We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
73
70
28
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
70
28
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bussteep hillhotel bussoupsauna complexgreat indoor poolfarmers buffetmain courseexcellent atmospherest antonski gearfriendly hotelevening mealbreakfast was buffet stylegood sizebath showeron a half board basis
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 189 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We spent a week at the Hotel Kertess having paid for the hotel in advance for our 7 night accommodations. We feel that the four star rating seriously misrepresents the quality of the hotel and that what we paid for the hotel was excessive. Let me amplify.

After our six and a half hour drive from Prague to St. Anton, we arrived at the hotel at 8:30 pm and were shown to our rooms ---- the first was in the basement. I mean really a basement with water pipes and a long, narrow corridor. The room faced the alley. The second room for our son and his wife, was under the eaves of the third floor of the hotel. Its sloping walls didn't allow my husband to stand. The view, if you could call it that was of the side of the hotel. The room was dark and noisy since it was adjacent to the road.

We had anticipated a wonderful and luxurious week with our son and his wife and instead we were sleeping in the basement and in the attic. After much tooing and froing the owner reluctantly agreed to find other accommodations for us. Our son moved the next day and we moved two days later. We were offered a cheap bottle of wine for our inconvenience. If that had been the last of the problems, I wouldn't be writing this complaining review. Unfortunately, each day there were some minor or major slights or examples of poor service that really affected our holiday:

- The water in the indoor pool was cold ---- no apre ski swimming for us!
- Our waiter was rude and incompetent consistently delivering only some appetizers or desserts to us, seemingly forgetting to deliver the last one or two to the rest of us. When we reminded him that items were missing he rudely indicated that we needed to wait several minutes more. On other occasions, he delivered the wrong items to us, insisting that we had ordered them.
- On New year's eve, as we anticipated an intimate dinner for the four of us, unlike the previous evenings, we were seated with another couple. We were not asked nor were we told ahead of time about these arrangements.
- One evening we asked if we could move our dinner to an hour and a half earlier and were flatly told "no" by the rude waiter.
- The van driver who drove us to the ski lifts was extremely nasty --- slamming the door on my son who was attempting to get off the van to be with his wife who was not allowed to get into the van even though there was ample room for her.
- There were no itemized bills to determine if our incidental charges were correct. Eventually we were able to review the hotel's records which were confusing and difficult to reconcile.

We agreed that we had never experienced such poor service in any hotel anywhere we had traveled. We have been to Austria a number of times and this quality of service is certainly the exception.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank taliesgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

The rooms were lovely and clean. couldnt fault them. the staff were more friendlier as the week went on. Johnny our driver was very helpful. the only let down was the choice available on the menu. for breakfast, there was cereal, - muesli, yoghurt, different breads, different jams, scrambled egg, toast, and cheese with different meats and pate. evening menu was placed on your table at breakfast , and was soup, 1 choice! two main courses which was either meat or vegetarian! and 1 sweet. if you didnt like it then you got a omelette!!! the meals we had were, meat loaf, with veg and mash, fried chicken and fries, omelette with veg, other choices were, meat in a cream sauce, veg lasagne, spinach loaf, i cant remember the others.!!! says a lot! would have been nice to have two choices of starter and an extra choice of main course and maybe biscuits and cheese every night too. the best night was the last night when we had italian, buffet, tasty and plenty of it.!!
the food was the only let down, otherwise i recommend it highly. the portions are not big. more choice and the kertess would be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinx40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The trip was with Shearings so there was no need for bagage handling once they were on board. We stayed at the Hotel Kertess for six days and both the hotel and staff were excellent. There were a large choice of breakfast and if the evening meal was not to your taste, the staff would cater to your needs.

The rooms were excellent and the views were magnificent, if your room was not on the side that faced the road. The hill was quite steep, however there was a bus service that ran past the hotel and the times were available from the hotel staff. The drinks were reasonable considering that I was told that it was very expensive in Austria. Packed lunches were available at request and found them value for money.

Additional trips were available from Shearings, which we took so we did not stay too long in the hotel through the day. It was the first time we had been to Austria and after this experience can not wait until the next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_IT_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I recently visited the Hotel Kertess with my wife and two close friends. Having read reports already posted on Trip Advisor, I was somewhat apprehensive about our holiday-particularly as we were on a Shearing's coach trip. On arrival at the hotel we found the staff both helpful and cheerful. We were allocated adjoining rooms with a shared balcony overlooking the mountains. The rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable.
I had read several reports criticising the food at this hotel. Whilst the choice of evening meal was limited, I found the three courses with which we were served were well presented and very well prepared. The choice at breakfast was plentiful bearing in mind that "full English" is unlikely to be found at many establishments in Austria.
As the brochure pointed out the one draw-back is the climb back up to the hotel from the village below. This is probably about half a mile and quite steep taking about 15 to 20 mins.
All in all, for the price paid, we all agreed that Shearings had put together an excellent package with a first class choice of hotel.

1  Thank RayHammersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2005

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Kertess in St Anton in July 2006. Very disappointing for what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel.
The food was very poor - lots of problems with it. Evening meal one night was packet fish and oven chips, another night 8 people in our group has no soup for starters as they had run out, water not provided at the table and when we asked for some we were refused and told to go and get our own, small quantities etc. etc.
Supposedly heated swimming pool was freezing cold, it might as well have been outdoors. No changing cubicles and black bits in the shallow end day after day.
We had a basement room which was horrible. So many problems with it I couldn't list them all, but includes old furniture, damp, exposed pipes and meters, hole in the shower room floor, cracked sink basin, condensation etc. etc.
We asked to be moved and it took two days of nagging the management to get them to agree - then we got a decent room (which we should have had in the first place)
Also, on a very steep hill - 5 minutes to walk down and half an hour to get back up - stopping for breath on the way.
Very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews