We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Der Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Der Waldhof
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first skiing excursion to Austria. Having arrived into Zurich, the 'Railjet' train was a scenic and quick (2.5 hours) connection to St Anton. Our hosts had arranged a taxi to meet us at the station, 5 minutes later we arrived to a warm welcome from our hosts Andrea and Michael. Andrea provided a thorough orientation of the hotel, St Anton area and skiing options. We were upgraded to one of the suites on the 3rd floor. The room was of generous proportions, comfortable, well appointed, tastefully decorated with a terrific view up the valley. The half board arrangement made the experience all the more special. Each evening we enjoyed a sumptuous meal of 4 courses. Michael's menus were skillfully created and well complemented by their wine list. If you are a foodie and not happening to stay at the hotel, make sure to make a dinner reservation. Breakfast was no 'buffet' affair, again Michael maintains a high standard. The hotel is located up the valley from St Anton, approximately 20 minute by foot. This in my opinion is a plus, as 'downtown' St Anton may become noisy in the evenings as the apres skiing spills out on the street. The hosts arrange a shuttle to the lift stations in the morning and the local [free] buses deliver you within a short walk from the hotel in the evening. The skiing in the St Anton area was up there with some of our best experiences in Utah and Colorado. St Anton has plenty of off piste options for those needing to tempt fate. There are easy connections to the Zur/Zug/Lech area where the alpine views are so incredible, you need to pinch yourself every now and then. Returning to the hotel after a day on the planks requires some downtime in the wellness center, where one must choose from the 3 types of sauna, steam room or relaxation room. We stayed 8 nights and would have no hesitation in thinking where we would book our next stay in St Anton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expat911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel has all the right amenities, rooms are spacious, downstairs sauna is great after skiing and the restaurant is excellent. What really sets this hotel apart is the incredibly warm and gracious service from its owners, Michael and Andrea. They really make you feel welcome in their home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texaslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed for one week at end of March. We had a huge modern room with every facility including very comfortable bed and soft pillows but the Cooking under Michel's leadership was exceptional.Delicious 4 course dinner and superb breakfast every day. Add to that warm welcoming service under Andrea's guidance.Very special stay

Room Tip: Go for a suite! you get a huge bath!Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I currently live in Switzerland and spent a long weekend this past March skiing in St. Anton. This hotel is beautiful. The rooms are really well furnished and decorated. The wellness center is great. HOWEVER, the best part of the hotel has to be the food. Andrea and Michael and their staff presented by far, the best food I have ever had at a hotel. Breakfast and dinner were both Fantastic. Location was good. The hotel organizes a shuttle bus to the lift and also organizes ski and boot storage at the base of the hill.
This is a great hotel for a ski holiday in St. Anton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alastairandnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here in January and found Michael, Andrea and their staff so charming, the hotel pristinely clean and georgously fitted out, and the food unsurpassable...so we had to return again at the beginning of April. We had yet another wonderful week and cannot find a fault. Der Waldhof is a short bus ride from the centre and lifts, but with a morning taxi door to door, ski storage free through the hotel at the bottom of the Galzigbahn, and buses every 10 minutes back throughout the day this is not a problem. It is quietly situated with plenty of space around and woods opposite. Many thanks for another wonderful and relaxing break.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank O-Teece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Another year and another excellent meal at der Waldhof. I reviewed this wonderful restaurant in the hotel last year and would like to add a few comments as we were a larger party this time. The food is still sublime and obviously freshly and lovingly prepared by the patron Chef Michael. We were able to further explore the extensive wine list sticking to Austrian fine wines. I did like the pre-dinner wine ( Gruner Veltliner) taken before the open fire in the lobby and this set the tone for a very relaxed meal. Why don't we get such fine Austrian wines in the UK?. Andrea was on hand to oversee our attentive service and dinner was concluded with friendly Schnapps and chat with our Hosts. Great to see standards are being maintained and I recommend you make the effort to have a high quality meal, remembering to book ahead and check if the menu is to your liking that evening. Still only €42 a head for 4 courses!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gaspasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Two adjoining rooms made a very comfortable stay for our family of 5. The hosts made us welcome and were about whenever they were needed but never intrusive or officious. The quality and variety of the food was the highlight. Well done to Andrea, Michael and the great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.9 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
m3Hotel
m3Hotel
#5 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#11 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#16 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
Hotel Zur Pfeffermuehle
#3 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Waldhof

Address: Stadleweg 40, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range: $184 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Der Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Waldhof Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing