We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Karl Schranz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Karl Schranz
Reviewed February 6, 2013

All staff very freindly , excellent breakast choice, great views from room, a bath with plenty of hot water at all times.bus service to lifts was good would have been nice to have run till 6 instead of 5.plenty of parking.found all areas very warm / hot !
would definately return, only thing to be critical about is the smoking in reception / bar area after 5 , the fact people would leave dining area & smoke in reception area then go back in dining area rather than go outside just left a foul smell in bar area , the problem is we are now all used to NO smoking in Hotels.

Room Tip: views towards rendl are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a ski holiday in st anton where we stayed in the Karl Schranz hotel. I have so many good things to say about our stay. From the moment we walked into the hotel we felt right at home. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a big smile from the receptionist who quickly checked us in and showed us to our room. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated the perfect place for us to come back to after a day on the mountain. We later went down for dinner in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. Over the coming days the staff really went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our holiday and were full of tips and local knowledge that they shared with us. The Hotel and our holiday were faultless and I would like to say a huge thanks to the Karl Schranz team for making it so. We will be going back again soon.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week's skiing, from 12th to 19th January 2013 and were delighted with the hotel.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was excellent, and the food was superb.
We particularly enjoyed the apres ski snacks in the late afternoon. They were a delight, a very pleasant touch, and different every day.
The position is a little out of the town, but that suited us as it was in a fairly quiet position, but the hotel minibus service provided a superb service. There was no waiting - if you wanted a lift down to the town he took you immediately. It was the same when returning from the slopes - he was always there and drove us straight back. A wonderful serviice which everyone seemed to appreciate.
We would certainly stay at the Karl Schranz again, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HubertHubertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Karl Schranz and what a great time we had. I stayed their with three friends for skiing. The hotel is very comfortable maybe a little too warm in the bar and restaurant but otherwise fine. The food quality is very good and the staff very friendly, especially Anna on reception and Antonio the barman. Wine prices are a little on the high side but there are good quality house wines to be had also. A nice touch is the snacks for après ski they was most welcome. Town is a 10 minute walk down hill but the hotel shuttle service is very good. A taxi back to the hotel is 8 euro not so bad between 4 people and makes it good value compared to the more expensive town hotels. The hotel is adored with Karl's trophies and pictures with famous people, these are fascinating to look at. Highly recommended !!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and we felt right at home. Where to begin:

The staff is so friendly and accommodating, especially Antonio at the bar and Mr. Herbert in the dining room.

The food is really amazing. I normally don't stay at an "all-inclusive" type of place because I was afraid of the food I would be served. However, the Karl Schranz Hotel went above and beyond. Breakfast was simple but perfect, and dinner was always three outstanding courses. Additionally, we tried all sorts of very reasonably priced local wines that I never otherwise would have ordered, as recommended by Mr. Herbert.

The shuttle to and from the lifts from the hotel is super-simple and frequent. If you miss the last shuttle at 5:30pm, the local ski bus runs frequently also and drops off a few feet from the hotel.

The spa and pool are a great place to unwind. We used the wet and dry saunas everyday. The gym is nothing special, but who needs the gym when skiing everyday.

As a last note, this place may not be for you if you are looking for a party every night. The hotel is really low key and relaxing (but not stuffy in any way). The hotel is a bit up the hill from town. If you miss the last hotel shuttle or ski bus after an evening dancing at the Mooserwirt, you are in for a walk......

That being said, I would HIGHLY recommend the Karl Schranz!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will Work for Plane Tickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I must writre and tell you all about the fantastic time my girlfriend and myself had at the Karl Schranz hotel in St Anton. we based ourselves here for a skiing holiday in the area in mid-March 2012. As we were returning to the hotel we knew what to expect, are we were not disappointed. Everything that we remembered to be good about the hotel was still very good. It was nice to be recognised as a returning guest by the staff and it was also nice to see the same staff there too, showing an excellent standard of service. With St Anton being such a nice resort to ski this is the type of hotel that I would consider going back to again and again. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wishing to have a relaxing holiday in good company and a very friendly atmosphere. A very warm thanks to all at the Karl Schranz, hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in this hotel are kept to an excellent standard but personally I prefer rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is the second time we have returned to the Karl Schranz and it is because they actually care about their guests and look after the hotel very well. We stayed for 7 nights in a triple room which was modern, clean and spacious with a great view. The barman Gary is brilliant at making cocktails and provides loads of entertainment whilst you drink it. The restaurant is very pleasant providing an almost Michelin star food and service. The waiters are polite and very attentive. The Spa is really very good and it is free unlike some hotels we have stayed in.
The shuttle service is efficient and efficiently transports you into town, which is about a few hundred meters away in the mornings and afternoons. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in St Anton.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arlberg
Hotel Arlberg
#7 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Alpenhotel St Christoph
Alpenhotel St Christoph
#38 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#23 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karl Schranz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karl Schranz

Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 76, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#29 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $200 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karl Schranz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Karl Schranz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karl Schranz Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing