We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austria's best kept secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Der Waldhof
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Austria's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is my second attempt at relating the all round wonderful experience we had while staying at Der Waldhof August 26,27 and 28. ..because my first review did not seem to get on this site.

Andrea and Michael's warm hospitality and Andrea's attention to every detail ensured a truely memorable stay at this delightful. place located just up the hill from St. Anton village - an easy walk down and a short hike up!

All this coupled with Michael 's star-studded dinners and breakfasts - where he surprised us each evening in particular with yet another innovative and quite delicious dinner served with such care and delicacy.

Our suite on the top floor would have happily accommodated a family of four and we made good use of the sunlit balcony after a full day of hiking and visiting surrounding places of interests.
We felt we were leaving friends, and not just hosts when we finally had to leave - and would like to return one day with our own children and grandchildren.

Bryan and Gillian MacCormack
Montreal, Canada.

Room Tip: You get the afternoon sun facing towards St. Christophe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
121
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at this property for three nights. The location is a kilometer or so out of down. I had a suite on the third floor that looked down the valley.

For the first night I was the only guest and on the next day there was one other couple. As such breakfast was served to the table vice a buffet. Breakfast consisted of eggs cooked to order, whatever type of coffee you wanted, homemade apple juice, meats, cheeses, and breads.

Dinner was very good. There were four courses and each was well presented, tasty, and showed imagination.

The room was large with a flat screen television with a large selection of channels. Wi-Fi is not free but at 10 Euros for three days is not an issue. The usage is 900 Mb for a three day period.

The hosts, Andrea and Michael, were very friendly and helpful in every respect.

In summary, a great family run hotel. Very recommended.

Room Tip: A room looking down the valley. Mine had a balcony but there was a construction crane in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed three nights as a break in the drive from Italy back to the UK. From the moment we stepped foot in the place, we were made to feel very welcome by the owners (both speaking fluent English).
The entire hotel is beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and they clearly have an keen eye for detail. I could happily move in tomorrow!
We stayed on a DBB basis, which is remarkable value and tailored to individual tastes and diets. It was better than we have eaten in some Michelin starred restaurants and the owner/chef was always there at the end of the meal to ensure that personal preferences had been met.
The owners were very generous with their time, giving us lots of local knowledge and ideas for excursions.
Clearly a very experienced couple in hotel service and this hotel is an absolute credit to them.
We shall find an excuse to return!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a three-night stay at Der Walhof in early September. It is among our favorite small hotels in the world, with outstanding cuisine for both breakfast and dinner. Both of the owners, Andrea, who runs the front of the house, and Michael, the chef, are excellent. Their attitude toward their guests could not be more welcoming. The hotel is a fine, modern example of a typical small Alpine hotel, with balconies and pine. The housekeeping staff is exemplary in maintaining a spotless hotel.

As well as Micheal's excellent cuisine, the hotel's wine list was well-chosen, with a good selection of international and Austrian wines. We enjoyed wines from Austria, France, and Italy during our visit.

Is it perfect? Almost--our only minor suggestion for improvement would be to include a small refrigerator/minibar in the guest rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATexanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed on 15th of august just for 1 night with my wife. Its a really nice hotel with very kind and friendly owners. Its a new hotel with large, modern and comfortable rooms with balcony. Dinner and breakfast are delicious.

Room Tip: book a room with halfboard , dinner is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harris34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Owners are fantastic. The location is perfect. Great value for money given the quality of the food. Breakfast and dinner are out of this world. Your choice of wines is excellent and please try their selection of schnaps'. Looking forward to going back in the winter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBBattersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Der Waldhof Hotel for 2 nights on July 22nd and 23rd. en route to Switzerland. I concur with previous reviews 100 %. It is indeed the exeptional hotel and deserves to be # 1 in the Trip Advisor's rating.
Thank you Andrea and Michael. We enjoyed our time at your hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ek_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.0 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#17 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#19 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gletscherblick
Hotel Gletscherblick
#2 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
Anthony's Life & Style Hotel
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Waldhof

Property: Der Waldhof
Address: Stadleweg 40, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing