We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a skiing pedigree!”
Review of Hotel Karl Schranz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Karl Schranz
Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is an excellent hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are spotless, the staff are friendly, the food is excellent (Herr Herbert and his team do indeed look after you!) and there is even a shuttle bus to take you down to and back from the main lifts. The fact that the family sit and have breakfast in the same dining room means that it's hard not to feel part of the family. My husband is a very good skier and the fact that we stayed in a hotel with such a skiing pedigree added another dimension to the holiday for him.
It's probably not the best place for apres ski fiends but if like us, you prefer to ski hard and relax those tired legs at the end of the day then this hotel will be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Ward73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Karl Schranz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

We (two Dutch couples) spent a skiing week in March 2011 in this excellent hotel and enjoyed it througout! Just off the crowded hart of St Anton this family run hotel offers excellent value for money. Friendly staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant made our stay very pleasant. Nice room, sunny balcony, well equiped and clean bathroom, very nice and clean spa & wellness facilities. And on top of this all: Herbert, the maitre d' surprised us every diner with his excellent choice of fine Austrian wines to accompany the tasty (local) dishes. In short: go there! We will certainly return.
Points to consider: free WiFi is a must these days! And please make the Lounge and Bar area non smoking!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I took a group of 17 people to St. Anton for a ski trip, and we stayed at the Karl Schranz in February 2011. I cannot say enough positive things about our stay. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating, the rooms were large by European standards, and the food was outstanding. From day 1, we had nothing but great service from the desk staff, the wait staff, housekeeping, and Frau Schranz herself. We had a hotel shuttle to and from the Galzigbahn at St. Anton during peak travel hours, and a free town shuttle that stopped just up the street at other times. We were a short walk from the main village, making the hotel very convenient for us. The lobby bar was a pleasant place to pass time, and the bartender could not have been more anxious to please. The dinner menu consisted of two entrée choices every night, and the food was so good that none of us ever ventured elsewhere during our stay. You never know what to expect when you stay at a European hotel, especially one that is family owned, but this one was phenomenal. I have seen the negative reviews on this site, and all I can say is -- my group had an excellent experience at the Karl Schranz. We were all very impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnInPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is a terrible hotel with most horrible staff.

We arrived on a Wednesday evening to be greeted by an old lady telling us "this is not a hostel". We were a group of young professionals and it was obvious from the start that the owner didn't want anyone who wasn't a family or an elderly couple staying in her beloved hotel. She constantly sniped and muttered at all of us throughout our long weekend and made every effort to ruin our time in St Anton.

We booked twin rooms but were put in doubles and four to a room with two on a double bed and two on a sofa bed. And we were charged 400 euros a night for this room! WHAT A DISGRACE.

The food was ok, and the waitress was the best part of the holiday for most of us. The barman was rude and the drinks were massively overpriced. The hotel is a long way up the hill and out of the main town and the minibus is infrequent making it very difficult to get to and from the ski lifts and the bars and restaruants.

I will never stay in this hovel again. Not even for free.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank spartanskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKarlSchranz, Inhaber at Hotel Karl Schranz, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear Mr. !

Thank you for your critique about our Hotel at Tripadvisor.com!

We are very sorry that you didn't like you stay at our hotel, of course we also will take position at your entry because we think its just fair !

The drink prices in our hotel are normal prices which are the same or even cheaper as in town!!!

When you say that the owner was rude of course that is your opinion but you forgot to say that you arrived late night and very drunk at the hotel that you couldn't even fill out the guest form , if you remember we asked you few days later to do it again cause we were not able to read it ! When you say the owner muttered you, maybe cause the first night when you came home after the Apres ski one of you was so drunk that he managed to fell into the ski thing where all skis are stored and had not change to get out of that, Miss Schranz and the Barkeeper went down and helped him and but all Skis back where they where! We have it on video cause our ski room is always video taped! I

You said , it seemed like that we just want to have familys in our hotel we have to tell you that in January and February we full booked most of the time with Male groups !!!!

You did not book twin bed rooms!!!!!!!!
You booked double bed rooms and junior suites (if you want to we can email you the whole email conversation)!
You also cancelled some rooms few days before you arrived and asked if you could also have rooms where 4 people can sleep , we changed it for you but also told you that those rooms are always equipped with 1 bed room and the living room with couch beds , you agreed, you paid €uro 110 per Person in the junior suite for with half pension ! So you knew what you booked!!!

You also forgot to say that the last day you booked in a friend to the hotel without even telling us , we are not a hostel as you said in the beginning and that’s true we are a 4 star hotel you booked rooms and paid per Person and you didn't understand why you friend have to pay for his stay , but that’s how it works , even in a hostel you pay per person !!

You booked in yourself in this hotel , if you would have informed yourself before your trip or had a look at our homepage its says on LINKS and on the first side that we are about 700 meters away from the town and that we offer our very own hotel shuttle bus service which runs frequent from 8.30 a.m. - 11 a.m. and from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. (directly to the lifts !!!!!) After and in between those hours you can use the line 3 which runs every 10 min. until 6.30 p.m. and stops 50 meter over and under the hotel!

We hope your next holiday will be much better and of course we are really sorry that you didn't like the stay in our hotel !!! Thank you for your critique but we hope you understand that we took position to it!

Nice Regards
HOTEL KARL SCHRANZ
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Booked this hotel 2 weeks before departure having seen plenty of reviews beforehand - mainly good but some bad. Needed to avoid a weekend arrival and departure so pieced together my own schedule. (train from Zurich airport).
Rooms were clean and spacious, food was good and staff were friendly.
Only weakness is location - it is less than a 10 min walk to town, but this is down a fairly steep hill - you would not want to do this in ski boots - though ok if in Snowboard boots. Though this needn't be a problem as the hotel has an arrangement with Intersports at the bottom of the hill where boots and skis can be left overnight, leaving the walk uphill at the end of the day being bearable in your own shoes. Hotel also provides a courtesy bus to/from lifts at beginning and end of day. Though this finishes about 5, so you miss it if you stay out for a bit of apres ski. Taxis are easy to get at night but extortionate - min fare of €12 - even for a 3 min trip.
Checked out the Wellness area a couple of times which was very pleasant.
All in all, very good. Great skiing area, fun apres-ski and also got lucky with perfect weather.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBetton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Having recently stayed at the Hotel Karl Schranz while on a weeks skiing trip to St Anton I now feel compelled to publicise just how good my experience was. Everything about our stay in this hotel was faultless. After checking in on the Saturday evening our first experience was to have dinner in the restaurant, and what an experience it was. The quality of the food was superb, as was the attention to detail in the preparation and service. This was something that continued throughout the week, 5 courses of delightful food, always with a choice of main course. After dinner we progressed through to the bar for a relaxing drink after our journey. Here we found very friendly staff, who's sole aim it seemed was to make us feel welcome. Moving on to the room we found something that was very clean, very well presented and served our every need. The room was very spacious with stunning views from two large windows and included lots of storage space. There was a stocked minibar from which things were very reasonably priced and a television tuned to well over 50 channels (including BBC1, 2 and World News in Engish). Breakfast was served buffet style in the restaurant and included everything from continental style cheese and meats to bacon, sausage and egg. The ideal way to set ourselves up for a day on the slopes. After a days skiing (which was aided by a free shuttle service to and from town) we returned to the hotel to find that there were apres ski snacks and nibbles on offer to replenish some of that spent energy. The natural thing when you've had a hard day and have tired muscles is to want to relax, not a problem at the Karl Schranz. The hotel offers full relaxation facilities, pool, sauna, steam room, gym (if you have any energy left!!!!!) and a Physiotherm booth. Before you know it, it's dinner time and you start the whole experience all over again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Having read the previous reviews on your website I was concerned about what to expect from the Hotel Karl Schranz as we had booked to stay there for our 1 week Honeymoon over New Year in St Anton.
However I had no need for corncern as our week was a pure delight with a comfortable room, almost private pool, superb meals and friendly staff.
We had a double room with balcony; the ensuite had a great shower and showergel, etc was provided. The minibar was not overly expensive for a minibar and the flat screen tv was hooked up to 50+ channels from all over the world (inc. BBC 1 & 2 and BBC world news) although depending on the weather some of the TV signals was occassionally poor.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and extensive providing cereals, breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, boiled and scrambled egg, sausage and bacon.
The evening meals were 5 courses of gormet food, with a choice of 2 main courses each night. Every meal was delicious and my only warning would be that Austrians don't cater for vegetarians in general but the chef tried to accommodate a Vegan guest who turned up halfway through our week.
We ate in one of the smaller dining rooms each day which we shared with Karl Schranz and his family, proving that the food was good as they enjoyed the same menu as their guests.
On New Year's Eve we were served a 6 course gormet banquet, starting with a champaign cocktail, and including lobster tail and sirloin steak - each course was more delicious than the last and portion sizes were perfect. The hotel also let off fireworks at midnight which we watch from our balcony.
The Pool and Sauna area were virtually empty every day allowing us opportunities to have private swims; they were clean and highly maintained.
The free shuttle bus from the hotel to slopes was great with a very friendly driver who was happy to drop you at any location in the town centre; even when this bus wasn't running the number 3 free ski-bus ran every 10 minutes during the day from the town centre and also stopped outside the hotel; there was even a night bus which ran hourly throughout the night if you wanted to stay out.
The staff were all friendly and Mr Herbert the maitre'd greeted you personally each morning and evening and offered advice when choosing food and wine. The barman gave us a warm farewell on leaving even though we hadn't used the bar much and Mrs Schranz gave us a jar of homemade jam on our departure.
I don't know if things have changed drastically or if previous guests have just had much higher expectations but I can't praise this hotel enough. Ignore the bad reviews and judge hotel Karl Schranz for yourself!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkCavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpenhof Hotel
Alpenhof Hotel
#52 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#15 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arlberg
Hotel Arlberg
#7 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karl Schranz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karl Schranz

Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 76, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#29 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $219 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Karl Schranz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Karl Schranz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Karl Schranz Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing