We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, family-run top class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely, family-run top class hotel”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here every year, bar one, for the last five years and have always had a great stay. It is an historic, family-run, warm and cosy hotel. We took half board and the restaurant serves really excellent food, both at breakfast and in the evening. The single rooms can be a bit basic, and the 'deluxe' ones are expensive for what they are. However, it is warm and comfortable, and there is free wifi too. Another treat, is afternoon coffee/tea and cakes served at the end of the skiing day. There is a lovely log fire in the bar, which is great. There is a wonderful spa, with a really nice swimming pool, steam, sauna etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    40
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
61
65
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has a lovely feel from the moment you walk in the door. The staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful. Our room was excellent - spacious, warm, comfortable - with superb bathroom. The meals are fantastic with 5 excellent and exquisitely presented courses and the dining room very comfortable with a traditional feel and warm and very helpful staff. The pool and sauna facilities are excellent. One is made to feel very welcome by the family owners who appear to live in the hotel and who welcome you with a cocktail reception and seem to be available all the time. We were given a gala dinner at the end of our week and had an optional wine tasting throughout the meal form Christina the excellent sommelier/restaurant manager - this was brilliant. We had no problem with the internet which is free. Our cases were carried up to the room for us. The ski room is excellent and secure and the walk to the slopes short. All in all a fantastic week. A very good reason to return to St Anton in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH_and_LizB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When you think of an Austrian family-run four star hotel in a ski resort, this is pretty much what you'll conjure up in your mind.

The Schwarzer Adler is well located at the end of the pedestrianized main street, with ample free parking. Access to the ski lifts is excellent.

Friendly reception staff, warm welcome on arrival. No offer of help up to the room with cases which I didn't need but it should've been offered nonetheless.

Really lovely single room with balcony outside, decent sofa and sitting area, excellent TV with BBC1 BBC2 and ITV1 as well as all the usual European and local ski info channels. Very comfortable bed, ample wardrobe space with safe for valuables, and proper bathroom with shower over large bath. Single rooms can often be the poor relation in big hotels. Not the case here, I'm pleased to say.

The spa/pool/sauna facilities were quite superb, and exceeded my expectations.

The breakfasts were very substantial and the choice from the large buffet was very good, and included English favourites like bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages and so on. Good choice of breads, pastries, cold meats, cereals, yoghourts and all the other usual fare.

We dined a la carte one night with friends who were staying in a nearby chalet. We experienced very good service but the food wasn't as special as I recalled from two years ago. The soup was over seasoned and there were minor faults in other dishes. Nothing major but not up to the usual Schwarzer Adler standard.

The bar was a great place to meet and always convivial with very fast and cheerful service.

Overall, an excellent experience. If you want a traditional Austrian hotel, this really does fit the bill. The female staff wear dirndls in the evenings which one kind of expects in such hotels but I'm not sure that such uniform is "de rigeur" these days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very well located. Minutes walk to the chairlifts, shops and restaurants. Rooms are well decorated in classic Austrian style. The rooms and bathrooms are large with adequate closet space. We had a problem with the heating in our room for 2 of the 7 days we spent there. The internet wireless was very spotty and did not work in the dining room. The bath towels could be of a better standard
Receiving telephone calls could be painful. One of my callers informed me that when she called she was asked to call again as the concerned receptionist was talking on her mobile at that time.
The food both breakfast and dinner was excellent. The service in the dining room was always very friendly, warm and obliging.
The hotel has a great pool area to hang out. We used that every afternoon post our skiing sessions.
Will definetely be back to Schwarzer Adler the next time we are in St Anton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil63358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Delightfully accommodating staff and engaged owners. Lovely Tyrolean ambiance. Set dinner menu very good, if a bit much - booking B&B and dining off the a la carte is probably a better option. Rooms spacious and well appointed but too hot and dry, which is not uncommon in ski resorts. Great sauna and steam bath. Would not go anywhere else in St. Anton.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our eighth year here and getting to grips with tripadvisor felt moved to support this family run hotel to the hilt! Fantastic accomadation, food, facilities and perhaps most importantly made to feel special and welcome each time we come with our two now 11 yr old boys.
Civilised dinners excellent almost Michelin level, or flexible children's options at flexible timings. A spectrum of breakfast options for absolutely all also set you up for the day.
Ski-ing each year great, making the best of conditions although snow generally good often great as this year powder to die for pistes perfect, a great microclimate, average to good will enjoy, beginners will aspire and no harm, runs fine and will learn fast!
Excellent Austrian Ski school has our two boys competent skiers anywhere in the world already, more than can be said for their parents!
Family and friends have come with us and separately subsequent years speaks volumes perhaps.(more re the hotel than our company)
We can see ourselves returning for many years to come often many of the staff the same as the previous year make you feel back at home.Relaxed bar, tea/coffee or hot chocolate and tea-time cake as a must, late evenings relaxed and civilised for grown ups as well.
Ski-ing comes no more challenging, accomodation and hospitality no better and value is a matter of your pocket- you get what you pay for and you could get a lot less for the same and I challenge you to get more for less- don't bother!
Can't recommend enough, but I would say that, I already feel part of the Tschol family!
The Berry's

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First the hotel....superb location, large if not dated rooms, accommodating service and excellent food. I stayed half board like most guests and was most impressed by the variety, quality and quantity of food. Took a break for two nights to eat at the excellent fondue restaurant that was a minute away. Potential areas of hotel improvement 1) Much better towels as the ones in the room were threadbare. 2) wifi is weak and inconsistent, system needs an upgrade. 3) keep to set table placing for breakfast. There were fights EVERY morning as disgruntled guests found their pre assigned evening tables occupied in morning. Publicize the policy to avoid arguments, make breakfast and dinner free seating or set seating - do not mix as it caused fights EVERY morning. These are all minor gripes and I would definitely recommend and come back. ***IMPORTANT*** SKIING IN AREA IS DEFINITELY FOR HIGH INTERMEDIATES/ ADVANCED. THERE ARE NO GREEN RUNS AND MANY BLUE RUNS ARE GENUINELY BLACK RUNS IN PLACES. AVOID UNLESS YOUR PARTY HAS COMPETENT SKIING ABILITY. BEGINNERS / LOWER INTERMEDIATES SHOULD STAY AT LECH WHICH YOU CAN NOT SKI TO WHICH DISAPPOINTED US. ADVANCED SKIERS WILL ENJOY ST ANTON MORE THAN LECH

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#20 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzer Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzer Adler

Property: Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Address: Dorfstrasse 35 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schwarzer Adler 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schwarzer Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwarzer Adler Hotel
Hotel Schwarzer Adler Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing