We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Himmlhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Himmlhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed with four friends for a short skiing break. Excellent hotel, with great hosts. Well-located. Great food. Fantastic wellness area - made up for the poor quality of the afternoon snow! Would return if we go back to St Anton. Also firmly recommend the Arlberg-Well spa centre and Pub 37 (great Guiness).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 440 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our entire family recently had the pleasure of staying at the Himmlhof last week and it exceeded every expectation I had. Margherita and Sebastian and the entire Himmlhof staff were amazingly warm and the loveliest people to host us. You can tell they take great care in every aspect of their hotel. I will truly miss the daily 4pm apres ski snacks hour and 7:30 am breakfast feast each day. We couldn't ask for a better location: the bus stop was literally around the corner, the Galzigbahn was a 5 minute walk through town, and the main street was a block away. We brought our 7 month old daughter with us and as a new mom, I was nervous about our babysitting options abroad. However, Margherita and Sebastian set us up with a wonderful lady, Monika, who helped babysit while my husband and I skied. Overall, they took care of us tremendously. We hope to return in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I came back to St Anton. Location is perfect; 5 minute walk from the train station and 50 meters from the main street. Close to everything (lift, sports center, restaurants, supermarket...) and yet quiet. Our room was large and well appointed. Wooden floors, large bathroom, balcony and walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The service is excellent. The owners and employees go out of their way to be both friendly and efficient. Breakfast is very good, and the ladies who serve it are terrific.
We also enjoyed the sauna and relaxation area, as well as the afternoon snacks.
The only thing that I would change is the internet service. It was quite unreliable and there were some odd usage limits (even though we only used for emails and basic browsing). Also, pick a room that faces the sunny side and on a top floor. Our room was quite dark most of the day and had no view, which is a bit of a bummer. But there seemed to be rooms that would have more light and a mountain view. All in all, though, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

A great little hotel. Lots of character, friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location for nightlife, skiing and station. Tucked away behind the Main Street so no noise from party goers. Arrangement with local ski rental so skis can be left at bottom of slopes.
We will be returning next year.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lml67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Where do I begin, we stayed at the Himmlhof hotel in St Anton this Christmas 2013, and it was the best family vacation. The Himmlhof is beautifully appointed, warm and welcoming, the owners Margarita and Sabastian, and their staff are wonderful, caring, and love their jobs/ hotel. From sitting at our same table in the morning with the girls bringing the little things that we all loved to the table without asking, to the warm conversation, made us feel like we were home. The other guests that were staying there were so friendly and enjoyable, we loved sharing stories at the beginning and end of our days. Christmas day was wonderful a beautiful Christmas tree all adorned with that magical Austrian flare in the lobby that we all shared was beautiful, a little gift for all of us was in our room with a beautiful Christmas ornament, very thoughtful. Tea and drinks after skiing were so nice the food was delicious and again great wine and wonderful loving service.
We had two rooms which were beautifully decorated and clean. The whole hotel is gorgeous!!!!
We would totally recomend this hotel to anyone, and will stay again when we travel back to St. Anton. Sabastian and Margarita are one of the nicest couples and made our stay perfect! I just wish they were able to give us more snow while we were there.

Room Tip: They are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavelinggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a great stay at the Himmlhof! We're a family of 4 - with kids 11 and 13. The family suite was perfect for us. It has two good sized bedrooms with two nicely appointed bathrooms and a sitting room in between. The closets are very large which is great for a ski holiday. The rooms were very clean and were typically cleaned in the morning whilst we were eating breakfast. I have no idea how they worked so quickly and efficiently.

We really enjoyed the breakfast each morning. There were staples each day - fruit, breads, yoghurt, eggs and then they made pancakes, French toast or other items as well.


We also loved the après ski snacks - fantastic cakes combined with typical Austrian specialties.

The spa was lovely - very clean, very quiet and relaxing. The water mattresses were the best.

The ski check at Jennewein was a big help and only about a 5 min walk away. You never have to carry your skis or walk in your boots.

Sebastian and Marguerite really made the stay great. They gave good dinner recommendations. They always took time to ask about the skiing and how our day was. The nicest thing was that they surprised our son with a cake on his birthday. They decorated our breakfast table with streamers and balloons and sang happy birthday to him. It could not have been nicer.

We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

From the first moment of our warm greeting after a long journey from Canada to the very last moment of our departure, our experience was simply incredible. Sebastien and Marguerite are so incredibly kind and warm and they've thought of every last detail in their offering to provide 100% perfection. From the warmly and immaculately decorated rooms (with such an amazing Austrian feel) to the incredibly delicious food and impeccable friendly service, we were never disappointed. They've even arranged handy ski and boot storage right at the bottom of the lift. The hotel is well situated with skiing a five minute walk away and lots of restaurants and a grocery store close by.

I can't wait to return to Himmelhof.....simply 'THE" Best place I've every stayed at. I would highly, highly recommend this charming guest house.

Room Tip: Suites 202 and 203 together is a large family area that easily sleeps 6 people with a comfortable si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canada2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himmlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himmlhof

Address: Im Gries 9, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#1 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $245 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Himmlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Himmlhof is unique - traditonal and intimate family run boutique hotel with attention to detail and understated luxury. Central but quiet location, warm, charming, alpine. European Luxury Boutique Hotel of the year 2017 - LUXURY TRAVEL GUIDE Boutique Hotel of the year - T & H ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Himmlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himmlhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Himmlhof St Anton Am Arlberg
Himmlhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing