We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Hotel is beautiful, a very nice swimmingpool, only the service was not so good and friendly. For us is service a very important issue for choosing a hotel so thing was very dissapointing. This is a reason for us for not choosing this hotel again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOLTMAAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schwarzer Adler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 204 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

Simply this is the best ski resort we ever went to, excellent location; a 5 min walk to the ski lifts, at the beginning of the pedestrian street, in-front of a supermarket, the food is great, the room is specious(specially for a 3 yrs old boy), nicely decorated (junior suit), so so so helpful, friendly and professional staff.....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I actually stayed at this brilliant hotel twice in one year. Can only wish that there was a hotel like this for every mountain resort I’ve been to.

The first time I stayed over the New Year’s period in an old wing in a simpler single room that was nonetheless very spacious for one person, had a large jacuzzi bath and provided great view on the mountains and the ski slopes. Few months later, I had a very substantial and modern suite with a comfortable seating area.

The restaurant serves brilliant dinners consisting of at least five courses. There is a fairly good choice of traditional meals and everything is always prepared to an outstanding standard. I can hardly recall being unhappy with a single dish, though I’m usually very particular about food.

The bar provides a good choice of drinks which can be consumed in a comfortable bar area and the sizeable reception hall. Every afternoon there is a great selection of complimentary tea and cakes for the returning skiers.

The owner family and all the staff I met were all very friendly and approachable people happy to make you feel most welcome.

The hotel is situated on the main street of St Anton right in the heart of the shopping and entertainment district. The ski lift is a few minutes down the street, but since the equipment can be stored at the ski shop near the lift, this isn’t a problem.

Certainly one of the best hotels in St Anton and among any ski resorts generally. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantino3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Schwarzer Adler - location is excellent : right in the middle of the village / town, 5 mins walk from the slopes. Spa is lovely, rooms were large and clean - lovely hotel but expensive

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellerooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed for a short break last month, we were not sure about a half board hotel as we usually like variety at mealtime, I have to say the food quality and preparation was the real highlight to our break, although the 6 course meal was hard to manage!! The hotel has this really old homely feel to it, rooms, we had one of the larger ones were huge, bathroom a little dated. The location is perfect just inside the pedestrian area, avoid a room in the old buidling as there is a busy bar next door and with alfresco smoking you do get some noise outside.

The only downside is the fact the restaurant is split into 3 sections and you are given one table for your entire stay, most in the middle or back section which lack some atmosphere, luckily on our last night after asking we were seated in the front section, more intimate and you are able to see the world go by from the window. In addition to that we were leaving before breakfast started on asking if we could get something delivered to the room, the restaurant surpassed themselves by laying out a full breakfast for us to sit and eat before we left.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedubfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Wonderful hotel with fantastic food and hospitality from Klaus-whose family have had the Schwarzer Adler for 400 years-and his Swedish wife Ulva-who wears a different Austrian costume every night and serves wonderful food cooked by Klaus.Free ski bus stops outside every 15 mins and takes 7 mins to reach Nasserein in St Anton.Judging by the look of the serious skiers on the bus Pettneu seems to be the place where skiers in the know stay-in fact Chemmy Alcott,Alan Baxter and the GB Ski Team stayed in the Schwarzer Adler a few years ago.You can avoid the rowdiness of St Anton in Pettneu-2 small bars are the evening spots.Buses after 6 pm are less frequent.There are local slopes In Pettneu which are good for a 1/2 day or all week for beginners.In summary this is a great place to stay to ski in one of the world`s top ski rersorts without he high prices and noise of the main town as well as being easier to get to th slopes than some of the outlying accommodation in St Anton itself. Highly recommended.The hallway has a beautiful carved doorway from 1709 and the landing is decorated with old stuffed animals.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollyollyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed here on a ski holiday recently and can recommend it highly.
With the strong Euro I knew it was going to be pricey but it was worth the money. Not only was the quality of the rooms and public areas extremely high, but the service was both friendly and efficient. The food was great too, and with half board you get a very nice afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraser_sw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzer Adler

Address: Dorfstrasse 35 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $223 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schwarzer Adler 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwarzer Adler Hotel
Hotel Schwarzer Adler Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing