We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Kertess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kertess
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The location is fantastic and to start off with the positive things:


- excellent value for money!!!!!
- very friendly staff
- nice spacious and clean rooms
- nice restaurant with good food
- indoor swimming pool

a couple points that weren't too great:

- the car park is a 5 minute drive away so you're always dependant on someone driving you up the hill to your car or take a 15 minute steep uphill walk (ok if the weather is good or not in a hurry)
- access to the rooms is via a couple flights of stairs not so ideal if you're travelling with small children and have lots of luggage


Other than the two points mentioned above - absolutely GREAT. We enjoyed staying there and would go back anytime!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main building to save you the long walk up and down the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sludge_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

January 2012 just returned from a week's skiing and a stay at Hotel Kertess St Anton. Mother and 2 children aged 10, shared one spacious room with TV. Room and bathroom clean and fresh and room cleaned and beds made every morning. Hotel very clean. We visited from Sydney Australia, and had a half board package (breakfast and dinner). Afternoon tea, (soup and cake) served at 4 pm included in package. However, drinks at afternoon tea i.e cup of tea, coffee juice not included and need to pay extra around Euro 9.00 for cup of tea and two apple juice. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Lift up to 4th floor, or could go walk up stairs. Hotel courtesy bus every morning and evening up the hill. Hired skis and boots which could be left at the ski hire place every evening, so didn't have to struggle home with them each night. Also free town bus circulates around St Anton (catch number 3 from West Terminal, station A), during peak skiing times - runs every 10 minutes and there is a night bus timetable if you want to go out late. The bus stop is called Hotel Kertess. At end of stay walked down the hill with our wheelie bags to the bus stop to take us back to Zurich on the D'Arlberg Express shuttle coach. Takes 3 hours drive to Zurich and picks up and drops you right outside the international terminal. There were mixed aged groups and nationalities staying at the hotel - Germans, Australians, Austrians and Poles. Highly recommend the hotel and location. If you go skiing in a town built in the mountains then I don't think you can complain about having to walk up or down a hill to the hotel!

Room Tip: We asked for a mountain view room, but ended up staying road side. We actually liked watching the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaretta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I loved every minute of my stay at the Hotel Kertess! The rooms were lovely, as were the views and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The meals were good, and there were always alternatives if you wanted them. There was a lift in the hotel, which could be new as another review said there wasn't one. Yes there was often a very friendly alsation on the stairs, but it was always on the bend, and it in no way blocked anyones access!
Part of the hotels charm was its situation and the village was lovely! I would certainly visit the hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanc721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you are expecting a 4* hotel - then think again. It may have wellness facilities, but the other aspects of the hotel are a let-down. Carry your own bags to you room - which is accessable only via stairs. Balcony at extra cost is not private, so beware of next door occupants looking into your room and maids watering flowers. Bar/Lounge area is really only a Bar area and you must enjoy smoking. The most disappointing aspect was the food. Little more than mass catering canteen standard. No daily salad buffet or weekly farmers buffet as advertised. Oh for a vegetable!

Room Tip: Be warned the hotel is a ten minute walk up a very steep hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiddlesexEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I had high expectations of this modern hotel in a top Ski resort; Bit disappointed really.
Good;Bed + room, staff, boot room, courtesy bus, breakfast, Kucken,Deserts + Sauna.
Poor; location ( 2/3 mile up a steep hill........you wouldn`t want to walk it after serious apres-ski), evening meal ..... starter; unispiring, soup; the chef only seems to do bad consome, Main Course ; not great. pool;a bit cold. Wine ; expensive
Area; Dissapointed in St Anton as a ski resort; not up to its reputation .....wouldn`t go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glensax_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Typical Tyrolean Hotel with lots of wooden chests, cupboards and unusual decor. As we were there as part of a coach party we had a set menu for dinner but the food was very good with lots of local specialities and the service was excellent. Portions looked small but were quite filling and the staff were more than willing to bring extra and you could always ask for chips. Hot breakfast was only scrambled eggs but there was plenty of fresh rolls and bread as well as a selection of meats and cheeses and some fabulous jams - even one for diabetics which I've not found anywhere else in Austria.

One young man ran the bar but the service was very good and local drinks were free until 9pm.

Our room was enormous and comfortable but very, very cold. We were in Room 125 which was in a seperate section to the main hotel and was an end room so we had 4 windows and you could feel the cold coming through the walls. Because it was September and still classed as Summer there was no central heating on but when I mentioned to the bar-man that we were finding it extremely cold he immediately arranged for an electric heater to be put in our room and this made a big difference. The room itself was great, we had a dining area and kitchen, a bathrom with a very powerful shower and then a large bedroom with a twin bed, a double bed-settee, coffee table and easy chair. The views from the front windows along the valley were stunning.

Apart from the cold in our room our only complaint was with the location of the rooms. We had requested two rooms on low floors as we were travelling with relatives one of whom has had a knee operation and my husband is partially sighted so neither of them find stairs easy - well we had a low floor okay but to reach it we had to walk up two flights of stairs, along a corridor and then down two circular staircases and there was no lift! We were further hindered by a very large, lazy alsation dog who loved to sleep halfway up the stairs and had no intention of moving for you to get past.

The hotel is situated up a very steep hill which is fine for good walkers but is not suitable for the less mobile of us, however there is a free bus which stops outside every hour and drops you outside the cable car station in St. Anton. Not much in St Anton itself, not a great selection of shops but a trip up the cable car is well worth it, the scenery is terrific.

Would we return again, yes most definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonksP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My Wife and I spent a very pleasant 12 days at the hotel. We were made to feel very welcome. All the staff took the time to remember our names and to make sure that we had everything we required.

Our rooms were cleaned on a daily basis, our room was quite large with king size bed, sofa, two arm chairs, desk, telephone and large flat screen tv. Plenty of cupboard space and a bright and clean bathroom. our room also had a balcony., though not all the rooms do.

The hotel has an indoor pool which has been refurbished and a sauna.

Food was very good and if you didn't think you had had enough you could always ask for more.

Although the hotel lies on a hillside if you arrive by train they will collect you from the station. And there is a regular daytime bus service that passes directly past the hotel.

We visited in August, a traditionally quiet time in the Arlberg but don't let that put you off, there's still plenty to see and do. Or you could just relax and take it easy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judi_K_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arlberg
Hotel Arlberg
#7 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#15 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kertess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kertess

Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 39, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#18 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $238 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kertess 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Hotel for skiing and hiking nearby the City Center of St. Anton! Have a look at our Special offers at our own web page and as our fan on Facebook! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kertess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kertess Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing