We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waldhof restaurant- best meal in Tyrol”
Review of Hotel Waldhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waldhof
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Oetz
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were on our way back from Shteinbal waterfall and stopped to have a late lunch. My husband took one of speciality: beef in mushrooms sauce and I had a fish. Children had schnitzel. It was very tasty meal and very relaxed (children were playing on playground nearby). Service is very good and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Irina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

A group of 10 of us arrived at the Hotel Waldhof after spending a week further up the mountain, hoping for a lovely relaxing last night, what we got was a very memorable experience, but not in a good way.

On arrival at the hotel (with confirmation in hand) at about 6:30pm, still in ski gear, hungry and in desperate need of a shower we were informed they had found out this morning there was a "problem" and they had double booked us, and therefore couldn't accommodate our group. This was shocking for a number of reasons:

a/ They hadn't bothered to call or email us before our arrival to inform us that this had happened, despite having contact details

b/ They had made no efforts to find alternative accommodation in the intervening 12 hours

c/ They were just rude

We managed to sort out one apartment at the hotel, in which 4 of us could stay, so we began the process of trying to find the remaining 6 of us bedrooms in the area. NOT EASY at 7 o'clock on a Saturday night. Eventually another hotel was found (that's another story all together). As this one was more expensive, they agreed to have the 10 of us for dinner in the hotel. The food was below average and tasted a little like it was frozen and reheated.

Just to round off the evening, following dinner, the group staying in the other hotel decided to go back to back for a night cap. One of the party in the Wardof wanted to come back for one drink with us, so we went up to reception and asked for an additional key and also confirmed that this would allow them back in if the doors were locked. It didnt, she ended up having to enter the hotel through the hotel "nightclub", which was fortunately still open. Again there was no apology for the fact that someone was stranded outside their hotel in below freezing conditions. Apparently they found it rather amusing.

It most definitely is not 4*. 3*would be generous.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We came back…and we were not disappointed. The Baumann family did

> a great job. The rooms were clean as ever, the service and the meals in the

> restaurant were excellent. This time we were a group of 13 people and no one

> found any item to complain.

> We had a so called "Junior Suite" which was excellent

> We would like to thank the Baumann Familiy for making our vacation such an

> outstanding experience again.

> By the way: Howdy, our famous mountain guide (arrangement was done by the

> Baumanns) was also one of the experiences that made this vacation

> outstanding

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

This is definitely not a 4-Star Hotel in the middle of Europe.
The Hotel is runned so unprofessionally. Reklamations will be laughted at.

We wanted to spend 9 days from our winter holiday in this hotel and have booked it for more than 170 EUR per day and with demi-pension.
The double room was so dirty(pls see pictures). The dinner was far below a snack bar standard.

No privacy as one has to share a balkony with at least 3 other rooms, who can just look directly inside ones bed.

The hotel is runned by a couple. The wife is sitting at the reception and the husband is playing the waiter and the cook. We have not seen any other hotel staff.

The double room we had was big, but ice cold. We had very outworn blankets and we had to use our jackets to keep warm as no one would bring us more blankets.

The water was cold so that we could not take any shower. The room roof had deep holes in it and the corners of the room were cobwebby. I would like to remind you here that we were in December there and that spiders can not survive in such a cold weather, so that we can only assume that the room has been badly cleaned months before we arrived.

As we made a reclamation about the dirt in our room and asked for help, the hotel owners Family Baumann did not care and was not offering us any help. The wife said to us to go and complain by our travel agent where we have booked the holiday.

Even If we had already payed the nine days stay, we left the hotel immediately as we did not get any help offer from the hotel owners.

We want to share with you this bad experience in order to spare you from having to go through the same.

This hotel will be a horror trip for every one who is used to good service, good foods and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JohannesHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank famfurrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sie haben Zirben Zimmer und Zirben Appartement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewwangeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Frédérique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oetz
0.9 mi away
Alpenhotel Oetz
Alpenhotel Oetz
#10 of 15 in Oetz
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posthotel Kassl
Posthotel Kassl
#2 of 15 in Oetz
113 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ritzlerhof Selfness & Genuss Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Habicherhof
Habicherhof
#12 of 15 in Oetz
32 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seerose
Hotel Seerose
#5 of 15 in Oetz
17 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Jagerhof
Hotel Jagerhof
#13 of 15 in Oetz
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhof

Address: Habichen 5, Oetz 6433, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Oetz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Oetz
#5 Spa Hotel in Oetz
Price Range: $164 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldhof 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Tyrolean mountains, this 4-star Aktivhotel Waldhof, which caters for all the matching holiday - whether active or relax and enjoy. In Aktivhotel Waldhof start the morning with a rich breakfast buffet of exquisite quality products, typical tyrolien, juice bar, organic corner and kids corner. With a 4-course gourmet dinner of your choice - from international specialties, Tyrolean specialties to vegetarian dishes. But the eating habits of the younger guests will find attention. The culinary offer is completed by gala dinner, fondue and barbecues. This is served all in the stylish restaurant or in the scented pine "Tiroler Stube", a light-flooded conservatory with panoramic views and a terrace for sunny days invite you to linger. The rooms and suites offer every comfort so you have to give in on anything on holiday. Facilities include shower or bath, partly separate WC, sitting area, satellite TV, telephone, radio, internet, safe, hair dryer, baby monitor and a balcony. The bright and spacious hotel suites at Hotel Waldhof offer with 2 separate bedrooms and a living room with sitting area cozy comfort and a lot of space for the whole family. After an active day you can relax in the indoor pool, relaxing whirl grotto with massage jets and a waterfall. A separate children's pool with slide is for our little guests. Or you sweat in the sauna world with Tyrolean chalet sauna, organic sauna, Kelo sauna, infrared cabin and herbal steam bath healthy. In the spa and massage center "Waldquelle" you will be pampered with select cosmetic treatments for the body and the soul. Enjoy holistic massages at the highest level that will make your stay at Waldhof memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhof Hotel Oetz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing