We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Grischuna
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schwarzer Adler(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sporthotel St. Anton(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alte Post(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skihotel Galzig(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Himmlhof(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel am Dorfplatz(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhotel St Christoph(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Post(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rosa Canina(St. Anton am Arlberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
121
9
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
9
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotelfamily runabsolutely recommend this hotelhis lovely wifehighly recommended hotelupon departureover christmaspick upsski areasteep hillwinter wonderlandst antonevery morningfantastic foodfree shuttlethe entire hotelquiet area
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 136 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from a FABULOUS stay at Hotel Grischuna and we cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel and its owners. From the moment you are greeted at the front door by Raymond, you feel instantly like you are among family. NEVER have we ever experienced such warm hospitality. The entire staff is a treasure. In fact, our meals were so delicious, we asked Raymond if we could go into the kitchen to personally thank the Chef and his staff. Without hesitation, Raymond led the way and it was our sincere pleasure to have the opportunity to say thanks for a job well done.
Everyone at the hotel speaks excellent English so there are no awkward moments and you'll do well by ordering a "Snowman" as an after dinner drink in their lounge. Questions? Just ask Raymond or his lovely wife Elfie. They are a wealth of knowledge and take great pride in making sure their guests enjoy their stay. Their sons Max and Sebastian are equally as nice and helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make you happy.

In terms of the accommodations, our room had a balcony, comfy double bed and fantastic hot shower with big drying towels for enjoyment after a day on the slopes. The entire hotel is spotless. I was truly amazed how immaculate everything is, especially with guests in and out all day. Not a speck of dust anywhere! Amazing!

The location is also perfect. Not too far away from the center, but far enough so that a quiet restful sleep can be achieved. Each night was peaceful and so relaxing. A must for anyone zonked out after a full day on the slopes.

The only "negative" I can think of was that our trip ended way too soon. I wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Grischuna and anyone thinking of visiting St. Anton should jump at the chance to stay at this wonderful hotel. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Huge thanks to Raymond, Elfie, Max, Sebastian and their entire staff for helping us achieve a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKS747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just returned from our new break in St Anton, and our first visit to the Hotel Grischuna. On arrival there was a very warm welcome from Raymond and Elfie, the owners. A mixture of guests from all over Europe including several from the UK. All of the staff speak very good English so there are no language difficulties. The hotel is situated just above the town in a peaceful area so a good nights sleep is assured.
Do not be fooled by the three stars, eating in the restaurant is a five star experience thanks to Max and the team. We all came back with lasting memories of the fantastic meals and with a couple of inches on our waistline!
Thanks to all for making our holiday so special. When we return to St Anton it will be to the Grischuna.
Fiona, Sara, Colin & Bryan

Room Tip: Room 01 is a junior suite on the first floor with great views of the mountains
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We too like the previous review have just returned from an 11 night Christmas and New Year stay at the Hotel Grischuna and were absolutely blown away by the hospitality that we experienced during our stay. Elfie,
Raymond, Max and Sebastian and the rest of the team could not be faulted. The hotel was spotless and the sauna (including the impressive relaxing reclining loungers) was an added bonus. The food was always varied and was truly exceptional gourmet food. I notice that there is an earlier review suggesting that the wine was expensive. In comparison to the rest of the resort I would like to mention that to buy a similar bottle down at a bar in St Anton (not even as good as the wine on offer at Hotel Grischuna) would set you back by at least an extra 15 Euros! It is evident that Raymond and Max take great care in selecting the wines for their restaurant most of which are local to Austria - I never realised that Austria produced such fantastic wines!

We travelled to St Anton by train and were collected by Sebastian and Max and they helped us with all of our heavy bags and took us down to St Anton so that we could store our ski’s and boots and purchase our lift passes to save us time the next morning ensuring that we could be up and out and on the snow for first lifts the next morning!

Our only disappointment really is that we had to leave! We are already thinking about our next trip to St Anton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieK331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Grischuna for five nights over Christmas 2012. A small hotel, it is beautifully run by the Sattler family and situated less than ten minutes walk (downhill) to the main ski lifts, in a quiet part of St Anton with great views of the mountains. The walk in the morning was fine for warming up the legs, since your skis and boots are stored for free in the Intersport right opposite the lift you can do it in your normal boots. The hotel runs a shuttle bus at the end of the day to take you home.

We had a 'French' double room which was quite small but cosy and comfortable, with a balcony and lovely views. The bathroom was spotless with good towels and a fantastic hot shower. We also enjoyed the two BBC channels on cable (chilling out before dinner with some good quality Christmas TV!)

However the major highlight for us was the food, absolutely wonderful, restaurant quality with four courses every night apart from a six course 'gala' dinner on Christmas Eve. Really inventive, delicious home cooking, with perfectly-cooked cooked meats or fish, always the right-sized portions and with lovely sauces and accompaniments. They don't offer a choice but if you dislike something on the menu will always prepare an alternative. And a delicious buffet breakfast, including proper fresh apple muesli (which I love!) and eggs freshly cooked to order.

Raymond and Elfie and their team are great hosts, always helpful, friendly and full of useful tips and information about where to ski and go. We had to leave too early for breakfast on our last day but Elfie got up early to make us a coffee and provided a lovely packed lunch that kept us going nearly all the way home!

Austrian skiing and hospitality beats France every time. We will definitely return to the Grischuna, particularly with new Monarch flights to Friedrichshafen, which is just 90 minutes away.

Highly recommended and thank you Fam. Sattler for a wonderful Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during the Christmas holiday. Our room (junior suite) was spacious and comfortable with majestic views. The host family was friendly and eager to help when needed, but also respected privacy. As others have stated, the exclamation point was the food - every meal was exceptional including Christmas Eve and night. The wait staff was among the best we've seen anywhere in the world. The "hill" will definitely get the legs burning. We've skiied all our lives in many parts of the world and found Arlberg (especially Lech and Christoph) to be some of the best (though a 2 foot snow storm certainly helped that).

Room Tip: splurge for the Junior Suite if available
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrChambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews