We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good quality three star hotel”
Review of Alpenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpenhof Hotel
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good quality three star hotel”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a good quality three star hotel on the edge of St Anton. It is clean, warm and comfortable. Our room was on the top floor of the annexe, which is as far away as possible from the public rooms, but this was never a problem. There is no lift in the annexe, so you need to be reasonably fit to tackle the three flights of stairs. Our room was spacious, with a large en suite bathroom. The ski-room is small, but adequate for the number of residents in the hotel.

The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the centre of the village. However, there is a good local bus service with a bus stop just outside the hotel. So we never had to stagger more than a dozen paces from the bus to the ski-room. Convenient or what? The cost of the bus is included in the skipass. What's more, the hotel's own minibus took residents to the village centre each morning, on demand, and at no extra charge. This meant we had to do the very minimum of walking about with skis and in skiboots - wonderful.

Oh yes - and the bus service that links St Anton with the other parts of the ski area stops at the same bus stop.

Two points though. The food is well cooked and plentiful, but it looked as though it was being kept to a very tight budget. Frankly, it was amazing to see how much food could be served cold, in the middle of winter. More hot food need not cost the earth - having soup every night would have been fine.

Also, there was no shower in the en-suite bathroom. This meant taking a bath every night after skiing - which is no hardship, but a shower would have been quicker and preferable. Few people in Britain nowadays take baths: everyone showers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_from_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Clean and good value for money family run hotel. It's a bit out of town but the ski bus stops right outside so it's no major hassle to get to and from the lifts/ centre.

Food was filling and they made a real effort for our veggie companion. Bier Keller was great for those evenings when you can't really be bothered to go out again!

Would definately consider coming back herel for our annual St Anton pilgrimage.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theWitTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Situated on the main road from St Anton to Zurs and Lech about a 5-10 minute walk from the main hub of town, the hotel alpenhof is a traditional Austrian hotel with a lot of charm. We chose it because of its value compared to the rest of St Anton and were not disappointed and at times were envied by friends staying elsewhere in the town. In the morning there is a free hotel bus to town, which has the advantage of being more direct than the free public bus. The food was good with generous portions. The hotel bar is very reasonably priced and open late. The rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily. The sauna and steam room and jaccuzzi are excellent.

Negatives - Have to pay extra for the internet, situated just a bit further than a comfortable walk from town, this is mostly because the road its on sees a lot of traffic, if the walk to town was more sedate it would be much more tolerable, the problem is as much to do with St. Anton charging for their bus service after 1830 at the unfairly priced 3.50 euros for what is a 3 minute journey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

WHY?:We chose this hotel because the half-board rate was lower with our skitour operator than those located in downtown St Anton.

LOCATION: This hotel is located a little way above/beyond the main village/gondola area. It was very easy to get to/from the the hotel in daytime via the free city bus. After 6:30pm a bus ticket was €3.50 or taxi €12. Walking downhill to the village will take only 10 mins, but uphill with skis/boots when the path is icy would take 20 mins and the saving isn't worth the effort. The bus-stop is conveniently located outside the door. Buses to the adjoining resort of Zurs also stop here and take 30 mins.

According to staff, the hotel is not typically accessible by ski unless you are expert and know the area very well. Having checked maps, it might have been shorter to walk from the Mooserweg apres-ski area instead of attempting to walk from the village.

DECOR: The hotel has a traditional alpine wooden decor which I found attractive and cosy.

CHECKIN: Arrived at 12noon and a room was available.

ROOM: Our compact room was at the back of the hotel on the first floor, without a balcony and overlooked by a neighbouring house. We had two single beds, with just enough space to move around. Beds were comfortable but not luxuriant. Very little views. It was one of the rooms with a shared bathroom which was a short distance down the corridor, but it appeared as if all other guests on our floor had their own bathrooms.

ATMOSPHERE: Relaxed and friendly. Comfortable. The stairs were very comfortable to walk on for tired and sore feet. The hotel was full with many happy guests. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

FOOD: Had breakfast buffet and also dined in most evenings. Breakfast was served from 8am only so it was not possible to be first on the slopes when lifts opened at 8:45. The lack of evening meal choice was no problem, and the menu was provided in the morning so you could decide on your evening plans. Staff also made it clear we could ask if we wished to have them prepare an alternative. Would have liked to spend more time in the basement bar but

INTERNET: Wifi was available in the reception area but intermittent in our room. Didn't use it because it was costly - €6 per day.

AGAIN? Yes, the distance from the lifts was very little disadvantage even when going to the village in the evenings. Better value than the central hotels.

Room Tip: Front-room with a balcony and views across the valley to the Rendl ski area but cost more, I'm s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rye1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

At first the location seemed a little out of town (10 min walk) but this wasn't a major problem due to their free shuttle bus to the lifts each morning. Also the free ski-bus stops outside the door every 10 mins and taxi's cost about 8 euros (up to six people+skis). The staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms basic but cleaned each day and have plenty of storage space. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere; we stayed there every evening after dinner, having had a blast of apres-ski in town each day. There is a nice saune available each afternoon and the smartest-warmest ski room I've ever laid eyes on with heated boot inserts and sliding ski-racks! The breakfasts are more than adequate with tea,coffee,juice,cereal/fruit salad/yoghurt,an array of cheeses, meats and unlimited boiled/scrambled eggs. Although there is no choice of evening meal, each day was different and tasty. Usual format; a soup, salad bar, main of meat/fish with veg and potatoes with dessert to finish. Absolutely no complaints at all, especially at the price. The owner and staff can't do enough for you and sometimes even join in the fun in the downstairs bar with shots of schnaps etc. We are planning another trip here with a bigger group next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry_In_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2007

I stayed with a friend at the Alpenhof for one weeks ski holiday which we had booked through a Company called Direct Ski. Having chosen the hotel because of the half board rate advertised in the package, we were both very disappointed with the quality and choice of food. We had both lived in Germany before and had spent a number of holidays skiing in Austria, so we knew generally what to expect from Austrian cuisine...

Breakfast was the standard choice of meats, cheese and scrambled eggs that you find in most Austrian hotels, however dinner was something else. It consisted of the standard Austrian Salad bar, a starter and main with a sweat, but no choice what so ever except what salad to pile on you plate to compensate for the terrible food. For example, one evenings meal comprised sliced artichokes covered in vinegar for the starter, for the main a thin slice of pork covered
by an unidentifiable green sauce with a tiny scoop of potato, then to finish off, a couple of rings of tined pineapple sprinkled with brown sugar, glazed and served with a tiny portion of sorbet. This example was typical of the evening meals and we decided after the third night to spend the rest of the week eating out.

On the good side, the room were clean and the maid did a good job of negotiating the piles of smelly ski kit left around the room. The hotel shuttle service to the ski lifts was ok, but if the driver ever smiled I missed it. There was also an extremely efficient and regular resort ski bus service to and from the bus stop outside the hotel.

This hotel is in desperate need of modernisation, its decor is stuck in the 1930's, but if ugly wood panelling and water stained pictures
is your thing you will be in heaven. The rooms were ok for size but only had a shower, so if you wanted a bath you needed to walk down the corridor. Also, there was no TV in the rooms, the hotel apparently thinks that a good substitute is a 1970's radio cassette player.

The best memory of the place was the receptionist, Bettina, although she had failed the Austrian 'welcome host' humour test, she was a certainly a site for sore eyes.

  • Liked — A lift up to the room - vital after a days skiing
  • Disliked — No TV in room, The food
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank colin_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Banyan
Hotel Banyan
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kertess
Hotel Kertess
#24 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
#6 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenland
Hotel Alpenland
#23 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grischuna
Hotel Grischuna
#13 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel

Property: Alpenhof Hotel
Address: | Triendl. Fam, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria (Formerly Chalet Alpenhof)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Alpenhof Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Alpenhof Hotel Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing