We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top family run and family friendly Hotel”
Review of Grieshof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grieshof Hotel
London
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Top family run and family friendly Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is my 3rd visit to the Grieshof Hotel in the past 10 years and very little has changed at the Grieshof, in a good way. The half board deal is great value for money with a lovely spread at breakfast and high quality food for dinner.

Family and staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful, leisure facilities are excellent and well maintained

Room Tip: Rooms at back of the hotel bask in sunshine in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmcg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband, four boys, and I had a wonderful Christmas ski trip to St Anton. The snow was not great but we still had fun. The food at the Grieshof was good and plentiful . It was nice to not have to go out after a long day of skiing. The lounge could use some updating to make it more welcoming. People were very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dctraveller702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

From the moment I arrived until the moment I left I felt at home and I know that we will most definitely return here!

Ok now on to the review and why I think this is a such a great place.

The Great bits:

Check-in was swift and with no complications and my luggage was swept away as I was signing the relevant papers to be delivered to my room just a minute after I got there.

The room: very spacious, comfortable large beds, plenty of storage and most importantly, not too warm!
The Bathroom was large and the shower had hot water at all times and great pressure.

The restaurant: We were half-board which I find can sometimes be a hit and miss however in this case, 100% hit!

Breakfast is the standard Austrian breakfast which you find in most hotels. The counters are kept nice and clean and staff is there at all times should you wish for something else.

Dinner: Not only was the food excellent and plentiful, the salad-bar alone was enough to create a whole meal, but the kitchen made every possible effort to adapt to my gluten intolerance and my friend's lactose intolerance. The staff were ever so friendly and nothing was too much to ask and the fact that we asked for the same soup as a starter the whole week didn't seem to faze them the least :).

There is a bar in the large reception area and just behind there you can find a large sitting area with several sofa groups to create a bit of privacy and an open fire. We had coffee after dinner there a few times and also a hot chocolate after skiing which was lovely.

There is a ski and boot room in the hotel but since you can now store your skis and boots for free at the skishop at the base of the main gondolas we didn't need to use it.

Wifi available for free in all areas and we had very good reception all over the hotel.

We also had massages whilst there, my friend tried the hot stone massage and I had the normal one and after a few days on the piste I can tell you that was godsent, absolutely incredible ;)

The pool area is nice and good for relaxing after hard day on the piste.

I was going to add a "not so great" bit but then I realised that the only thing I could possibly find to mention there is that the the front door was a bit heavy so I thought I will leave that out ;)

All the above said, the thing that makes this hotel is the people who work here. From the first moment until you say goodbye they are friendly and smiling and seem genuinely happy to help. We had a mishap and had to go to hospital during our stay and I have never in my life received such kind treatment and help anywhere I have been.

This hotel is a gem and although I am reluctant to post all of this on Tripadvisor for the fear they might be fully booked the next time I just felt I had to so that everybody knows there still is incredible traditional Austrian style hotels to be found in St Anton.

Thank you for a great stay and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glutenfreeswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Have stayed here many times in last 10 years. Always clean,efficient with good not overly rich food. This year ski and boot check-in at base of gondola (Alber's Sport shop) included in room price. No more schlepping up the street! We'll be back. William, Lancaster,PA,USA

Room Tip: quitest on street side, better view on mountain side. a wash
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is my 4th trip to St. Anton and the first to the Grieshof. The rooms were spacious and clean and I love the little sitting area. The bathrooms were modern and roomy. I loved the heated towel bar! The food here is the most outstanding. All of the hotels I stayed at were nice but the food here was the best! The vegetables always green and crisp, never overcooked which is sometimes hard to find in a half board hotel. The wood paneling in the rooms is warm and cozy and exudes the Austrian style. The spa is nice although the jacuzzi was not warm enough. The saunas were excellent and there are choices of different kinds of saunas. A very nice hotel and a friendly staff. Wi-fi in the room did not always work but the overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with the wood paneling are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Grieshof runs a quality inn geared to repeat customers; a few steps off the main street make the Grieshof conveniently central but much quieter than the hotels on the Kandahar.
Their energetic and friendly staff work hard to make your stay easier.
The breakfast buffet was perfect and included bacon eggs and nice pastries.The restaurant's dinner fare was innovative and consistently delicious. I doubt we could have found a better meal The kitchen and staff even caught the favor of my teenage daughter, a picky vegetarian who doesn't eat vegetables.
They were able to "fluff and fold" a small load of laundry for a few euros.
The rooms were large enough to spread out in. The shower water pressure was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

'Sister' hotel to the Post – this is a quieter, smaller place. Location is excellent. Food was very good, as in most quality Austrian Hotels. Rooms were comfortable and well kept. But, I would call it a high three star rather than a four star as they claim. It is a mid-sized hotel and the facilities, while nice, are not exceptional. For me that can be a welcome relief as there is a far more relaxed atmosphere than at more 'aspirational' and expensive accommodations.
Has Pool, Whirlpool and separate Sauna. Foreigners should be aware that Saunas in Austria are mixed-sex and clothing-optional, with the 'option' being to consider wearing something.
Pass for ski storage near the lift was great too, skip carrying the skis back and forth.
I would heartily recommend the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Moessmer
Hotel Garni Moessmer
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grieshof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grieshof Hotel

Property: Grieshof Hotel
Address: Im Gries 20, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#25 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grieshof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grieshof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grieshof Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing