We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Alternative" style chalet but very good”
Review of Chalet Inge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Anton am Arlberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Inge
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Alternative" style chalet but very good”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

As other reports indicate this is a modern chalet, so if you are are looking for something typically Austrian , then it is not for you. We had reservations after reading comments from others but it would appear many are not familiar with the normal chalet experience. We are seasoned skiers who usually use chalets and they team at Inge deliver what would normally be expected. Yes the rating is confusing if you associate stars with opulence but it does have features over and above the normal offering hence the reason why it is shown as a higher rating, however not enough to deserve 5 stars. Despite other postings we found the food to be excellent and plentiful. The main grip is the lounge area which lacks atmoshere and was quite cold until we finally got the smokey fire going

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Phez32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    13
    17
    4
See reviews for
16
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Modern chalet, with rooms to a very high standard, unusual glass bathrooms (with handtowels size bath towels) but overall excellent accommodation.

The reception area (seating prior to food) is fine though soulless and the fire needs sorting out...smoke every night. It wouldn’t take much to put in wifi on one floor (kind of expected given the star rating!) though to be fair the website did just say internet only. The “Wellness Centre” - Sauna and Steam rooms are most welcome after a days skiing a real plus.

The location is excellent both from the bus and walking down into town (10 mins).

Our two children were served early and the chefs made great efforts to cater for their tastes… over all very successfully. The only thing that lets this chalet down is the adult’s food…which for my tastes at least was often inedible....rather a serious failing in my book! This said the two cheerful chefs put lots of effort in but unfortunately lacked on execution and delivery.

Ski Total should not be advertising this with such a high star rating unless they make the required changes...the comments on trip adviser seem very consistent over the years - what a shame.

Room Tip: The high up the quieter, otherwise they are all the same rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HFamily61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels

lincs england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A bit nervous of previous reviews but we had no problems with this chalet. Great location bus stop outside quiet at night. Chalet clean rooms good size. Staff very good and helpful chef was also good food was good and varied throughout the week options for veggies cakes were all delicious and the wine you had a couple of choices of white and red and both were nice.

Steam and sauna were a nice end to the day boot room big and warmers worked well.

The only thing I would say is that the star rating on this chalet is too high having stopped in 4 star + chalets before would not say this was up to the 5 star standard. I would give it a 4 star

Room Tip: think all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitewitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

14 of us stayed at the Inge last week and every one of us thoroughly enjoyed themselves in this well run chalet.
The food from the very enthusiastic chef was excellent and the rest of the staff looked after us superbly.

We were worried by previous reviews but we can confirm that they are indeed injust (if you want another towel, ask for one!)

Thanks to all the staff for making our week so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Check in and out very easy
Clean rooms which are serviced on a daily basis, one improvement on the room is the size of the towel, which was a little small
Food was excellant, do not agree with the previous comments, and although not to my choice everyday, they were always well cooked and of a decent size
Wine with dinner was provided on a daily basis, and didn't seem to stop flowing
Bar prices are reasonable compared to the rest of the resort, which is rather expensive.
Nothing was to much trouble for the staff, all very helpful
Senior Representative (and others infact) very knowlegeable and helpful
chalet 10 minute walk from the lifts and town centre, but a bus stop (free) outside the apartment
Taxi in the evening expensive (but split between a few makes them inexpensive per individual)
A good chalet for a big group of friends
Overall, i would go back and stay again, great holiday

David, Munich, Jan 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had hoped the reviews on here would not prove correct but sadly we agree with the comments made particularly in relation to the standard of food which is the worst we have ever experienced in over ten years of chalets (including many cheaper priced places). It's hard to tell whether this is a result of lack of training or lack of experience but a chalet this size needs a professional chef. Most of the food is very overcooked other than the cakes which were still raw in the middle. Breakfast was disappointing with no fresh bread or croissants but heated up frozen baguettes and long life milk. We ate out most nights and mornings .All 5 of us in our group were sick during the week plus two others from different groups.

The chalet itself was comfortable although it feels a bit more like a small hotel which was fine for us. The lift makes a terrible racket when guests/chalet staff return home late.We found there to be a general lack of information from the chalet staff who were often not there. They did do a great job of getting us to the resort which was cut off by snow.

We felt the chalet should be advertised at a lower star rating and price. We would recommend a new chef is found to meet the expectation of the guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kibbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Chalet Inge over the New year and we agree wholeheartedly with the previous reviews . Our biggest complaint was that the resort manager steadfastly refused to allow our 12yr old daughter to join us for the evening meal and she was served a sub standard kids meal at 5.30pm, this despite the fact that there was no discount for children so we were paying an adult rate for her.Our own food was poor at best perhaps not surprising considering that we were told that Ski Total apparently employ cooks that only have a few weeks cookery training before joining the chalet. The chalet itself was adequate but sterile in atmosphere and somewhat surprisingly the bar never stayed open beyond 10.30pm even on New Years Eve. We found the SkiTotal experience an indifferent one but we must commend the three chalet girls that did the real work of running the place and who did a fantastic job looking after us during one of the biggest snowfalls that St Anton has seen in years

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjc_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, UK Head Office at Chalet Inge, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Ski Total has an adult-only dining policy which is spelled out clearly on-line and in our brochure, where all guests aged 13 and above dine together from 7:30pm with under 13's eating earlier.This is appreciated by the majority of our guests. The 12 year old paid the same price as the adults as this was a late deal price, not the original holiday price when a 12 year old would have been entitled to up to 15% off the adult price.
We aim to provide child meals that are nutritious and well balanced and we regret that the food did not meet this guest's expectations during their stay. Whilst we do employ a proportion of staff every season that are new to Ski Total, all our staff undergo thorough pre-season training and a property of the Inge's size is led by an experienced chef.
Chalet Inge is a very unique contemporary chalet which may not suit those who are more accustomed to a more traditionally styled chalet, yet it offers the benefit of modern, spacious rooms complete with its own wellness area.
Finally we very much appreciate the commendation of our staff's customer care during a particularly demanding week of extreme weather in Austria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Anton am Arlberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Himmlhof
Himmlhof
#1 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haus Zangerl
Haus Zangerl
#20 of 116 in St. Anton am Arlberg
25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#18 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
Hotel Garni Ernst Falch
#6 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skihotel Galzig
Skihotel Galzig
#12 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel am Dorfplatz
Hotel am Dorfplatz
#22 of 57 in St. Anton am Arlberg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Inge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Inge

Property: Chalet Inge
Address: Alte Arlbergstrasse 74, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Specialty Lodging in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Inge is chic and contemporary with character and modern style. From the catered chalet's elevated position above the main village you have fantastic views across the Rendl area. Following refurbishment - with particular attention given to the modern open-plan dining room, bar and lounge area with open fireplace - the Chalet has warm, comfortable communal spaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet Inge Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Chalet Inge Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing