We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing Holiday”
Review of Hotel Fahrner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fahrner
Imatra, Finland
1 review
“Skiing Holiday”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was the best hotel ever. I will come back. :) Gina and Andy were very friendly and helpfull hotel owners. Breakfast and dinner was very good and tasty. The wiev from room balkony was beautiful. The hotel was very clean and decoration was beautiful with good taste.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnamarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

this hotel run by a lovely family couple and son.
the couple are very helpful and do there best with a smile.
we took include breakfast and dinner and the food was tasty with good variety.
the rooms were good we were 3 in one room and it was big, comfortable with private balcony.
the only problem for us was the location fron the center its close only 750m but is all up hill.
they have shuttle morning and after noon.
they do afternoon snack after coming from the ski.
no gym or sauna.
overall was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isr76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fahrner, Manager at Hotel Fahrner, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your good review.
We do our best to make our guest feel welcome and comfortable.
We are sorry about the distance of 350 meters to the centre, but because of this distance you are able to have a nice and quite night. Outside of all the hurly - burly from downtown.
Hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent there 9 pleasant days with a big company from two families with adult children and teenagers.
The hotel is situated in a really quiet location on the hill. May be 10 min walking down and 15 up to/from the main street. It has magis views.
The hotel is family running and I was surprised, their hard work. Every dinner Gina wears the country dress and works as a waitor. In the morning she is an elegant office manager. Her husband also plays many roles. Sometimes he is a driver, sometimes - a barmen. Their son is like a Figaro. Now he is doing something here, in a second he is driving a shuttle to the ski lift. Even Elly the cat plays her own role.
The hotel provides free WIFI, free vouchers for ski depot and free bus shuttle 3-4 times in the morning and the same in the afternoon.
The rooms are nice, big enough as for the Alps hotel. The cleaning is for 5+. Two girls come and make everything very good and quickly.
Breakfast is very-very good, dinner is exellent. Service in the restaurant is wonderfull.
There is an elevator, so it's very pleasant to use it after the whole day of skiing.
I sincerelly wish you good luck, Family Fahrner, and hope to come back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuitOdessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fahrner, Manager at Hotel Fahrner, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank your so much for your rating and the nice overview of your hotel!
I will pass your compliments on to the relevant departments!
It has been a pleasure that you spent your vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay. Our room (107) was wonderful, with a fantastic curved balcony with panoramic views of the town. Great nights sleep under the sumptuous down duvets. The bathroom and separate toilet was modern and very clean. The self service breakfast was excellent with a great selection of cheeses, meats, fruits, pastries, home made yogurts, eggs, bacon, sausage and much more - just what you need before a day on the slopes!!
The 5 course evening meal was wonderful, and eventhough one in our party had an egg allergy this did not cause the staff any problems and they were more than happy to provide an alternative. ( I did feel the wine was expensive though, starting at 25 euros a bottle when you could buy a decent wine in the local supermarket for 3 euros.)
It was lovely in the bar, with Andy making us feel very welcome and happy to chat.
The walk down to town in the morning was very invigorating, but the hotel courtesy bus back in the early evening was very welcome.
Had a fantastic holiday and would definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fahrner, Manager at Hotel Fahrner, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks a lot for your rating!
We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and welcome.
I will pass the compliments on to the kitchen.
We would love to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Arriving earlier than expected on the Arlberg Express coach (excellent service), we called the hotel and within minutes were being warmly greeted by Andy like long lost friends which immediately gave me a good feeling that I'd chosen the right hotel for me and my 25 yr old son.
The spacious room we had was at the front with beautiful views of the town and surrounding mountains and the room was spotlessly clean. Lovely comfortable beds with glorious down filled duvets always ensured a good night's sleep.
The food was terrific and plenty of it, whether it was the huge choices of teas in the morning or the 5 courses every night, with several more on Christmas eve, to the tea time cakes and cold meats, nobody could fail to go hungry. The food was far better than any meal we had either in the town or on the slopes, with excellent friendly service.
It's always nice to meet and chat to other guests and this hotel certainly gives you the opportunity to do so either in the relaxing bar area or indeed in the dining area where we had a lovely friendly couple from Germany sat next to us over Christmas.
The Fahrner family were so welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, they run the hotel in a meticulous way that nothing is overlooked. The hotel retains a traditional Austrian feel to it with the decor and furnishings yet has all the modern attributes, especially in the bar where Christoph really knows how to mix the most delicious cocktails - the best Mojito I ever had! He is also very knowledgeable about wines and this shows through with the suggested wine tasters every night - a lovely touch.
A great hotel with character, set in a lovely position and providing good old fashioned service with a smile and all the modern day touches. I'd definitely stay again!
Diana Tsung, London

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fahrner, Manager at Hotel Fahrner, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice rating!
It was a real pleasure that you spent your holidays with us!
Please say hello to your son and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again!
Family Fahrner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

When you are making a hotel booking within a global chain, it is easy to have a reasonably accurate perception of what to expect. When it is a small family hotel that is not used by the travel operators, you can be lucky / unlucky in your choice. After a week in the Hotel Fahrner, we were definitely in the "lucky" category.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is run with pride by the family Fahrner. They work hard and do their utmost to ensure that standards are maintained and your stay is comfortable.

The food was superb - 5 courses each evening with another 2 on Xmas Eve! Table service was attentive and friendly - perhaps the wine list a little expensive - shipping costs to the Arlberg??!!

We had 2 rooms - a superior one for our 3 boys and a standard one for ourselves. The superior room had a third full sized bed - not an uncomfortable couch with sheets. Bot rooms were spotless and the bathrooms well appointed.

St Anton is a lively town and the hotel is a good 10 minute walk - to the centre - longer return as it is uphill. But the hotel runs a shuttle service during the morning and late afternoon. Location ensures a good nights sleep, well away from the apres-midnight noise!

If we return to St Anton, definitely shortlist this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fahrner, Manager at Hotel Fahrner, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent rating!
It was a pleasure for us, that you spent your holiday in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you (hopefully soon) again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I arrived at St Anton at a busy time with no accommodation booked and was given the name of Hotel Farhrner by the Tourist Information Bureau.
I was not just surprised but delighted by the overall level of service and hospitality I received, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The 5 course degustation dinner was excellent each and every night of my 6 nights, and the restaurant furnishings including a timber pannelled room "transplanted" from a 16th century barn, were stunningly restored and created a 'real alpine' feel.
Perhaps most importantly the owners Gina & Andreas and their attentive son Christoph look after people like they are family. Christoph drops guests to the ski lifts at half hourly intervals. He even dropped me well after the designated time just as a favour. I was impressed the Fahrners really care for their guests, change videos and movies in common areas when you want and dress beautifully in traditional Austrian clothing.
The hotel is beautifully lit at night with fairy lights and is pretty to return to after a days skiing.
I had a ball and will return.
Andrew Blomfield
Woollahra, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Alkira
Alkira
#34 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Karl Schranz
Hotel Karl Schranz
#31 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Das Mooser Hotel
Das Mooser Hotel
#33 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa Canina
Hotel Rosa Canina
#26 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grischuna
Hotel Grischuna
#8 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
Raffl"s Tyrol Hotel
#25 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fahrner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fahrner

Property: Hotel Fahrner
Address: Gastigweg 37 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#32 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fahrner 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and elegant Hotel above St. Anton am Arlberg with a spectacular view over the town. Enjoy the warm and cosy atmosphere and spend the most beautiful time of the year here with us.We would love to welcome you in our house.Family Fahrner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fahrner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fahrner Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing