We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, exceptional cuisine, sorry to leave”
Review of Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Der Waldhof
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb service, exceptional cuisine, sorry to leave”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

DW is a brilliant small hotel 10 mins walk outside Sr Anton, looking over Rendell. It offers spacious generous chic accommodation and excellent value but the ace in their pack is the food which is of a standard beyond even a luxury 5 star hotel in a major capital city. We have eaten in many of London's Michelin starred restaurants and its every bit as good and it's EVERY night! ( 5 courses)

As other reviewers have mentioned the price is inclusive of arranged taxi service to the ski/boot storage facility adjacent to the main lifts. (the staff here are also exceptionally knowledgeable about equipment). So, there is no rushing in the morning for lifts, no pressure or hassle, They even paid for our taxi to the station when we were leaving which was very generous and unexpected.

The buses back up to the hotel are free and frequent, the walk is easy and pleasant into town anyway and I enjoyed walking back up which was no more than 20 minutes.

I dont think this is your place if you are a dedicated party animal, The only slight criticism I have is the bar area is too small for socializing, 4 seats by the fire and 3 on the bar. If you like to sit and chat before dinner it isnt easy and impossible if you are with a big party. There is more room available but they have put two dinning tables in the bar area. The other slight niggle was that the shower wasnt as powerful as I would have liked.

That said this is undoubtedly one of the most memorable and exceptional hotels / restaurants I have ever visited, It is not silver service or have a concierge in livery, its not what its about but what they do do is exceptional.

I was sorry to leave and that never happens, usually I am keen to get home I cant say better than that!

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room in the back to take advantage of afternoon balcony sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
125
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have just spent an absolutely wonderful week at Der Waldhof, so much so that this is the first time I write a recommendation on Tripadvisor. The hotel is perfectly run and attention to detail is present everywhere. The owners will go out of their way to ensure your stay is smooth. Both speak perfect French, English and German (and maybe more!). The rooms are simple but elegant and large and we had a huge balcony with a beautiful view on the mountains. The dinners and breakfast are an absolute delight. The spa area with three different saunas, a hammam and resting room offer a wonderful daily relaxation after a day on the slopes. The hotel is in a quiet and beautiful area of the village, and a mere 10-15 min walk from the village center and all the animation - and if you don't feel like walking, there are frequent free buses and shuttles that will take you anywhere in 5 minutes. Skiers can leave their equipment in a depot right next to the main ski-lift and the hotel arranges for shuttles in the morning to take you there which makes things very easy and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel even if I would prefer that it stay a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchieMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our family of four stayed at Der Waldhof for a ski holiday. Don't even consider staying anywhere else in St. Anton. You don't need a hotel near the base of the ski lifts; this impeccable residence is close by, tranquilly nestled in the adjoining hills with gorgeous views and perfect quiet. In a flash, you're in the center of town and on the slopes.

Andrea and Michael (and 3-year old Lucas) are the perfect hosts. They go above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome, comfortable, and very much at home. The breakfasts are varied and filling; the dinners are sublime. Chef Michael knows food and how to work it - the highest quality, freshest ingredients, imaginative combination of exquisite flavors, creative and gorgeous presentation. Every dish was magnificent. I have dreams of his delectable lamb chops and creme brule... This is Michelin-starred dining without the ostentation. The staff also graciously prepared separate, delicious meals to accommodate our vegan daughter, and willingly catered to our other picky food requests. Their wine cooler is well stocked with an excellent selection of great wines.

Andrea sets the pace and service level for the wonderful, professional staff.

What was a bit anachronistic for me: the room decor included skulls with antlers of baby moose - or maybe they were a kind of rodent - with the date they were killed. I kind of wanted to hang the wonderful bathrobe they provided on the antlers to cover it up.. It was sort of an affront to my California/American sensibility, but this seems to be an Austrian thing.

The rain shower is lovely. Just bring your own hair conditioner; this tends to be an issue in many European hotels. The bathroom is otherwise spacious and well appointed.

The large room windows are two panes of double-glaze, ensuring complete quiet (not that it's noisy). The views are spectacular of the surrounding mountains. The basic double room is expansive, immaculate and well designed. Because we had a corner suite, there was plenty of light and open vistas to the magnificent scenery.


In short, Der Waldhof provides a delightful lodging experience. Go indulge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We spend one week at this lovely fammily run hotel. Great food, friendly arthmosphere, superb location! Andrea and Michael was perfect hosts, allways with a smile and nothing was to much for them. We can wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at Der Waldhof on the last week of January. Andrea and Michael created a perfect hotel in St Anton. Andrea is one the best hands-on hotel managers. She takes care of every detail to make you feel at home. Michael is the best chef I ever see, delivering a gourmet breakfast and dinner through the week. Service quality is excellent. Rooms are well decorated, generously sized, and provide excellent view of the valley. .

I had worries initially due to location of the hotel. But it turned out to be an advantage as you are not disturbed with the high volume music in the centre of the town. The hotel is established at a quite place with ten minute walking distance to the St Anton's centre. Der Waldhof provides free shuttle to the ski resort in the morning and arrange free storage in the centre. Free ski shuttle brings you near the hotel in the afternoon. So the out of centre location is not a problem.

Many thanks to Andrea and Michael for their hospitality.

Serhat

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgurleyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We just spent a week at Der Waldhof. What can I say, it really really was a wonderful experience. The Inn is so beautiful and comfortable. After a long day on the skis it was the perfect place to come home too. We stayed in room 301 and had plenty of space and a view of the valley. I can't think of anything we didn't love about it. Andrea and Michael Ladner, the Owners, have put their hearts into creating the perfect place to stay and eat. Everything and I mean everything is great. The rooms, the sauna and tea room, the small bar and fireplace area and the beautiful dining room. If that isn't enough, add to it that Andrea took care of every detail for us. Taxi for pick up at the train station, taxi to the ski lift everyday, lift tickets, ski and boot storage right beside the Galzigbahn. Then there are the meals, OMG, the best food we've ever had. Michael is an amazing Chef. Every dinner was an new and wonderful culinary experience. We truly have never eaten better food anywhere. Every detail is thought of at Der Waldhof. Breakfast was also beyond anything we have every experienced before. Even the little things like the beautiful linens and the new napkin design at every dinner were so great. You will not regret for one minute staying at Der Waldhof.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packupyourbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have made it a policy to stay in family run places around the world, and der Waldhof is another great example of why this is such a good idea. Andrea and Michael Ladner own it, run it, and make sure everything works for us guests. Andrea is the very hands-on manager. No need went unfilled. She once lived in the States and speaks perfect English.

Michael is a very accomplished chef. No kidding, Mich-Star level. The included breakfast and four course dinners kept us away from restaurants all week long.

The hotel is relatively new, and very nicely appointed. Everything works.

Then property is a bit out of the center of St. Anton, and the free buses quit at 6pm. It's an €8 taxi ride to town for the nightlife, if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
413 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Waldhof

Property: Der Waldhof
Address: Stadleweg 40, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Best Value Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing