We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alte Post
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks skiing trip at The Alte Post. If you are reading this review then dont hesitate in booking. It is a beautiful traditional hotel, right in the centre of ST Anton and a couple of minutes walk to the ski lift, shops and Apres Ski. We were welcomed with a lovely smile from the receptionist and this continued every time we walked past the reception. We stayed in the Galzig suite rooms, which were very spacious and very clean. Large bathroom, separate toilet and little alcove fro ski clothes. Staff work very hard at keeping the hotel spotless.
Every afternoon, they put on a lovely complimentary afternoon tea, very welcome after a hard days skiing. Then to dinner! Where do I start, The staff were very attentive and catered for our dietatry requirements with no effort at all. The food is amazing and in my opinion up there with some of the top restaurants in the UK. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
The thing that matters for us the most is your statement that you have felt welcome at our hotel. Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests, our house should feel like a second home to them.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    38
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
64
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had two nights at this hotel in March. Our 3/F room was spacious and nicely decorated in a typical chalet style. Service was excellent and VERY friendly and breakfast (included) was good. This hotel is ideally located just a very short walk from both the station and the main cable car so we were able to walk with all our kit from the train, without needing a taxi. I am not giving it an "excellent" rating as a) it was expensive b) yet again they have those daft single duvets and the double bed was basically two singles pushed together (but made up with a double sheet) and not amazingly comfortable. It seems to be an Alpine thing - or at least an Austrian thing - that beds are generally hard, "utilitarian" and never proper doubles! There was no stand-up shower in the bath (not really a problem, but for the price you would expect it - the bathroom had sloping ceilings which made it impossible for them to install one). We had a problem finding accommodation as we booked at short notice. Next year I would either see what price we could get here by booking earlier, or, if it was still the same price, would go somewhere cheaper as I don't really need to spend this sort of money on accommodation when I am skiing...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guest,

we are very sorry to hear that you were not completly pleased with your stay at our hotel. All our rooms are in an Austrian typical style also the beds . When our guest wish we provide softer matresses and other bed sheets, pillows,etc.
Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests. If for any reason you have not felt like that, it's very unfortunate.
We would like to ask you to give us a direct and personal feedback on site, in case you decide to spend some days with us again. Only then we are able to try to make you feel even more comfortable and cozy immediately. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the Alte Post. The hotel is charming, with excellent spa facilities and great cuisine. The decor is extremely tasteful, and the new bar renovation creates a stylish venue for the free apres ski snacks and for a drink in the evening.

The hotel is between the 3 main lifts of the village and no more than a minutes walk away from each of them. There was a problem with the travel company we booked with, but the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. They even made us a packed breakfast for our very early return flight.

As mentioned previously the food is fantastic. As mentioned by other reviewers, the evening meal is a 7 course meal with excellent desserts. Another nice feature is the lovely fresh fruit in the morning, and the great cheese selection they have in the evenings.

The main restaurant is magnificent, with a grand and ornate chandelier, beautiful wood paneling and plush chairs and carpet. The entire hotel is very tastefully decorated, and in very good condition. The hotel is very clean, and the staff are friendly.

The ski room is very convenient, with plenty of space and heated ski boot racks. There is a lift to take you directly up to the ground floor so climbing the stairs isn't necessary.

All in all, it was a fantastic holiday, with great staff and in a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pianoman170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung.Es hat uns sehr gefreut von Ihnen zu lesen, das es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat. Nichts ist uns wichtiger als dass sich unsere Gäste bei uns wohl fühlen, wie in einem zweiten Zuhause.
Mit ganz vielen lieben Grüßen aus St. Anton
Ihr Team vom Hotel Alte Post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Surprising to find that this hotel is part of the Best Western marketing group. We stayed as a group of 3 friends who like to ski hard for most of the day, so location in-between the three main lifts (Gampen, Galzig & Rendl) was crucial to minimise time spent walking. Receptionists were vey welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room (214) was large, which was fine as we are not always completely tidy, yet there was plenty of room to spread out our stuff; sufficient room to hang up 3 ski-suits and plenty of storage space for all the rest of the skiing clobber etc. The main restaurant is large with a magnificently stylish wood-panelled ceiling, but elegantly divided up into several areas whilst still leaving room for a party of about 16 guys from London who certainly enjoyed some boisterous banter during dinner. There are at least two other more cozy/intimate dining rooms available for guests, all beautifully traditionally decorated. The antique staircase in the corner of reception is fascinating, and there are pieces of really old furniture etc. all over the hotel. Hotel and bar prices were on a par with other hotels, but there are obviously cheaper places to go if you just want a drink. The enormous yellow umbrella-covered outside bar at the far end of the hotel which I remember from a previous visit has gone some time ago and been replaced with a large extension housing a modern airy restaurant available to outside patrons. [This used to be the main place to meet at 4pm after a hard day's ski, but might have fallen victim to the construction of the "Base Camp" which is right at the bottom of the main (and only) busy run back to the village at the end of the day - one thing that St Anton really needs is an alternative way to get back home!] The restaurant staff are excellent and attentive - you never have to wait for any attention. Buffet breakfast is very extensive with a huge choice of things, all hot items are specially cooked to order which is very good. The choice ranges from cold meats, salmon dishes and cheese, to cereals, lovely moist muesli, dried fruits, grilled tomatoes etc. to a wide choice of breads and conserves. The food is very important to 3 hungry guys at the end of a hard day's ski especially when you only have time for a bowl of goulash soup at lunchtime! The food was nouvelle cuisine, but there are 7 courses so all but the most hungry can fill up. Despite others finding the portions were too small we found that we were adequately fed. The quality of the dining experience was very good with everything prepared and cooked extremely well. The Wellness Centre is extensive with a wide choice of very high quality facilities. Don't forget the sauna area which comprises a large sauna, hot steam room, ice room and large relaxation room etc. is nudist only and you have to remember to use a towel when actually inside the sauna itself. The swimming pool is very attractively arranged with very realistic rock formations around the pool containing a water fountain, underwater jet current you can swim against, underwater bubble jet etc. and also the obligatory jacuzzi. All in all a really relaxing experience after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: We shared a large corner room for 3 on the second floor (214) overlooking the main street, and found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibum63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice and positive comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests, our house should feel like a second home for all.

We hope to welcome you again soon!Maybe next winter.

Kind Regards
The team of The Hotel Alte Post
( "no" Best Western Hotel anymore )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Not the usual place I'd call with the lads in our Ski gear on but we wandered in, warm smiles from the very attractive reception staff sealed the deal, the lobby the bar even the toilets are very very posh and clean. Prices are the same as everywhere else. The place was very quiet with only our group in there, it made a nice change from the hustle of the other bars we could actually have a chat and a relaxing drink without getting barged out of the way.
We didn't stay here but looking at the place I wish I had.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisradioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comment. The thing that matters for us the most is your statement that you have felt welcome at our hotel. Nothing matters more than the wellbeing of our guests, our house should feel like a second home to them.
Maybe we see you again soon in St. Anton.

The team of the Hotel Alte Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A very short walk to the Galzig lift makes this a great ski hotel. Swimming pool and jacuzzi excellent after a hard day on the slopes and free (included in the hotel price). The evening meals are a real event with 7 courses. I started skipping courses after the first day to leave room for the superb deserts. Breakfast similarly splendid. The only real issue was the rather expensive bar. Good wine list reasonably priced but a G&T or Brandy in the bar before and after the meal added a lot to the bill. Plenty of other reasonable priced bars in the town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main street can be noisy at first floor level. Choose a room at the rear for a quiet n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Google Translation
Guten Tag,
wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns wohlgefühlt haben. Vor allem auf unsere Küche und unsere Kulinarik sind wir sehr stolz. Auf die Qualität unserer Speisen legen wir ganz besonderen Wert. Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie diese Bemühungen wahrgenommen und geschätzt haben. Wir hoffen auch, dass sonst alles zu Ihrer vollsten Zufriedenheit gewesen ist. Es ist uns nämlich das wichtigste Anliegen, dass sich unsere Gäste bei uns wie zuhause fühlen und auch gerne wieder zu uns kommen.
Aufgrund dessen bedauern wir es sehr, dass sich in Ihre ansonsten positive Rückmeldung ein negativer Aspekt gemischt hat. Dazu nehmen wir natürlich gerne Stellung. Unsere Preise sind im Winter im Mittelfeld der sonstigen Preise in der Region. Wir bemühen uns auch immer um den direkten Vergleich mit den Preisen unserer Mitbewerber. Daraus resultiert auch unsere Preisgestaltung, die wir immer im Rahmen und im Mittelfeld halten wollen.
Wir hoffen jedenfalls Sie wieder als unseren Gast in unserem Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen!
Freundliche Grüße aus dem Hotel Alte Post
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Hotel is very well situated in the village for both summer and winter activities.
As this is marketed as a superior hotel I was expecting very good things; having been a regular visitor to St Anton over the last thirty years, I thought I would like a change of hotel. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, bedroom facilities were okay, although the bathroom was rather small. The biggest downfall as far as I was concerned was the food. This being an important part of my holiday. The five to seven course dinners were tedious and very time consuming, after a long day walking or climbing! The nuevo cuisine style, really didn't work for me, tiny portions of the main dish of which there was a choice and few vegetables. So fill up on salad and if you don't like that, too bad!! Traditional Austrian dishes were very few and far between. The waiting staff were indifferent, something I have not experienced before in this resort. The wine list is expensive as is the spa/massage facilities.
I love this resort and will return again, it offers so much to walkers, climbers and those who wish to just sit and admire the scenery. However, I will return to the good, old faithful hotel that I have been going to over the years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altepost, Manager at Hotel Alte Post, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest, at first we want to thank you for taking the time to write down your experience of your stay. We regret to hear that our food did not meet your expectations. Our new kitchen crew offers now a 5 course menu. Every guest is welcome to reduce the courses as they like. This means, that you don't have to eat every course if you are not comfortable with that.
We also provide the opportunity to order traditional Austrian food such as Wiener Schnitzel and Apfelstrudel. If you weren't aware of that, we apologize for not providing you with this information.
Our wine list offers a great choice of high quality wine in the price range from 28 EURO to 500 EURO, which is as we think, an appropriate range for a Hotel****s . To offer cheap wine would not meet with our high quality standards.
Regarding the size of our rooms we would like to politely point out that they are only 28qm. We kept the bathrooms smaller because we didn't want to take away too much space from the bedroom.
We hope we could resolve some of the misunderstandings and questions. We are always happy about direct feedback from our guests during their stay. Only this way, we can assure you to make your stay better and help you with anything that you need.
We are glad to read that you had apart from a few difficulties, a pleasant stay and that you decided to visit us again. We really liked having you here and would be very happy for a chance to welcome you again.
We wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#10 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Property: Hotel Alte Post
Address: Dorfstrasse 11, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#11 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#16 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#20 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alte Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alte Post Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Best Western St. Anton Am Arlberg
St. Anton Am Arlberg Best Western
Alte Post Best Western
Hotel Alte Post Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing