We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Banyan(St. Anton am Arlberg)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Der Waldhof(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genusshotel Das Sonnbichl(St. Anton am Arlberg)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alte Post(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rosa Canina(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schwarzer Adler(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$156
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel am Dorfplatz(St. Anton am Arlberg)(Great Value!)
$106
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skihotel Galzig(St. Anton am Arlberg)(Great Value!)
$111
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valluga Hotel(St. Anton am Arlberg)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
72
70
27
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
70
27
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bussteep hillhotel bussauna complexgreat indoor poolfarmers buffetmain courseexcellent atmospheresoupst antonski gearfriendly hotelevening mealbreakfast was buffet stylegood sizebath showeron a half board basis
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 187 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We did enjoy this hotel very much. Room was perfect and clean. Small spa ok, steam bad should be improved. Staff was very welcome. Hotel is not far away from the ski station and organize a lift. During the weekend the hotel was very busy in the restaurant and we did had a 2h30 dinner... Only negative point during the stay, the old woman who seems to be the boss seems to be very agressive with the staff in front of the costumers, very bad attitude I thing. I would stay back their. We get a last minute deal with HRS. The station is overall quite expensive but very nice

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MathiasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you don't mind the walk up the steep hill (you can always get a cab or the hotel bus) then this is a welcoming hotel that serves a great selection of breakfast as well as having a small lounge bar that seems to stay open for as long as you want it to.

The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and professional.

Most rooms didn't seem to have much of a view and are pretty basic but were clean with a decent bed.

If you're skiing all day and doing apres ski all night then the hotel offers a decent location near both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

A weeks stay in Feb we were well looked after by all the staff . Food was of good standard and variety only the mid course buffet disappointed with a lack of variety. The sauna and pool were al kept to a high standard as were the rooms by an excellent daily maid service.
We'd would definitely return again thanks for a great week !

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jontyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Prior to going to this hotel, we read the reviews on this website and felt a little nervous as some of the comments weren't exactly positive.

Our personal experience of this hotel was positive and I wanted to add our review to possibly placate any guests heading out to this hotel.

We felt that for the price we paid, this hotel ticked all the boxes and were very happy with the service we got.

Also, after reading several complaints about the smoky conditions in the bar, we would like to challenge any previous reviewer to point us to a bar in St Anton where people are not constantly smoking - we doubt it exists, but please correct us if we are wrong. We did not find the smoke unbearable in comparison to many of the bars in resort we visited and there was absolutely no trace of it in the bedroom (apart from the smoked clothes we dragged into it).

Pros:

- The 6 course dinner will not leave you wanting more after a hard day on the slopes! The food was well prepared and there are normaly 2 or 3 options for your main course. I particularly enjoyed the Tirolean buffet, the roast pork has lovely and succulent

- The room was very clean, warm and tidy when we came back every day.

- The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with any questions/requests we had.

- The wellness area was fairly quiet at around 6-7pm and child free, although I can't comment on school holiday periods. Contrary to another reviewer's opinion, I did not find the pool to be too cold (man up!). The swim & sauna routine after skiing really helped my legs throughout the week.

- We did not use it (we preferred to walk and stretch our legs), but the hotel shuttle minibus regularly shot past us up and down the hill carrying guests to and from the town during operating times. The walk takes approximately 10 minutes uphill and exploring parallel streets along the hill was also good fun.

- Although not strictly part of the hotel, the free ski storage arrangement they have with a shop at the bottom of the hill is excellent. No need to worry about taking your skis/snowboards and boots up the hill (although there is a storage area in the hotel should you prefer to keep them there or you drink into the evening in the bars). They were also kind enough to sharpen our skis for free after we discovered the Nevis Sport in Aviemore did an awful job of it (avoid that lot at all costs...but that's another review!).

- Good sized window ledges to place items on such as the odd beer for cooling... :)

Cons:

- Although it ticks all of the boxes, it is perhaps not the most luxurious 4* hotel available in resort.

- We didn't consider this a negative since we enjoy walking, but we can see how the location, 10 minutes up the hill could disuade/disapoint people. We also felt that whilst it's not in the most central of locations, there is the advantage of not hearing the apres ski whilst you are trying to sleep.

- The breakfast range is extensinve but not quite as impressive as the dinner.

- It would have been nice to have had a bigger window in the room to look out of.

Whilst it seems like I've mentioned a few cons here, we found it very easy to look past them and had a brilliant time here. Would return in a heart beat!

Hope this settles the nerves of those guests who like us felt a little nervous reading these reviews prior to heading out there :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

On the positive, the restaurant staff were friendly and the place was generally tidy.

On the downside

- The food was subpar compared to other similarly-rated hotels in the resort. The standard and variety of ingredients for dinners and especially for breakfast left me with a sense that cost control considerations outweigh the desire to provide guests with great Austrian hospitality. For example, the breakfast buffet stays the same every day with a selection of 3 cereals, juice from concentrate, 2 choices of ham, 2 cheeses, preserved fruit bowl and a selection of breads.
- The wine list is severely overpriced
- The rooms were not more than ok with very basic furnishings and bedding. Being on the top floor meant that because of the sloping roof, I could not stand upright in the shower
- 10pm curfew is religiously enforced and the place becomes completely deserted with staff vanishing as well
- This was the most Spartan 4* hotel I have ever seen

The ‘cost-consciousness’ of hotel management/owners came to light as I requested for a partial refund for unused nights because I had to cut my holiday 4 days short (out of the total of 7) due to fractured knee (presenting hospital report and evidence of changed flights). There were no concessions offered. Just the reference to the terms of booking. All this was communicated by the owner via a receptionist despite her being perfectly fluent in English the previous night.

Fair enough to take such a stance, but I left with a bitter taste and an absolute determination to take my custom to a business with a more human face and which puts guests as their priority.

Alas, with virtually no accommodation availability in peak times, this place will continue to ‘delight’ visitors with their stinginess but if you can, do try to avoid it.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews