We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price and performance?”
Review of Valluga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valluga Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2010

actually i am kind of sorry to write this, but i am even more sorry that i had to spend so much money on nothing.
of course, st. anton is overly expensive during high season but come on, if i have to pay more than 200,00 euros for a room, there should at least be some compensation. it is very true, the staff is friendly and helpful, the location is great, the room was pretty clean though the tiles could use a scrub down and yes the heater is working overtime. on the other hand, the furniture especially the bed and the mattresses are run down, the tv is tiny and the rooms, well i have stayed in hostels with more comfort.
to make it even worse the food is not what i would expect for a rate like that, there is just one menu, no choices, or as was pointed out to me, if you don't like one course, there is still 3 more to come. funny thing is they seem to have a restaurant, wonder what the menu looks like. we decided anyway to go for pizza the second night to spare ourselves the frustration. and i will spare you the description of the breakfast, another very sad affair.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucy-Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed her two weeks ago with a group of ten. After reading the reviews we were worried we had choosen the wrong hotel for our trip. We were mistaken. We were pleasantly surprised that hotel was great and the staff was better! We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Everyone was accessible and helped us figure out where we were going, what restaraunts were the best, and they even threw a party for the guests for New Years. If you stay here, you will not be dissappointed. Good luck! Have a great trip!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZermattInMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Average hotel. Should be redecorated in near future. Hotel situated outside of centre. Bus stop is very close to it.
Stuff try to do their best (with some exceptions).
Perfect dinner meals.
Close to the main road. It would be noisy if you like to sleep near open window.
No free VLAN..

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner Iris and her staff. The rooms are clean, bright and quiet, and recently decorated and improved. The food is well prepared, and efficiently served. The location although not central is right next to one of the ski bus stops when you are going to the lifts, and it is a quick walk back once you have located the hotel relative to the bottom of the slopes.
Overall this hotel represents really great value in the otherwise quite expensive resort of St Anton.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiRoute34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Lovely Austrian styled hotel, traditional decoration. Pleasantly quiet Hotel possible due to bar closure at c22.45, full nights sleep. Reception area smelled of cigarettes. No smoking in restaurant. Continental buffet breakfast. Evening meal 4 courses waiter/waitress served. Very friendly and pleasant staff. Owner Iris wicked dry sense of humour. Room was clean, fresh and spacious, cleaned daily. Rooms at back of hotel had amasing views of slopes. Hotel generally was too hot, but were able to open window/door and adjust radiators.Ski boot room with ample heated boot rack. Ski bus pickup and drop off c100m. Central location.

Liked: Charm of Hotel
Disliked: Smoking smell

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManxCats2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Lovely Hotel, and Iris the owner is also very friendly. Yes the hotel does smell of smoke, but so does every where in St Anton, the smoking ban came into force on the 1st of Jan, but I only saw two places in the whole resort that actually took the ash trays away. I would advise the purchase of a locker by the Galzig Cable Car, as it is a ten minute walk away, and with ski's and boots, this makes for a hard start and finish to each day.

The staff and food in this hotel were fine. I was in a single room, number 15. Take some earplugs, as you will have to sleep with the window open, as it is so hot in the hotel.

Fantastic location, great skiing and great lift system in St Anton.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We booked the Hotel Valluga about a month before travelling and dealt with the owner, Iris, directly. All communication was clear and precise. After reading some of the reviews on this site I was slightly concerned, but our entire stay could not really be faulted. Rooms were clean & bright, not too hot and not too cold, plenty of hot water when needed, and they did not smell of smoke.
The food was fine, dinner usually an Austrian speciality which all 12 in our party were happy with. We had one vegetarian and they were catered for quite acceptably. Breakfast was buffet: cold meats / cheese / breads /cereal & boiled eggs if requested.
Smoking was permitted in the lounge area, as it is in the whole of Austria. I am a non-smoker but believe that if visitors object to smokers or smoke, then perhaps they should choose another country !
Given that most people go to St Anton to ski, and that a Hotel needs to be convenient, clean and good value, I can say that I would definitely return to The Valluga. Access & parking was also easy & without problem. Ten of us didn't need to depart until late in the day, and we were provided a couple of rooms to change and shower in at no extra charge. Unfortunately there was no Wi-Fi - this was missed.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kegscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.1 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#15 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valluga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valluga Hotel

Address: Arlbergstrasse 79, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#12 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#13 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $235 - $838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valluga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valluga Hotel is situated in St Anton am Arlberg, one of the world's best ski resorts with its slopes, snow and mountain activities, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. The hotel has been lovely restored to its original charm with a modern twist. Our mission is to take care of you and give you the perfect holiday-feel in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Valluga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valluga Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing