We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely Staff BUT”
Review of Hotel Montjola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montjola
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Positives:-
Lovely staff who were always cheerful and did their best to help whenever needed. Hotel facilities were good in particular the fact that there was a sauna, steam room and hot tub were very welcome after a hard day on the slopes.
The rooms were nicely decorated, just about comfortable for 2 and the fact that the TV has a few UK channels was particularly good.
The hotel was an easy 10 to 15 minutes walk downhill into the town, and the minibus service rarely kept us long and were very willing to cart us around within St Anton up until 8pm.
Overall Breakfast was good and very efficient at serving us quickly.
The wines served with dinner were fine and the cost of upgrading to other options was reasonable.

Negatives :-
The biggest disappointment for us was the quality of the food served at dinner.The VIP SKI video describes the food as being "sumptuous", but reality fell very short of the videos expectations: I had a salmon steak that had been cooked before it had been properly defrosted, a dish that was described as Gnocchi with Baby Vegetables ended up being ravioli with large new potatoes with green peas is a very floury cream sauce. I had the feeling that the menu was too difficult for the kitchen to cope with to any kind of reasonable standard.

The room was kept very cool (we had room 201) with no way to increase the heat. Usually I don’t mind a cooler room (certainly better than an overheated one), but ours got so cold one night I had a chill in my neck which totally wiped out a day of boarding, which was a complete waste of equipment rental and incurred costs to have physio to try and relieve the pain, plus more importantly a massive disappointment to miss out on a day on the slopes for something that wasn’t even sport related. It would be better to have some level of heat control to at least keep the chill out of the air. It would have been nice to have a hot bathroom radiator so that we could dry our clothes.

Ski Hosting:- as a boarder I found the hosts weren’t very well versed in how to cope with us. They generally forgot to point out long flats or uphills in advance and didn’t seem to realise that it is best to wait at the crest of a hill and not on a flat section or just short of the crest to save us hopping or worse still having to take binding off and on again. Overall they lost patience with us and generally stated we were too slow for the other guests so we were left to our own devices, which was also disappointing given that one of the main draws for VIP was the hosting.

Flight out with Monarch from Gatwick was a misery, even giving ourselves 2 hours to check in was very tight as there were at least 4 flights checking in at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikster_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just returned from a great week at the Hotel Montjola with my family - comfortable hotel with lovely young helpful staff. The position of the hotel is not the best but the driver service and locker facility meant that we did not have to walk anywhere. However if you have the energy to go into town(après ski is mad) after dinner you do need to get a taxi. Nicely furnished rooms although some were a little small. Ski guiding days were good fun with the help of Callam and Sam. The hot tub and wellness centre was lovely addition after a day skiing. My only criticism would be our room was one of our rooms was above the bar/reception and it was very noisy at night.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the bar/reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for a week with VIP on a skiing trip. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from town up a hill. However VIP provide an on demand driver service from 8am till 8pm which was fast and effective. The drivers were always helpful and would go out of their way to assist in any way they could.

Food in the hotel was excellent with good choices and a range of meal times to suit. Wine included with dinner was of a good standard and again there was a choice.

The room we had (205) was spacious with good facilities including an I-pod doc sound system and DAB radio which was a nice touch. There was a flat screen tv too.

All these good points were topped by a special team. Every member of the VIP staff was dedicated to making sure everyone had a great stay. Attention to detail was everyone's focus and the service was faultless.

We took advantage of ski hosting on one day and Callum and Sam did a great job, both enviably talented skiers and excellent hosts.

Room Tip: As stated we had 205. It had a great view and was very quiet. A lift was just outside the door if ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband,daughter and I have just returned from a week over Christmas, and in a word "superb". However the flight out with Monarch was dreadful - checkin at Gatwick took close to 2 hrs with horrendous queues. We then had to literally sprint through security to get to the gate. On top of that the service on the flight was shambolic and they ran out of food - pretty poor considering a breakfast time flight! However once we arrived at Freidrichshafen and met VIP Ski everything went smoothly. Fruit, water and snacks on coach and good information by reps on short transfer. The coach drops you at the station where bags and you are swiftly transferred to taxis for the short drive up the hill. The hotel is lovely. Rooms nicely furnished. Bathrooms small but efficient. Food and wine abundant and excellent quality. Very social and several evening events over Christmas week and for this reason we only went into town one night after dinner. The hotel is up a steep hill which is fine walking down but more difficult coming back. However during peak times they run a constant shuttle to the centre and you can leave your skis and boots at lockers in town. Ski hosting was excellent on both days we did it - big thanks to the wonderful Leo and Callum. And to be honest one of the things that made it for us were the staff all of whom were friendly, chatty and nothing was ever too much trouble. If I was to be really pedantic I would suggest tea/coffee making facilities in room and a change from the Monarch flights. But overall a fab holiday and and already want to book again next year! A BIG thank you to Adam and all the team. We loved it.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Quality from start to finish, they have thought of everything and nothing is too much trouble.
The lovely Klaus gives you an authentic warm Austrian welcome and Tim ensures the quality of service given measures with what is expected from his British clientele.
The staff are professional and friendly (Vanessa) in the restaurant was extremely helpful and also gave us excellent advice on places to go and things to do locally.
The early supper for children with movie night afterwards allowed the parents a relaxing evening meal and peace of mind that they were safe.
The shuttle to the town meeting point was most convenient and close to the ski equipment shop and the lifts.
I would have put the jacuzzi at the front of the hotel in the sun. It was still good fun though.
Prepare to consume some very good quality rich food, we thoroughly enjoyed the local speciality dishes (whilst in Rome and all that)
I would highly recommend this hotel and company and look forward to the opportunity of returning next year hopefully with family and friends.

Thank you

Room Tip: The rooms on the lowest floor are great for families and for those who like to have some outdoor spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinniesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The service was great, the food was excellent, the staff were friendly & very helpful and the manager Klaus is a credit to VIP....

Thank you to everyone at Hotel Montjola for a very enjoyable, relaxing and memorable week.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laneybish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel run exclusively by VIP SKI and staffed mainly by rich kids on gap years. Hotel is clean and well run and the staff friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Good fast breakfast service though the coffee was annoyingly always lukewarm. Afternoon tea with cakes at 5pm was very welcome and three course evening meal with wine was good quality and efficiently served. Hotel is about 10 min from the lifts but didn't matter as the staff were always on hand to taxi the guests down and were waitng to bring us back without prompting at the end of the day. Lovely holiday enhanced by the hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schneider Hof Hotel Garni
Schneider Hof Hotel Garni
#21 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grischuna
Hotel Grischuna
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa Canina
Hotel Rosa Canina
#29 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montjola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montjola

Address: Gastigweg 25+29, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#27 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $80 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montjola 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montjola is run by luxury ski operator, VIP SKI. Situated just above the centre of town, it has 34 spacious and luxurious bedrooms over seven floors. All bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with cable flat screen TV, WiFi and hairdryer. Many have balcony or terrace with spectacular views. Choose from twin, double or Austrian twin rooms, plus family rooms with double sofa bed or child single beds, and suites of 3 and 5 rooms perfect for groups wanting all the intimacy of a private hallway. Our efficient shuttle buses provide convenient and comfortable access to the slopes throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montjola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montjola Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing