We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel and lovely service”
Review of Skihotel Galzig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skihotel Galzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed 5 days for skiing in this hotel and it is really nice. It is barely a 1 minute walk from the back door of the hotel to the skilift and from the front door it is nearly directly at the top of the pedestrian street of St.Anton. The hotel itself is very nice and very very clean. Rooms are ok sized. Thanks to the seperate and very well organized ski lockers you will hop in warm skiboots every morning. Sauna area is nice and exactly what you need after a long skiing day. Breakfast ist rich and good. Only negative thing I can find is the missing wireless internet. One more tip, make your restaurant reservation for the evening via the hotel (the staff is lovely and glad to help) you will always get a good table in any restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Skihotel Galzig
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

We spend one week in the Galzig Shihotel, and had a great time. Location is superb right next to the skilifts, can't be beaten, only 50 m walking. In the evening 2 minutes away from the main street with the restaurants. The sauna is great, clean, and quiet, even when the hotel is full. The rooms are superb and very very large. All design and very trendy. The breakfast is as complete as it can be, and the staff super friendly. There is a very cosy lounge with a fire place, great to relax with a book or play a game of chess in the evening with a glass of wine. Unfortunately, there is no staff after 9pm, so then there is no option to order a drink, and they put out the fire which is kind of disappointing. A small minus point is that the beds are separate and the duvets as well, and sometimes we had a hard time regulating the temperature in the room, sometimes too warm, sometimes not warm enough, but not in such way that it was uncomfortable. Overall: great stay there in the Galzig. Somewhat exoensive, but you get top quality in return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We actually stayed in Dec ’09. Very modern, stylish, and cozy hotel in a great convenient location – just a block away from the ski lift. Room was huge and nicely decorated. Breakfast was excellent – great variety, wonderful breads, all fresh and of great quality. Service was very nice. Sauna, steam room and relaxation area was very nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Starting from the short 5 minute walk from the train station, the Skihotel Galzig was great! We arrived around 12:30 and were given early check in without a problem. The rooms are very trendy as well as comfortable. Linens were comfy and the beds were perfect after a long day on the slopes. We also very much enjoyed the sauna/steam room/relaxation area. The breakfasts were great as well and included all kinds of breads, cheeses, meats, as well as yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and always a fresh ground cup of coffee. The hotel is located right next to the main 24 person gondola, not more than 100m. Also if you stay here they give you a voucher good for 10% off rentals and merchandise in the ski shops Alber. I would recommend this hotel to everybody!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were only in St Anton for 1 night traveling to Switzerland and agree that if we could do it over again, we would spend more than 2 days in this quaint town and great hotel. The rooms are modern, spacious with great balconies and bathrooms. The service is friendly. If you ski, this would certainly be a slice of heaven for you. The ski lift drops you off right outside the hotel. The hiking is incredible and after a day of adventure, the steam/sauna hits the spot. We paid $84 euro/night for 2 people ( which included breakfast).
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tina127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed here in August - to remind ourselves of what St Anton looked like out of season. It is not the lively winter-sports resort it is in January! But the hotel was excellent - spacious room, fine balcony with views on three sides, impressive modern design in the interiors (not a trace of "chalet charm"!) Friendly and helpful staff and a terrific variety of breakfast goodies!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoannaMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed here for Christmas 2008, as our preferred hotel "Anton-Aparthotel" was fully booked.
From the pictures on the internet, we expected a B&B design hotel. First impression is really a tasteful furnished, family-run hotel. Unbeatable is the free of charge underground parking, the location near the Galzigbahn and the simple & fresh breakfast (loved the cappuccino!).

The room was disappointing! For the price of EUR 240.-/night we got a small room facing the road without any sound insulation. At 5 am we woke up due to snow removal, snowcats and other supply cars.
For the W-LAN you have to pay and the modern designed bath room had several faults (see second picture; tap was leaking). The drain was blocked.

Positive: the receptionist advised and booked us a dinner at "Schwarzer Adler". Good traditional restaurant!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skihotel Galzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skihotel Galzig

Address: Hannes-Schneider-Weg 5, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#16 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $115 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skihotel Galzig 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacations are all about relaxation and getting away from it all. Defined by a unique approach to creating a home away from home, the Ski Hotel Galzig is no ordinary St. Anton resort—it’s the ideal base camp from which you’ll create timeless vacation memories and legacies. Our attentive team is at your service to ensure that your St. Anton experience is exceptional. At the Ski Hotel Galzig, you’ll find your home in the heart of St. Anton Village. Our ski-in/ski-out hotel is your private ski valet and located next to the bases of Galzig, Rendl and Gampen Gondolas. Our ideal location puts St. Anton’s pedestrian thoroughfare filled with shops, dining, apres ski, music and more right outside the Ski Hotel Galzig’s door. We are steps from hiking and biking trails; while the ample and contemporary interior spaces and guest rooms create the feeling of a private retreat. The Ski Hotel Galzig puts you at the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skihotel Galzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skihotel Galzig Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Skihotel Galzig Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing