We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
74
72
29
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
72
29
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtesy bus steep hill hotel bus soup sauna complex great indoor pool farmers buffet main course excellent atmosphere st anton ski gear friendly hotel evening meal breakfast was buffet style good size bath shower on a half board basis
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 193 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Booked for week snowboarding holiday. First Choice. £790 pp DBB. The hotel is up a short hill from the resort centre but we did not find this to be a problem as when heading to/from the slopes the minibus ran every 5 mins, and took 2 mins to reach the bottom of the slopes. At night, with a few beers enjoyed earlier, the hill didn't seem as steep!

Fantastic food especially the evening meal. Staff were all very friendly. Lovely spa facilities- small pool which we had to ouselves whenever we used it. Sauna/Steamroom to help ease the aching joints, again not too busy. Room clean and nicely decorated.

Would definitely stay at the Kertess again as the hill was not enough of a problem and was more than made up for by the quality of the hotel. Saw some other hotels- Moosekreuz was too far from the main centre, Best Western looked great 4* , with leisure facilitis and in resort centre but not available when we were booking. Preferred the more personable welcome of the Kertess and it felt like a traditional Austrian Hotel not just a chain hotel.

St Anton itself had good snow when we were there and we were lucky to get fresh powder and plenty sunshine so perfect conditions. My only complaint was that a lot of the runs were not well groomed and had lot of moguls which as an intermediate boarder I found frustrating. Not likely to return to St Anton for this reason but then there's so many other places to go that I don't tend to go back to the same place twice!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scotstraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here the second week in Feb with my husband & his family. Six of us in total. Have to say, contrary to reviews I had read on this place I was well pleased. The rooms were really nipping clean & very roomy which is ideal when you have all your ski gear. My only gripe would be that our room faced the road (but someones had to!!) My nieces had rooms looking over the slopes out the back. The service here was fantastic. By the end of the first night the barman (who was always immaculately dressed) knew our round and had it ready before we'd even waited to be served. The restuarant staff (breakfast & evening meal) well really good too. Attentive and thorough. We even negotiated alternative desserts on a number of the nights. The menu was typically Austrian but what do you want in Austria??
Had a massage a couple of times followed by the sauna & steam when we got back from a hard day on the piste and that was fab!! The girl doing the massages had absolutely no mercy!!!
All in all it was a very good holiday. Any complaints you hear about having to walk up the hill.........?? C'mon, when you are skiing in such a fab resort and all the slopes meet at the bottom there are bound to be places up the hills and to be totally honest we found if we walked up the hill rather than jump on the courtesy bus it really stretched out the calves before they stiffened up.
If it's mental, skedental on the piste day and night you are looking for this hotel isn't for you but if it is genuine warmth, cleanliness and a good meal at the end of one day to set you up in good stead for the next then this is the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank samjay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed for seven days at Hotel Kertess. In contrast to the negative reviews below, we were very satisfied with the hotel. The room was clean, appropriately sized and with comfortably beds. We managed to get a room with a balcony overlooking the slopes at Rendl, which admitted was a major improvement from the room we were given initially which faced the road and did not have a balcony. The only thing we missed was a water boiler so we could make ourselves a cup of coffee at the room. The 4 course dinner in the restaurant was delcious and of a higher standard than we had previously experienced at Austrian hotels. The pool was definately not cold. We did not try the sauna or massage. The staff was always friendly and professional. The shuttle service was extremely convenient for getting to and from the slopes and if the driver did not seem to want to talk we just let him concentrate on driving. Without skiboots you could easily walk to the central street of St. Anton and back again. The hill is steep but provided a good excercise to the muscles after skiing. We talked about how pleased we were with the hotel being located away from the nightlife of St. Anton.
All in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TCPCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We were a group of four thirty-something (single) skiers and were a little worried after reading some of the reviews on here. Needlessly so! The rooms were lovely and spacious and in great condition (plenty of storage and not tiny in the least - which has often been my experience of chalets).
Food was plentiful and fresh (although we had something a little odd the first night...!) and the service was never an issue.
Another plus was the pool and leisure facilities.
The only slight drawback was the uphill climb after a few beers. The down hill walk was about 10 mins to the Galzig lift, the uphill climb depended on how many beers you'd had! A cab from the centre would cost 8 Euros and would take about 2 mins but it was worth it!
Hotel Kertess does give you free ski/boot lockers (which close at 6.30pm) so you don't have to trek those up and down the hill and there is a free shuttle bus (but it only runs at sociable hours). Don't let this put you off - you are away from the noisy main street in St Anton and the facilities out-weighed the climb for us.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DixieChickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Hotel Kertess. The hotel is delightful and we had a wonderful time. It about 1km away from the main road which made it attractive in terms of getting away from the notorious reputation that St Anton has of revelling ski bums and all night partiers. The Hotel offered a shuttle service to and from the hotel to the town so if you did not feel like the hike back up you needed to be done with skiing and ready to catch the shuttle by 6pm.

We were a group of 6 people and although the rooms were a little small and only a shower available it was adequate although I am not sure what the criteria is to be nominated a 4-star hotel - we stayed in rooms 302, 303 and 304 and although we got the smallest of the 3 rooms (302) it was ok.

We had booked for 6 nights at 876 Euros including a 6-day ski pass and dinner, bed and breakfast which I thought is the average value of a skiiing holiday.

Breakfast consisted of a buffet of a lovely continental spread with cheeses and pastries and cold meats etc. as well as a hot breakfast or cereal. Dinner was a pre-prepared menu and no evening was the same. The only issue we had with communicating our food preferences was that there was one couple that could not eat pork and because of the language gap it was entertaining in trying to communicate that they could not eat it but there were alternatives on the menu. It consisted of 2 starters, a selection from 3 main dishes and dessert. The dessert was not that great and for a country renowned for its desserts we were a little disappointed. The coffee was also not that great.

The hotel also had its own sauna, steam room and Kneipp shower and foot baths as well as a heated pool. I did not try out the pool but the sauna and steam room (small) and shower were adequate. The relaxation section with loungers however had a radiator that was not working so it did get a little cold even though there were blankets available. I also made use of the after ski massage service which was great - 28 Euros for 25 mins leg and foot massage.

We only tried out Terra Rossa in the town for a coffeee and that became our regular stop for a decent cup of coffee during our stay. Their thick hot chocolate was out of this world!

Overall I would say this was an adequate hotel. Perhaps not the most luxurious, but if you are happy with just getting a good nights rest and a decent meal and a warm sauna and massage after a heavy day of skiing I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalkingBoots1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews