We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiing the Tyrol..”
Review of Hotel Montjola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montjola
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Skiing the Tyrol..”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a regular to VIP ski I was eager to try the newly refurbished and VIP operated Hotel in St Anton. As with all VIP arrangements, slick ad smooth and friendly and welcoming staff who always engage with the customer. A shame the holiday started with the farce that is Monarch airlines, South terminal , London Gatwick. Poor check in and then with no announcement the flight us operated by Titan Airways..even VIP were not aware...with the flight refreshment offered as " cup of water and fruit cake" ..a rubbish start to what should have been the VIP level of service. Why is ït that the travel element of an expensive holiday , generally lacks all acceptable standards? Monarch..never again. The Hotel Monjola, after a smooth transfer in the capable hands of the VIP team, is a well run recently part refurbished 1930s hotel up a steep hill above St Anton. Generally the hotel worked okay but here are " buts" which VIP would do well to address;
Dining room lighting harsh and not much room. ( not helped by the selfish people with small children and giant buggies..please..it's a ski holiday!! )
The public area of lobby and bar not that inviting ...toddlers again!
The hot tub..capacity 4 ..for upwards of 60 guests...never got to it though the sauna and steam very good for the skiing muscles. Massage not promoted..good opportunity for VIP.?
Why not put the bath robes in the rooms?
Minor moan on the dining room operation...staff training , look at the tables and clear plates rather than ignore. Dining room would benefit from a Maitre ' D to work the service better.

The good bits...engaging , helpful staff. Good food and great choice for breakfast.
Smooth transfer and efficient bag management. Shuttle service very good.

Overall..a fine attempt for VIP Ski and no doubt with some refurbishment and staff training this will be a very popular choice in St Anton. ( not so handy for post dinner walk to the action in town- but quiet ) ..Monarch flight aside..well done VIP..a very good company that values its guests and service.

Room Tip: Any room above the reception level . Corner rooms and balconies nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSPFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week in the Hotel Montjola in February of this year and had a very enjoyable time. The VIP Ski staff were excellent - friendly and helpful without being at all over the top. We found the rooms perfectly good although we were on the floor beneath reception which meant that the views weren't fantastic, but still ok. The food was excellent overall with just a couple of misses in the latter part of the week. The shuttle bus was incredibly handy and very reliable. The village itself is postcard pretty but beware - eating and drinking out is an expensive business in St Anton!
Overall, we found the holiday to be excellent, despite not being chalet lovers! Big shout outs must go to Tim, Alex and Toby, who went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the seventh level as apparently they have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a great week at the Montjola. As said before the staff are extremely helpful and the pick up from St Anton and drop off are saviours. The food was good apart from one meal that was not up to the usual standard. The champagne receptions (3 in all because they were filming a promotion) very pleasant. We liked the quiz and I felt there could have been a few more things like this to encourage interaction between guests and they're groups. The feel was more of a hotel than a chalet. The hot tub, steam and sauna room were lovely although quite busy and we had to wait quite a while on occasions for a place in the hot tub. The tvs and music players were excellent with iphone/ipod docking as well. The intersport rental service and storage in town is excellent. The tea service in the morning was lovely and always on time. Beds were very soft and comfy but we did have trouble with over-hot rooms at times and needed the large windows open to cool the rooms down. We had one niggle and that was to do with a missing caterpillar cake - not a big deal - but staff offered to look after it and then it was thrown away! Not the end of the world but moral of the story - do not hand over your caterpillar cake (or anything else you consider precious) for safe-keeping!

Room Tip: As said before we were on the bottom floors (under reception) and although we had balconies they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks skiing in st Anton staying at the montjola. The staff really make this hotel special. Nothing is too much trouble and they are all too happy to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Klaus especially is a character. We enjoyed out chats with him. The food was excellent... Champagne and canopies on arrival and departure and all the table wine you can drink accompanied by three course meals every night and tea and cake in the afternoons after a hard day skiing. The shuttle bus to and from the gondola each day was regular and prompt. The only suggestion I would make is that the rooms would benefit from tea and coffee making facilities. I missed my morning tea in bed!

Thank you montjola and VIP ski. We would definitely recommend you to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just returned with my wife last weekend from 7 days at Hotel Montjola courtesy of booking through Ski Solutions and being hosted by VIP Ski. We had a really fantastic time - Klaus, Tim and the whole VIP team were extremely welcoming, looked after us well and always had smiley faces and pleased to help. Makes such a difference having attentive and happy staff. The hotel itself is great - location a few minutes outside of the main St Anton "strip" means it is quiet and peaceful at night yet only 2 mins in the hotels transfer shuttles to centre / slopes. Room was v comfortable, spacious with sofa and large new flat screen TV and nice touch of some Molton Brown shampoo etc in the bathroom - nice powerful shower as well and never any probs with lack of hot water which we have experienced before in other hotels/chalets. The ski hosting was a brilliant inclusion as well - skiing the full White Circle with staff that know the way takes all the hassle out of it and made for thoroughly good skiing in great company. We didn't end up using the spa area but it looked good as well. Tip - you can ask for coffee/tea to be delivered to your room so you get the perfect wake up call every morning! We would definitely go back

Room Tip: Go to the VIP Ski website and you can access the floor plan for the hotel to ensure you select a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieH491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from a jolly week thanks to Klaus, Tim and team, and good snow conditions.

After a long gap -1980 - returning to St Anton was great. More north facing slopes will help when sunny but why can we not ski anymore to Zurs and Lech from St Anton. Such a potentially huge ski area is being wasted as the buses are fine but a bit of a pain and timewasting.

The Rodel Hutte / Alm is as we remembered - great spot - and there are plenty of other hostleries @ though we missed the OOmpah OOmpah bands up the mountain.

So -in the hotel - pillows to die for - Roger Moore would love them. Endless bed. Great room - go for 701 / 602. Sofa in the room would have put the icing on the cake.

Negatives? well it's early days for the team and some minor details will get ironed out but attention to detail guys! Food is average - more hotel than chalet style and will benefit from some care to both menu and ingredients -the highlights were the austrian dishes, the steak - apart from the poor ventilation in the kitchen - but hey great steak.

If the bar area gets sorted next summer with a proper snug then this will be a great spot. And whynot go by train - less strain - direct into town.

Room Tip: they are all good as far as we could see but 701/602 are bigger than most. 2 floors below entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robanniejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've just come back from a week in Hotel Montjola and it proved to be a very good choice for a cracking time on the slopes of St Anton.
Montjola is a family-owned hotel, but is run by a team from VIP Ski.
My girlfriend and I booked our holiday through VIP and they provided an excellent level of service. Transfers from the hotel to St Anton were trouble free, and included nice touches like snacks, fruit and water on the coach. The transfer from Friedrichshafen airport in Germany took around 90 minutes.
On the first and last evenings pre-dinner champagne and canapes were served, a nice touch.
The VIP staff we dealt with were mainly in their 20s and from the UK. The company has chosen well as they were all very courteous and mature with good knowledge and banter.
The hotel manager is an Austrian chap called Klaus who is a real character.
The hotel itself is quite traditional in layout, but has recently been renovated, with work finishing at the end of 2012. The furniture is quite modern, as is the distinctive art work.
Our room was one the second floor and proved very homely. It had a great view up one side of the valley (see photo) which I really value on a holiday in the mountains. There was a communal balcony close by. The bathroom was of moderate size but was modern and perfectly fine for our needs.
The facilities include a steam room (very handy), a sauna and outdoor hot tub which we used frequently.
We found the gourmet menu served in Montjola's kitchen to be to a mostly very good standard. The cooked breakfasts were great, though the evening meal missed the mark a couple of times and some of the staff were still finding their feet in terms of dealing with lots of people at once, but I'm sure this was down to their relative inexperience and will improve. This was the exception rather than the rule though.
Hotel Montjola is located a 10 minute walk up hill from the main roundabout at the top of St Anton's main street, where your skiing is likely to begin and end every day.
It's the main hub of the town.
This is where the Galzig and Rendelbahn bubbles are located, and also the Intersport ski shop where we and most of our fellow guests hired their gear.
VIP has a deal there so its guests can leave their skis and boots in the shop overnight - very handy.
The bus station to take you to the more far-flung fields of Zurs and Lech is right next to this shop.
It's also the point where you're likely to emerge after a heavy Apres Ski session at the Mooserweg or Krazy Kangaruh bars up the mountain!
VIP offers frequent shuttles up and down the hill which are excellent. We never waited more than 5 minutes to go down in the morning, and getting a lift back up the hill in the evening was really easy, by either waiting at a collection point by the Intersport store, or calling a driver down from the hotel. They were more than happy to pop down immediately whenever we called them, which was great service.
We walked up a few times and, although a bit of a trek, was no real problem.
Overall the staff were extremely helpful and sorted the couple of special requests we had promptly and we left with the impression of an enthusiastic team who would bend over backwards to help.
We enjoyed our stay and would be happy to book at Montjola again.

Room Tip: As with all alpine holidays, having a room facing out into the valley is always best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fahrner
Hotel Fahrner
#35 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grischuna
Hotel Grischuna
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpenhof Hotel
Alpenhof Hotel
#52 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#24 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montjola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montjola

Property: Hotel Montjola
Address: Gastigweg 25+29, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#27 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montjola 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for this season, the Hotel Montjola has been taken over by luxury ski operator, VIP SKI. Situated just above the centre of town, it has 33 spacious and luxurious bedrooms over seven floors, which have been newly refurbished over the summer . All bedrooms have en suite bathrooms with cable flatscreen TV, WiFi and hairdryer. Many have balcony or terrace with spectacular views. Choose from twin, double or Austrian twin rooms, plus family rooms with double sofa bed or child single beds, and suites of 3 and 5 rooms perfect for groups wanting all the intimacy of a private hallway. Our efficient shuttle buses provide convenient and comfortable access to the slopes throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montjola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montjola Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing