We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absurdly elegant, bite-size cakes and fancies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here last week (Christmas week) with a group of friends. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were immaculate with a small plate of light-as-air sable biscuits and a bottle of mineral water waiting for us on our arrival. Dinner was a minimum of five courses, opening with a starter of, say, a couple of long, thin slices of roast beef with a delicious sauce, followed by soup and then a visit to the salad buffet. There was a choice of main course every evening, then a dessert and an immense cheese board. Breakfast was buffet-style, with almost every imaginable breakfast choice available, including soya milk for those with lactose intolerance. For afternoon tea there was a selection of absurdly elegant, bite-size cakes and fancies. No more than a five minute walk from the nearest ski lift and right in town, the location couldn't be more perfect. I didn't sample the spa but my friends enjoyed the occasional swim. The shower was a bit of a let-down (we ended up with a wet floor every time we used it because of the way the shower panel and the bath lined up), but the bathroom was otherwise perfect. Two sinks! The tarriff included a six-day ski pass, which makes it amazing value-for-money, even considering it was Christmas week. Oh, and did I mention the cakes...?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traceyinoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schwarzer Adler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very impressed with the staff - friendly, helpful and attentive. Key to my heart was that they had proactively set up the bed for our young son before our arrival and left him a small robe for the swimming pool - an invitation no 3 year old can resist.
Room was spotless and clean meticulously daily.
Breakfast was very good and dinner was outstanding.
Low season in summer made for a very mellow atmosphere.
Can't wait to come back during ski season

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we went for a week during the skiing season recently having been to the same hotel on about five previous occasions, including our honeymoon in 2008.

the room sizes at whichever level of tariff are very good with immaculate en-suite facilities...and well sound proofed. the staff service overall is excellent with obliging, smiley, and where necessary knowledgeable employees. it cannot be easy for the owners to maintain this level of consistency.

the restaurant menu choices are commensurate of a hotel of this stature. Now the wine list...... it is extensive though mostly serves austrian reds and white at varying price points, so a more than satisfactory experience.

during our approx 6 x stays we have never been let down and always enjoy coming back, just a shame about a few of the other british punters though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for - a beautiful retreat, in the heart of the walking district amongst the restaurants, bars, and shops, that offered warm, friendly service in a relaxed setting. We look forward to returning the next time we're in St Anton

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the cheap poverty rooms which were excellent. Good size double room, couch, bathroom with bath. All serviced Daily. The hotel location is spitting distance to all things St Anton. The family run hotel are not greedy international hotel chain and want you to enjoy your stay. Nothing is a problem. The food is totes amazing in every way. Probably too totes amazaballs. Too much food. 6 course dinners are way too much. I did eat it thou and enjoyed every minute of it. The nude spa sauna is something to watch out for. The Euros loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toddriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A great hotel, with excellent staff, and a fantastic service. Our Galsek rooms were on the top floor. They were large and roomy. The bathrooms were perfect.

The staff, from Katerina who met us and checked us in, the restaurant staff, the bar staff, as well as the chamber maids, were all so nice and accomadating.

The bar was great. There is some smoking in there. I just think it adds to the atmosphere. The room the bar is in is so big, you can move to another part of the room, if the smoke were to bother you.

The restaurant food was to die for. Every evening something different. No need to book anywhere else! Great selection of wines too.

Breakfast. As good as it can get! Lots of choice, and if you cannot find it, just ask.

The Hotel is about ten mintues walk to the main lift systems. Noting really. We left our ski gear at InterSport each afternoon, so as to avoid walking up in boots etc. each morning.

A fantastic stay. We will be looking to go back next year for sure.

Room Tip: Choose rooms which have had the bathrooms renovated. Our top floor rooms were very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

An immaculately prepared family-style hotel with good proximity to the slopes and all the amenities you'd want !
Their arrangement to leave your skii's at the base of the Gondo is a huge bonus.

Food program was stellar, plenty of selections for everyone including vegetarians. I appreciated the quiet style of the service and the casual vibe of the staff.

Some late-night 'street noise' from the bar goers at ridiculous hours but this could only be avoided by staying outside of town, and not a huge issue.

I'll be visiting the Schwarzer-Adler again for certain, it truly exceeded any reasonable expectation and safely fits it's 4+ star rating.

Room Tip: consider a room facing the mountain instead of the town, less bar-pedestrian noise at 2 AM.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrinceOfTyrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
Der Waldhof
Der Waldhof
#4 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzer Adler

Address: Dorfstrasse 35 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $225 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schwarzer Adler 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwarzer Adler Hotel
Hotel Schwarzer Adler Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing