We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so overall, bad luck with room”
Review of Skihotel Galzig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skihotel Galzig
Certificate of Excellence
Schwyz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“so-so overall, bad luck with room”
Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed here for Christmas 2008, as our preferred hotel "Anton-Aparthotel" was fully booked.
From the pictures on the internet, we expected a B&B design hotel. First impression is really a tasteful furnished, family-run hotel. Unbeatable is the free of charge underground parking, the location near the Galzigbahn and the simple & fresh breakfast (loved the cappuccino!).

The room was disappointing! For the price of EUR 240.-/night we got a small room facing the road without any sound insulation. At 5 am we woke up due to snow removal, snowcats and other supply cars.
For the W-LAN you have to pay and the modern designed bath room had several faults (see second picture; tap was leaking). The drain was blocked.

Positive: the receptionist advised and booked us a dinner at "Schwarzer Adler". Good traditional restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    27
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, the location is perfect, 20m from the ski lift and ski schools, and a short walk to the main street with the bars and food joints, and the town's leisure center with Gym and a great swimming pool is just next door.

The only downside of the hotel is that there is no chance to eat there at night so you always have to go out. Some nights our kids were exhausted and it was a real hassle to get dressed and go out.

My favourite thing was the breakfast, simple, fresh and very tasty.

Bed was very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

A great B&B hotel which gives you the flexibilty to sample the Apres and restaurants without needing to worry about getting back for dinner. I have skied St Anton 7 times and this was the best accommodation I have stayed in for quality and flexibility.

We stayed here for Christmas 2007 and had a great time. Excellent accommodation which was very clean and stylish - but not too stylish as it was still comfortable. Ski room and facilities are all excellent. The location simply couldnt be better, seconds from the Galzigbahn and steps from the bottom of the slope after the main Apres venues.

They prepared a surprised birthday cake (they noticed from the check-in information) which was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkeyspank69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Stylish design hotel right at the foot of the Galzig and Gampen Lifts. Staff very helpful and rooms very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Great location and contemporary design
  • Disliked — No bar (very minor criticism)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LarKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

We styed here on the opening weekend of the season. It was an amazing place.
The hotel was clean and modern and excellent value for money. It was meteres from the lifts to the top of the mountain and to the centre of town.
St Anton also has a great Apres' ski atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JPFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

We stayed in the Skihotel Galzig at the end of March 2007 and I have to say it pleased me very much. The hotel is situated at a couple of metres from the ski lifts, is spotlessly clean, trendy and very comfortable and has an ample breakfast (all you need to start your day in the snow). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Garage included in the price (very handsome as - free - parking is very scarce in the centre). Wellness (no pool, but the Arlberg Wellness Centre with its pools is nearby) was very nice and again very hip! Alltogether, this hotel was the best I slept in in my Austrian ski trip career. If there's no halfboard in this hotel, the centre has plenty of choice (Kandahar for Asian food, the hip and trendy Hazienda with delicious cuisine and wines, the Spanish tapabar in the centre and many others). As we were there in low season, we did not book the restos, but I was told one should better do this in high season.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2007

Just back from 5 days skiing in St. Anton and Lech. Flew Stanstead to Friedrichshafen for 1p then 8 of us took a taxi to St. Anton for 200 euros. One of my party had seen the Galzig advertised in the back of Hello magazine of all places ! We were all very impressed with this new, modern, stylish, bright and spotlessly clean hotel. Got the impression no expense had been spared in designing and building this establishment. Staff very pleasant and helpful ( even to the point of getting out of bed to put on an early departure breakfast and to open our safe to rescue our passports when we accidently locked them in ). You can get your lift pass put on your room key card at the front desk so no queuing at the kasse ! Couldn't have been more convenient for the Galzig gondola less than 100 yards away. Likewise for ski hire ( 10% off as Galzig residents ). Nice lounge area with an open log fire for meeting in the evenings prior to going out to eat ( no lunch or evening meals served in the Glazig ). One can get a coffee or a beer or wine though. Lots of great restaurants on the slopes in both St. Anton and Lech for gourmet lunches ! Good standard of buffet breakfast in the morning ( including bacon and scrambled eggs ). Never managed a sauna or massage though both available. All in all I would be happy to return and would recommend the Galzig as a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Very stylish, modern and clean
  • Disliked — We got a room with a shower rather than a bath
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Suffolk-GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#6 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skihotel Galzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skihotel Galzig

Property: Skihotel Galzig
Address: Hannes-Schneider-Weg 5, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#16 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skihotel Galzig 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacations are all about relaxation and getting away from it all. Defined by a unique approach to creating a home away from home, the Ski Hotel Galzig is no ordinary St. Anton resort—it’s the ideal base camp from which you’ll create timeless vacation memories and legacies. Our attentive team is at your service to ensure that your St. Anton experience is exceptional. At the Ski Hotel Galzig, you’ll find your home in the heart of St. Anton Village. Our ski-in/ski-out hotel is your private ski valet and located next to the bases of Galzig, Rendl and Gampen Gondolas. Our ideal location puts St. Anton’s pedestrian thoroughfare filled with shops, dining, apres ski, music and more right outside the Ski Hotel Galzig’s door. We are steps from hiking and biking trails; while the ample and contemporary interior spaces and guest rooms create the feeling of a private retreat. The Ski Hotel Galzig puts you at the heart of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skihotel Galzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skihotel Galzig Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Skihotel Galzig Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing