We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice and friendly hotel”
Review of Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Der Waldhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed on 15th of august just for 1 night with my wife. Its a really nice hotel with very kind and friendly owners. Its a new hotel with large, modern and comfortable rooms with balcony. Dinner and breakfast are delicious.

Room Tip: book a room with halfboard , dinner is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harris34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Owners are fantastic. The location is perfect. Great value for money given the quality of the food. Breakfast and dinner are out of this world. Your choice of wines is excellent and please try their selection of schnaps'. Looking forward to going back in the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBBattersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Der Waldhof Hotel for 2 nights on July 22nd and 23rd. en route to Switzerland. I concur with previous reviews 100 %. It is indeed the exeptional hotel and deserves to be # 1 in the Trip Advisor's rating.
Thank you Andrea and Michael. We enjoyed our time at your hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ek_mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Booked for 2 nights as part of an independant driving tour of Austria.
What a super hotel. Beautiful clean spacious modern room with balcony, separate sitting area, fantastic bathroom, lovely furnishings and decorations, modern flat screen TV with all Uk channels, if you so desire.
Dinner each evening unbelievably brilliant - nightly cost just for dinner excluding the B&B aspect would on its own be good value. Great cooking with great ingredients. Gorgeous breakfast with friendly, helpful waitress - also deserves a mention!.
Really friendly attentive hosts. Hotel a real credit to them.
A few minor observations: bit of building work going on nearby but not enough to put you off, some nearby villages/town a bit dead in Summer - go to Lechs though. Free WiFi would be final touch of perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony and very much doubt hotel has any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colvic37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Der Waldhof for 2 nights in June as part of a 2-week road trip from the UK to Vienna. We cannot compliment owners Andrea and Michael enough on their hospitality and the quality of their hotel. Best stay in our trip, which included many well-rated 4 and 5 star hotels. All staff friendly, helpful and very competent. Superb dinners and breakfasts from Michael and his kitchen team, the dinners certainly comparable with the offerings of Michelin-starred restaurants in Lyon that we visited earlier in the year. A great room with quality fittings, space, an excellent bed and the wonderful smell of pine - apparently conducive to relaxation and a good night's sleep - seemed to work! Lots of help from Andrea, including guidance on local sights and outings.

The hotel is a little way out of and above St. Anton - too far for all but keen walkers to manage on foot - but a positive in terms of clean, fresh air and quiet relaxation. Probably not the place to stay if your priorities are bar-hopping. Not being ski-ers we can't really comment on how convenient it would be in the ski season.

Overall a great little hotel. Can't wait to visit again, hopefully for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCStAlbans_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a brand new boutique hotel with just 18 rooms built in 2009. The owners clearly take a ton of pride and joy in their place, even having books available with pictures of the process to build it. I am a neat freak and it was immaculate. We love food and the half board rate comes with a truly amazing breakfast and 4 course dinner. Literally no complaints other than the snow didn't let us hike as much as we wanted due to the time of year. Would highly reccommend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tianypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first skiing excursion to Austria. Having arrived into Zurich, the 'Railjet' train was a scenic and quick (2.5 hours) connection to St Anton. Our hosts had arranged a taxi to meet us at the station, 5 minutes later we arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts Andrea and Michael. Andrea provided a thorough orientation of the hotel, St Anton area and skiing options. We were upgraded to one of the suites on the 3rd floor. The room was of generous proportions, comfortable, well appointed, tastefully decorated with a terrific view up the valley. The half board arrangement made the experience all the more special. Each evening we enjoyed a sumptuous meal of 4 courses. Michael's menus were skillfully created and well complemented by their wine list. If you are a foodie and not happening to stay at the hotel, make sure to make a dinner reservation. Breakfast was no 'buffet' affair, again Michael maintains a high standard. The hotel is located up the valley from St Anton, approximately 20 minute by foot. This in my opinion is a plus, as 'downtown' St Anton may become noisy in the evenings as the apres skiing spills out on the street. The hosts arrange a shuttle to the lift stations in the morning and the local [free] buses deliver you within a short walk from the hotel in the evening. The skiing in the St Anton area was up there with some of our best experiences in Utah and Colorado. St Anton has plenty of off piste options for those needing to tempt fate. There are easy connections to the Zur/Zug/Lech area where the alpine views are so incredible, you need to pinch yourself every now and then. Returning to the hotel after a day on the planks requires some downtime in the wellness center, where one must choose from the 3 types of sauna, steam room or relaxation room. We stayed 8 nights and would have no hesitation in thinking where we would book our next stay in St Anton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expat911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lux Alpinae
Hotel Lux Alpinae
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
Hotel Schwarzer Adler
#9 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sporthotel St. Anton
Sporthotel St. Anton
#14 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
295 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Waldhof

Address: Stadleweg 40, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $173 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing