We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, homely and great service.”
Review of Alkira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alkira
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, homely and great service.”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My three friends and I stayed at alkira over the Easter weekend. We had a fabulous stay. We loved st Anton and Alkira made our stay even more pleasant. Alkira is very comfortable and homely. The rooms are well equipped and fit the traditional Austrian style that you can imagine. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was perfect and always gave us a good start to our days on the Mountain. The hosts Barbara and and Chris were very helpful and lovely.
The cleaners were also very good, tidying our rooms every day was always a pleasant surprise.
Their are beautiful views of the mountain from the hotel which is a perfect way to see what the weather is doing before a day on the mountain. The B&B is located up a hill from the centre of town. about a 5 minute walk down and a 10 minute walk up however there is a bus that will drop you home if your legs can't manage after a day of skiing. Very close to shops, bars and restaurants and Chris will give you his reccomendations of the best places to eat.
We loved our stay and would love to come back!

The only critisism would be our shower. The shower head was a bit broken and sprayed everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyO980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr H, Owner at Alkira, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Courtney,

Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you had a fabulous stay with us. Also thank you for letting us know about the shower head in your bathroom as we were unaware that it needed attention. It has been replaced with a new one. We would love to welcome you back to Alkira and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Christopher and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Alkira is a first class B&B hotel; it's hard to fault it. It is run by a charming Austrian/Australian couple, no doubt helped by their young daughters. (For our US readers, Austria and Australia are different countries; I know, confusing, isn't it? Austria is (just) in western Europe and has mountains and consequently wins lots of winter olympic medals. Australia is on the other side of the world, has all sorts of scenery and wins very few olympic medals of any sort).

Facilities are limited (it's a B&B) - no bar, no restaurant, no swimming pool, but that is as expected.

We paid €1280 for 2 people for 8 nights in Feb/March 2013. not cheap, but by peak season St Anton standards, perfectly fair.

Pros:
Very comfortable bedroom. Ours was a 'deluxe', with a massive telly (nothing worth watching, obviously, but that's hardly the Alkira's fault), a fridge, some glasses and a corkscrew, a sitting area and a walk in wardrobe the size of some single rooms that I've stayed in. Hairdryer provided. The bathroom is functional rather than luxurious, but that's fine. Apparently limitless hot water. The washbasin area is separated from the bedroom by, bizarrely, a pair of western saloon style swing doors (the bath/shower and bog are seperated from the washbasin area by a proper door, so don't panic). We were on the ground floor, the highest guest floor, as the hotel is effectively built on the side of a cliff. Our room did not have a balcony, some do.

Decent brekkie. Standard Austrian B&B fare, done well; cereals, dried fruit, yog, cold meats, cheeses, oj, tea, coffee, chocolate (I'm guessing there, but I'm sure that they must offer it), excellent boiled eggs, rolls, butter, jam, honey. The best thing is that the tea is great, undoubtedly the best in mainland Europe, presumably because of the Australian input.

Views: We had a great view over Rendl, and I imagine that all the rooms do.

Helpful proprietors: Very friendly, happy to advise on and book restaurants and generally flocking around being helpful.

Free ski and boot storage: In the most convenient rental shop for the Galzig and Gampen lifts. There is also a boot room in the hotel.

Cons:
Struggling to think of one other than the fact that the hotel is 5/10 mins walk from downtown St Anton up a steepish hill. It gives the place its views and quietness, but it could be flatter without any loss. There is a ski bus that stops close to the door, and of course taxis exist in St Anton, but if you can't face an uphill walk at the end of the day, this is probably not the hotel for you. Shame for you, because it's a great hotel.

I suppose that a kettle would be handy.

We'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 1, which was very comfortable (no balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end Jan/beg Feb as a group of 5 people in two rooms (triple plus double).
The hosts Christopher & Barbara couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Can't believe this is their first winter season as they seemed like pros! They are very knowledgable about the area, ski shops, best places to ski & always provided up to date weather reports & advice.
The rooms are very large, have great views & are decorated with traditional quaint Austrian charm (they are talking about possibly modernising them but I think the current decor adds to the experience).
The breakfast room has nice views of the mountains & the buffet breakfast is good quality.
The B&B is located 10mins up the hill from the town centre but it really wasn't a problem at all and there is a regular bus service (every 10mins) if you don't want to walk. Ski boots & skis can be left at the ski rental shop by the main lift in town on heated racks (free voucher provided from the B&B - nice touch).
On the last day Christopher even ran our group down to the train station in his car (two trips!) as the taxi we ordered was going to take longer than usual.
I couldn't rate our stay at the Alkira any higher!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Alkira was a wonderful surprise when we stayed there this January .
Lovely quiet location and a very pleasant walk to the heart of St Anton .
The hosts Barbara and Christopher were wonderful hosts. They looked after us superbly.
Coffee in the morning was the best in St. Anton.
The rooms were large and comfortable and very traditional.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the same floor as front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31MonicaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at the Alkira for a ski weekend in February 2013. I was slightly sceptical before my trip as the hotel rate of EUR 90 per person for a double room seemed to be too good to be true. However, slightly after arrival, my concerns were totally gone. The owners welcomed us personally, made good restaurant recommendations and were simply very friendly. Our room was very spacious with great views on the mountains. The interior is typical Tyrolean and we felt like having our own Austrian cottage...Bed was very comfy, bathroom modern and the TV programme very extensive. Ski equipment can easily be stored in a dedicated room in the hotel. Breakfast selection was not overwhelming but absolutely ok. Good selection of local bread, sausages and cheese. Freshly brewed coffee a big plus. Lastly, the hotel nicely located, only a 5-10 mins walk away from St. Anton's main street. To sum up, the Alkira is a fantastic value for money hotel where ine feels very much at home and welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Alkira for 9 nights and were very comfortable there. While it is a bit of a walk up the hill after a long day of skiing, it is quiet and away from the noisey busier pedestrian area. Our deluxe room was large and comfortable. Beautifully decorated in austrian style with warm wood paneling and down comforters. Chris and Barbara are lovely smiling hosts and their girls are a delight. Chris gave us fabulous restaurant recommendations. He never steered us wrong!

Room Tip: Room #1 is a deluxe double with a sitting area and big windows with views of the mountain. We could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSkiSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a group of 5 stay at the Alkira last week and Christopher and Barbara could not have been more accommodating. They were extremely welcoming, knowledgeable about the skiing and did their best to make us all feel very welcome. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the ability to store your skis and boots at the Alber ski shop next to lifts was a nice touch.

Room Tip: WiFi was hit or miss in room 11 near the bed but seemed to work everywhere else in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#24 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#23 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl
#15 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Garni Alpin Life
Hotel Garni Alpin Life
#43 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grischuna
Hotel Grischuna
#13 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa Canina
Hotel Rosa Canina
#27 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkira

Property: Alkira
Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 27, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alkira 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet and sunny location only 500 meters from the village centre of Sankt Anton am Arlberg, Alkira offers accommodation with panoramic mountain views. It is a short 5 minute walk to the Galzigbahn Cable Car and a complimentary village bus stops 10 meters above the house. Alkira offers spacious rooms and apartments all furnished with warm wood and large bathrooms with a shower or a bathtub. All rooms and apartments are fitted with cable TV, free Wi-Fi access, safe, hairdrier and sitting area. All rooms and apartments have stunning mountain views and most have a balcony as well. A garden with a sunbathing terrace is surrounding Alkira and the wellness area includes a sauna, steam bath and fitness equipment. A freshly prepared breakfast show casing local produce is served daily. Make use of the complimentary ski storage adjacent to the cable car station or alternatively you can store your equipment in house. Free private parking of one car per room or apartment is provided at Alkira when requested at time of booking. Cross country skiing, hiking and mountain biking trails start 500 meters away. The closest restaurant is 50 meters away and a supermarket is 900m from the house. A wellness center with swimming pools, sauna and fitness facilities and an indoor climbing center are both 600 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Alkira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkira Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing