We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great luxury boutique ski hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raffl's St. Antoner Hof
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great luxury boutique ski hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My son and I have just spent six days at the raffl st antonerhof.I booked without checking the reviews first and nearly cancelled my booking having read some on trip advisor before we departed.However we are extremely pleased we did not cancel our booking.We found the staff warm and friendly ,helpful and courteous at all times.The food was excellent every day.the breakfast buffet was well presented with freshly squeezed orange juice ,and warm breakfast dishes cooked to order.The evening dinner was super with fine ingredients cooked with some interesting twists and well presented.The quality was one of a fine dining restaurant in the uk. The wine list is impressive although for those buying with pounds a little expensive.
The spa was relaxing and welcome after a hard days skiing to help sooth our aching legs.
The style of the hotel decoration was tasteful mix of mountain rustic and city chic
In summary we both enjoyed our stay and found very little to complain about

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101david_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the St.Antonerhof for weeks skiing. The hotel owner Rikki welcomed us with open arms and made us feel right at home. This 5* hotel feels more like boutique hotel where the outside comes inside with rustic features and a roaring fire to warm you up after those hards days on the slopes.But with opulent surroundings that have been tastefully placed for comfort and style. All the staff are impeccably attentive and cater for your every need. The food is rich, plentiful and absolutely delicious. Even the apres ski snack in the afternoon is well presented and we had to be careful to save room for dinner which was always around 5 courses!!. The spa downstairs is just what you need to relax or take away those aches and pains from those tired legs with a hot tub and pool and small but well equipped gym and massage can be booked on request although we didn't use this service. We stayed in a junior suite and had plenty of room and the in room fire place made it feel even more special and cosy. We would love to return to this hotel one day and couldn't recommend it enough. Thank you Raffl's for a fantastic stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy16Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the St Antonerhof from 18-26 January. The staff were, without exception, very friendly and welcoming.

We stayed in the 'dependance' suite for 2 nights and in a junior suite in the main building for the other 6 nights. Both rooms had a great fireplace which was lit for us each day on request - we called and someone was there to light the fire within 5 minutes (at the most). The dependance suite is enormous (two huge bath/shower rooms - the bathroom has a freestanding bath for 2 and the shower is a rain shower) but didn't feel that atmospheric and is not in the main building - so going to the spa involved a walk outside. The junior suite room was spacious enough and in the main building so had more charm (in our opinion!) and direct access to the spa. Either suite could have an extra bed in the sitting room area.

The food is good. Dinners were of a consistently high standard - not michelin star standard but very good - we had no complaints. Service was friendly and attentive. I think earlier comments have been taken on board in that service is quite quick now - we were in no hurry so we just asked for 5/10 minutes or so between courses and that was fine. The wine list is excellent and provides an interesting and wide selection of Austrian wines to try together with the usual old world wines. We tended not to have room for cheese but there was a selection of at least 8-10 cheeses out every night. Breakfast was good, I would add prosciutto to the buffet - I asked one morning and it was duly produced though. There's a chef there to do omelettes etc on demand as well.

The bar is nice - I am not quite sure where the comments about it being for the locals to drink in come from - there was a mix of people, mostly guests I would think when we were there. Be under no illusions it is not a cheap bar so I would doubt that it is the local pub... Whatever the clientele the service was quick and friendly.

Spa was again very good - jacuzzi, in door infinity pool, sauna, steam room. Very clean and plenty of space to relax.

Only gripe would be being charged over 6 euros for a coke from the mini bar (when the in room menu said under 4 euros...that should be fixed!!) but in the scheme of things that is pretty academic. Note also that it is not in the pedestrianised centre of St Anton - but it is a 2 minute walk to the main street and 5 minutes to the Galzigbahn (or take the free car).

This is not a cheap hotel (budget 100 euros a night for an aperitif and bottle of wine on top of the half board) but, from the perspective of the suites, it is a very nice place to stay. We would come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I had booked St. Antoner Hof for what we hoped to be a lovely 5 day ski trip on first class. But boy were we wrong! The so-called 5-star status of St. Antoner Hof is as misplaced as it could possibly be. The worst part of the hotel is clearly the service, which seem to be catering more to the locals drinking in the extremely noisy bar, than to hotel guests like us. Then there's the restaurant claiming to serve magnificent food. Again a misunderstanding of major proportions: while they serve a 5 course dinner each dish is not better than what you will get at any other average mountain 2 or 3 star hotel - perhaps even worse as its highly pretentious. The staff overall seems to have forgotten what hospitality means and is more worried about serving the hotel owners than the guests. Quite a modern "Fawlty Towers" which is better to be watched abd laughed of on TV than being there in reality. Never St. Antoner Hof again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vvli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

together with a few colleagues I visited the hotel during a ski week-end in januatry 2013. Even though arrival was delayed to middle in the night staff stayed put and served us a delicious meal. Rooms are very nicely decorated and one of our romms very spacious. We had a half-board arrangement and therfore ate both breakfast and dinner - both very good and enjoyable. The hotel offers a ski shuttle, even though the main ski lift to the slopes is in good walking distance (less than 5 minutes walk). Also ski passes and other services are automaticvally offered by extremely friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband, myself and 2 teenage sons have just returned form a weeks stay at St Antoner Hof. This hotel was very disappointing with poor service. Despite stating that there is wifi in all rooms when we arrived on saturday lunchtime our wifi was not working. The engineer came out that afternoon but couldn't get it to work. He promised to have someone there on sunday. However when we returned from skiing on the sunday no one had turned up and it still wasn't working. My husband pointed out that he needed it for work and our sons wanted to use it. When we got back from skiing on the Monday it was working. However, this was now 2 days into a 7 night stay.
The service in the restaurant was unbelievably slow. It was generally a 5 course dinner. We would regularly have 2 courses served within 10 minutes of each other and then wait 45 minutes to 1 hour for the next course! They have no idea how to serve in a fine dining restaurant. On 3 nights we left before the cheese course as it was by then so late. The gala dinner on Christmas Eve took 2 1/2 hours to serve and we left before the final course. In the end we had to take card games down to the dining room to pass the time.
On Thursday there was live music. Our rooms were directly over the bar - my head was vertically 6 feet from the band. The noise was deafening. We rang down to find out what time it was finishing and they said 12.30. We complained so they said it would stop at 12. It did stop - only to be replaced by recorded music still very loud. At 1am I put on my skiing hat and some earphones to try and drown out the noise - but I could still sing along to every word being played. Needless to say I was exhuasted for ourt final days skiing. Ths was more like a night club than a 5 star hotel.
The final straw was when we came to check out. There were some discrepancies on the bill (someone else's bar bill) and also some items from the mini bar that were dated for our first day of arrival. We had not eaten these and clearly the mini bar had not been checked before we arrived. When I pointed out that we hadn't taken these the receptionist just looked at me and said "well anyone could say that couldn't they". I was absolutely flabbergasted to be accused of lying over 3 items from a mini bar when the bill for our weeks stay came to 13,500 euros.
I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been in St Anton almost every year for the past 12 years and really enjoy the city and surroundings. But both me and my wife agree that its the first and last time we will ever stay at St. Antoner Hof. Firstly, the rooms are quite small - even the so-called junior suite which we stayed in felt very compressed and the bath room even smaller with a poorly working shower. Not at all what we had expected when we saw the home page of the hotel. At night it is quite noisy and the restaurant is mediocre - not better that what we could get on the mountain. We look forward returning to lovely St Anton but surely not in St. Antoner Hof.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
#25 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Tannenhof
Hotel & Restaurant Tannenhof
#38 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Das Mooser Hotel
Das Mooser Hotel
#34 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffl's St. Antoner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffl's St. Antoner Hof

Property: Raffl's St. Antoner Hof
Address: Arlbergstrasse 69, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#25 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffl's St. Antoner Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forged in a tradition of genuine hospitality. Borne by the passion and dedication of the Raffl family. Celebrated by the devoted staff. A piece of Tyrol with courageous individual style. In every respect on fire. St. Antonerhof is the most enigmatic 5-star hotel in St Anton am Arlberg. It's bewitching. The "RAFFL'S ST. ANTONER HOF" is situated in the centre of St. Anton, just behind the pedestrian area, about a 3 minutes walk from the ski runs. Our ski depot is at INTERSPORT ARLBERG, directly at the lifts. There you can store skis and boots free of charge. There, ski hire is possible too. We certainly also will arrange the ski passes for you, so that you don't have to do anything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raffl's St. Antoner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Antoner Hof
Raffl's St. Antoner Hof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing