We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Ski Trip”
Review of Hotel Karl Schranz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Karl Schranz
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Ski Trip”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Once again thank you for a wonderful stay with you in St Anton. We have travelled for many years to Austria and stayed in many hotels. We found your hotel perfect!
The entire family felt very welcome and for us the hotel, the bar, the rooms were ideal. You have superb staff; Mr Herbert is a fine Sommelier and Restaurant host, you have excellent waiters. The restaurant food is excellent. Antonio is the King of the Bar, he is a treasure, smoothly managing the room and entering into the spirit of the occasion. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy every day.
The transportation service Goran provides is excellent, he was always so cheerful and obliging at the hotel and down in the town. Although the Hotel is a walk from the town centre, the transportation the Hotel provides is perfect and the view form the hotel across to Rendl is wonderful.
We feel relaxed after the week on the slopes and in the pool and sauna in Hotel Karl Schranz.
Well Done, you should be very proud of your staff and hotel. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTooleFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    5
    5
    10
See reviews for
20
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked this hotel as, unlike many hotels in St Anton, they were more than happy to take a booking for less than a week. We couldn't find fault with the hotel at all and felt very comfortable and welcome at all times. Breakfast, afternoon tea and the evening meal were quite superb with the restaurant staff all very helpful knowledgeable and particularly the head waiter who's skill at choosing us the best and most appropriate Austrian wine each night was impressive. The restaurant was split into three rooms, each with lots of character, and it seemed thoughtful of the staff that they placed a large (noisy) group of English (US) speakers away from everyone else. The hotel is a good walk from the main town however the hotel bus and local bus were always easy and there when we needed them. To be honest the bar was so comfortable, we never felt the need to go back into the town after our meal (perhaps we're getting old!).
it was also quite special that we got to meet the legendary Karl Schranz (World Champion downhill skiier) himself!
We would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arcturus195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

All staff very freindly , excellent breakast choice, great views from room, a bath with plenty of hot water at all times.bus service to lifts was good would have been nice to have run till 6 instead of 5.plenty of parking.found all areas very warm / hot !
would definately return, only thing to be critical about is the smoking in reception / bar area after 5 , the fact people would leave dining area & smoke in reception area then go back in dining area rather than go outside just left a foul smell in bar area , the problem is we are now all used to NO smoking in Hotels.

Room Tip: views towards rendl are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a ski holiday in st anton where we stayed in the Karl Schranz hotel. I have so many good things to say about our stay. From the moment we walked into the hotel we felt right at home. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a big smile from the receptionist who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated the perfect place for us to come back to after a day on the mountain. We later went down for dinner in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. Over the coming days the staff really went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our holiday and were full of tips and local knowledge that they shared with us. The Hotel and our holiday were faultless and I would like to say a huge thanks to the Karl Schranz team for making it so. We will be going back again soon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week's skiing, from 12th to 19th January 2013 and were delighted with the hotel.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, and the food was superb.
We particularly enjoyed the apres ski snacks in the late afternoon. They were a delight, a very pleasant touch, and different every day.
The position is a little out of the town, but that suited us as it was in a fairly quiet position, but the hotel minibus service provided a superb service. There was no waiting - if you wanted a lift down to the town he took you immediately. It was the same when returning from the slopes - he was always there and drove us straight back. A wonderful serviice which everyone seemed to appreciate.
We would certainly stay at the Karl Schranz again, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HubertHubertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Karl Schranz and what a great time we had. I stayed their with three friends for skiing. The hotel is very comfortable maybe a little too warm in the bar and restaurant but otherwise fine. The food quality is very good and the staff very friendly, especially Anna on reception and Antonio the barman. Wine prices are a little on the high side but there are good quality house wines to be had also. A nice touch is the snacks for après ski they was most welcome. Town is a 10 minute walk down hill but the hotel shuttle service is very good. A taxi back to the hotel is 8 euro not so bad between 4 people and makes it good value compared to the more expensive town hotels. The hotel is adored with Karl's trophies and pictures with famous people, these are fascinating to look at. Highly recommended !!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and we felt right at home. Where to begin:

The staff is so friendly and accommodating, especially Antonio at the bar and Mr. Herbert in the dining room.

The food is really amazing. I normally don't stay at an "all-inclusive" type of place because I was afraid of the food I would be served. However, the Karl Schranz Hotel went above and beyond. Breakfast was simple but perfect, and dinner was always three outstanding courses. Additionally, we tried all sorts of very reasonably priced local wines that I never otherwise would have ordered, as recommended by Mr. Herbert.

The shuttle to and from the lifts from the hotel is super-simple and frequent. If you miss the last shuttle at 5:30pm, the local ski bus runs frequently also and drops off a few feet from the hotel.

The spa and pool are a great place to unwind. We used the wet and dry saunas everyday. The gym is nothing special, but who needs the gym when skiing everyday.

As a last note, this place may not be for you if you are looking for a party every night. The hotel is really low key and relaxing (but not stuffy in any way). The hotel is a bit up the hill from town. If you miss the last hotel shuttle or ski bus after an evening dancing at the Mooserwirt, you are in for a walk......

That being said, I would HIGHLY recommend the Karl Schranz!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rosa Canina
Hotel Rosa Canina
#26 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#21 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karl Schranz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karl Schranz

Property: Hotel Karl Schranz
Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 76, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#17 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#27 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karl Schranz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Karl Schranz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karl Schranz Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing