making the stay a terrible experince. Do not ever go there....please tell all your freinds to AVOID this house of horrors.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank vist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

We had a very similar experience this season too. Myself and my friend arrived late to a very rude reception. We were then shown to our room which was not what we had booked. When we spoke to the landlord about this his respnse was "it is late, the village is full, there is nothing you can do about it". Needless to say this wasn't the response we had hoped for. I told him that he had accepted our booking, we had paid a deposit but he wasn't willing to give us the room we had booked. We were also subjected to his bullying and were physically thrown out of his house after midnight. I would strongly advise people to avoid this house.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biella, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

Thsi March 06 we booked and managed to spend a week in pension/apartment Kurt Ebner in St.Anton am Arlberg.
The owners of the pension are not only greedy and unfriendly there are also stubburn and intrusive of your private life.
We were literally chased all day for everything we did in the apartment and in St.Anton. EVERYTHING was a matter of discussion and sometime arguments.
This reach the apex when we were asked to wash the dishes before going to sky!!! I presume the term "self catering apartment" means "I mind my own busineess!!"
Not only you are asked to remove your shoes and leave them at the entrance, you can't prepare your ski/board in the storage area or leaving the windows open when you leave the apartment. Everything is inspected and check...even your luggage!!!
All of these didn't even come cheap...the owners are the last frontiers in old austrian greedy mountain people!!! Never met anything like that before in my life.

WE HIGHLY RECCOMMEND TO AVOID such pension/persons if you don't want to ruin your holiday!!!

Best of luck if you plan to spend your holiday in St.Anton am Arlberg.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank APM051012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

Our stay in Haus Kurt Ebner was also terrible. Upon arrival at midnight we were forced to unpack our bags in the lobby under the watchful eye of Herr Ebner as our "clean dry boards" were not allowed stay in our bags in our room until next morning. During the week Herr Ebner used any lame excuse to follow us into our apartment unannounced for a little check up. Our personal effects were moved about during the day when we were out as the Ebners seemingly did not like how we store our gear. We are not messy people I may add.
We were not allowed service our boards in the ski-room (which is also his garage) at 21:00hrs. Again we finally got to do this under the watchful eye of Herr Ebner. Much fun. We were given fresh towels under much protest only after asking, the least I would have expected at the price. The driveway was not clear of snow. We had difficulty getting the car to the house. Herr Ebner was not present to help, but suddenly appeared in his usual manner to protest that we were using his spade to clear his driveway for him !!! The 'apartment' does not have a private entrance, instead you have to pass by Herr Ebners ever open door and pray you are not accosted to be informed of your last transgression. Not a nice way to spend your holiday. There is a seemingly endless list of 'verboten' in Herr Ebners world.Lastly to add insult to injury were charged over the odds for the 2 bottles of mineral water left lovingly for us when we arrived. We mistakenly thought these might be complimentary as Herr Ebner was gleaning the bones of €2000 from us.
If you are a mature professional willing to spend some time away to relax with friends but want to be treated like a disruptive teenager I suggest you fork out and stay at Herr Ebners.
I personally would rather spend the night on the chairlift in my underwear.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DTK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2006

Well our stay in Haus Kurt Ebner lasted about 10 minutes. We booked a twin room, but got a double instead. The shower was in the cornor of the bedroom. We spoke to the owner stating we booked a twin and not a double. Their answer was "it is late, what are we going to do about it?" and then they physically pushed us out of the room. After speaking to other guest house owners, they all agreed that the owner is dreadful. One to avoid at all costs. I would rather hypothermia than stay in this place.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#28 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#26 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Angel B&B
Chalet Angel B&B
#24 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Appartement Ess
#18 of 65 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Kurt Ebner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Kurt Ebner

Property: Haus Kurt Ebner
Address: Fangweg Nr. 8, St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Haus Kurt Ebner 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Haus Kurt Ebner Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Haus Kurt Ebner Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing